Customer Reviews for

Lie Down with Lions

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lie Down With Lions

Branching out to the hills of Pakistan, this fiction novel produced by Ken Follett is a riveting tale of betrayal, renewed love, and heartbreaks. Providing medical aid to a small village in Pakistan, two Peace Core operatives, husband and wife, were living peacefully. *...
Branching out to the hills of Pakistan, this fiction novel produced by Ken Follett is a riveting tale of betrayal, renewed love, and heartbreaks. Providing medical aid to a small village in Pakistan, two Peace Core operatives, husband and wife, were living peacefully. *Little did the wife know that her husband was an undercover KGB agent finding information about the local armies/militias (who are fighting with the KGB). Just after the wife became pregnant a man, whom she had once been madly in love with, came as a reconnaissance agent for America (America was siding with Pakistan). In the coming weeks, old flames would be rekindled, lives are put on the line, and bonds of love are stretched to the brink.
This is a truly inspirational tale; Ken Follett at his best. He has really done his research on the local cultures of Pakistan and the overall layout of the country. The literature of this book is classic Follett, with intense action scenes to heartfelt moments that reach deep into your mind. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read.

posted by 825722 on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really liked it.

I have not read a book by Ken Follett that I didn't like. Some better than others, but they have all been a good read.

posted by 5379350 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Lie Down With Lions

    Branching out to the hills of Pakistan, this fiction novel produced by Ken Follett is a riveting tale of betrayal, renewed love, and heartbreaks. Providing medical aid to a small village in Pakistan, two Peace Core operatives, husband and wife, were living peacefully. *Little did the wife know that her husband was an undercover KGB agent finding information about the local armies/militias (who are fighting with the KGB). Just after the wife became pregnant a man, whom she had once been madly in love with, came as a reconnaissance agent for America (America was siding with Pakistan). In the coming weeks, old flames would be rekindled, lives are put on the line, and bonds of love are stretched to the brink.<BR/> This is a truly inspirational tale; Ken Follett at his best. He has really done his research on the local cultures of Pakistan and the overall layout of the country. The literature of this book is classic Follett, with intense action scenes to heartfelt moments that reach deep into your mind. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    Everything that I wanted to say about this book was said in pages 3 & 4. I will add one more comment, this is one of the best written books I have read in a long time. Towards the latter part of the book, I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat, turning every page with a mixture of fear, dread, and a lot of anticipation that Ellis, Jane, and baby Chantel would finally reach their destination alive. To the author, my thanks is giving your book praise, a recommended read, and a five star rating.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Really liked it.

    I have not read a book by Ken Follett that I didn't like. Some better than others, but they have all been a good read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Great Reading

    This was a very good story. Hard to believe what life is like over there in the 2013s. It is like another world and Ken Follette seems
    to know how to explain it and still write a great story. I would
    highly recommend it. Iwould also recommend it for discussions at Book
    Clubs.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    A great read

    This book is another in the long list of superlative stories by a master story teller. Follett has the unique ability of making a somewhat ordinary tale into a gripping novel--one that makes it tough to put the book down. The ability of his main characters to get out of extremely perilous situations strains the imagination at times, but he pulls it off beautifully. I'm already looking forward to another Follett novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    Terrible Audio Book

    I read this book many years ago and enjoyed it very much. So I ordered it as an audiobook.

    It is the worst audiobook I have ever listened to, and I listen to 15 to 20 or more a year. The reader reads at breakneck speed with little inflection to his voice. I gave up listening midway through the second CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Midnight

    Caight a zebra

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Fhfsghdf

    Hi

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    J

    Ghhhhhhhhhh

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    one of the best!

    You wont be disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Too much "romance" & not enough intrigue!

    I have enjoyed many of Ken Follett's novels in the past as he was always able to balance action, romance, and intrigue so well. Sadly, here it reads more like a romance novel set in a potentially intriguingly location. The female lead was incredibly hard to like and the ending was absolutely impossible not to see coming. I would still recommend Follett highly just not this piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FOLLETT IS ONE OF THE GREATS

    THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME WITH ACTION SOME SUSPENSE AND A CRAZY SEX SCENE ( LIKE WOW I HAD TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN AND FIND MY HUSBAND! ) THIS IS A GREAT BOOK IF U HAVENT READ IT THEN WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR !! GO GO GO BUY IT NOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    Great

    Great Book of thrill and some passion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    great thriller

    When an undercover agent falls in love he can expect complications. When the woman he loves marries the man he is pursuing he can expect disaster. The setting is Afghanistan. There, Jean-Pierre, the husband, a doctor, with Jane his new wife appear to be caring for the rebel tribesmen fighting the Russians. Unfortunately Jean-Pierre is not what he seems but an agent for the KGB. The American agent, Ellis, is Jane's former lover. He is tying to unite the tribesman to fight the invaders instead of each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3