Customer Reviews for

Lidia's Italian-American Kitchen

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Better food than Most Italian Restaurants

    This is a great basic cookbook. I have about 15 Italian cookbooks and when I am going to make a dish, I look at two or three recipes and take what I like from each. Inevitably, Lidia's cookbook usually provides the best insight to the dish. There are ingrediants I can usually find at the Italian grocery store. Thanks Lidia!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    The Best Cookbook!!!

    I began watching Lidia's cooking show on PBS and just had to have her book. It is my absolute favorite! Some of our favorite recipes are the sausage with peppers and mushrooms, chicken scallopini in lemon caper sauce, and the linguini with bacon and onions (this one is inexpensive, too). I recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Family gathering

    Lidia teaches you to have a touch of Italy in your home to share with your family and friends, enjoyable and tasteful meals to bring to the table. Highly satisfied you will enjoy every meal you make. Also add your own touch to a recipe to make your it own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    real real italian cooking that goes on in italian american homes

    This is the book for anyone who wnts to make REAL italian food, its about the ingredients, and the quality, which is what italian cooks know. Try one recipe and you will be hooked

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    My favorite cookbook

    This is absolutely by far my most favorite cookbook. Directions are easy to follow and the recipes are DELICIOUS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    The Italian American's Bible!

    This cookbook is wonderful! My mama bought it when my great Nana died (many of the family receipes were store in her memory and too difficult to replicate), it was amazing to open up and recognize the receipes as much loved as I knew them growing up. It is an invaluable addition to my cookbook collection. You HAVE to HAVE this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Wish I Hadn't Waited So Long to Buy This Book!!!

    I waited because my 4 experiences at her restaurant have been less than stellar. But this book is a varied collection of flawless recipes that leave you with dishes tasting the way you imgaine Italian food should taste. It feels like you're sitting in her kitchen and she's handing over the family recipe cards. For Christmas, maybe she should give it to the cooks in her kitchen. Just a thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    Great basic Italian cookbook

    I love to cook, and discovered Lidia through her PBS show. Have yet to make one of her recipes that wasn't easy to follow; they all turn out delicious! They're even better if you can find top quality ingredients, such as the San Marzano tomatoes, and use extra virgin olive oil. I would recommend this particular one of her books for anyone who wants access to some basic Italian recipes. Having just spent a week at a cooking school in Tuscany, I can honestly say that her recipes and tips are on a par with what I learned there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    The Best Italian Food West of Italy

    Lidia's recipes are out of this world. Every week we watch her show and then quickly go to Her book and plan for next weeks meals. It is not just a book, but it is a family companion - Not just ours, but a part of Lidia's. Thank you Lidia !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Every recipe is delicious!

    Received this book as a gift, and was delighted to realize that every recipe results in a delicious, authentic Italian meal. Have not been disappointed in a dish yet-- instead, we have tried many new recipes and have developed a few new favorites. The recipes are easy-to-follow, not too time-intensive or complicated, and generally require basic ingredients. The only downside is that these recipes are not for someone watching their calorie intake!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    A MUST!!!

    I rec'd this book as a gift and have in turn purchased or told everyone I know about it!!! Not only are the recipes easy,and easy to follow, but they come out perfect everytime!!! You will also find, that once you buy the essentials, it is very easy to make other recipes in the book.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    BY FAR THE BEST ITALIAN COOK!

    I first discovered Lydia on PBS and became a big fan of hers. I watch her show religiously every Sunday. Her book is also outstanding. Her book is simple recipes yet absolutely deliciouse! Finally a REAL Italian cook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    If You Just Want One Great Italian Cookbook, This Is It.

    I'm a cook, Italian, a cookbook collector, and I lived in Italy for six months. Needless to say, I can be critical when it comes to Italian cuisine. Lidia's cookbook is like a trip to an Italian trattoria. Her newest cookbook and its recipes are authentic, simple to follow, and well-organized. When a recipe calls for a sauce, tomato-based or otherwise, it's included with the primary recipe. If you needed one good Italian cookbook in your collection, I'd highly recommend purchasing this one. I recently added 'Naples At Table' to my collection, and I'm a fan of Marcella Hazan's 'Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking'. Lidia's book is a great complement to these two, and stands alone among good, usable Italian cookbooks. It was the PBS series which introduced me to Lidia and I've made the cannelloni and sole dishes with great success. It's a classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kitchen = Family

    For anyone who's grown up in an Italian American neighborhood, this book really hits home, most especially since the kitchen is the foundation of the family. It brought back a lot of memories of the big family dinners we used to have every Sunday; you could walk up and down the street and smell the different foods being prepared in each house and where the whole family, from grandparents to best friends, was together and the meal lasted for most of the afternoon. Lydia's book is filled with recipes that embody those meals; the stuffed mushrooms, rice balls, fish and especially the different sauces, traditional foods that have been cooked for generations, yet there are also recipes that can be adapted to your family's tastes. It also has some photos of Lydia preparing the food which is a big help. This is a wonderful book and I highly recommend preparing one of her recipes when life gets in the way and you just need to kick back with family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Italian-American Recipes for All

    This is the second Lidia cookbook I have purchased. Her recipes for pasta making are excellent. She encourages either hand-making or using a machine. Both methods are thoroughly explained. She uses simple everyday ingredients for the most part. This particular cookbook is a good basic Italian book. I do recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1