Customer Reviews for

Lie Down in Green Pastures (Psalm 23 Mysteries Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great read for teens and onwards - Recommended

This is the most thrilling book of the Psalm 23 series to-date. The characters are fleshed out even more, and their core character is revealed when subjected to the stress of the situation before them. There were many typos and formatting oversights, but this did not ...
This is the most thrilling book of the Psalm 23 series to-date. The characters are fleshed out even more, and their core character is revealed when subjected to the stress of the situation before them. There were many typos and formatting oversights, but this did not distract from how solid the plot was, and how several loose ends were tied together. It delivers the same kind of satisfaction that a CSI episode several months in between, would revisit some loose ends and provide a closure to some issues. This particular book touches a bit on teens - that really, at the end of the day, beneath the superficiality that they present in public, they do have convictions and principles, and they can be relied upon. They just need appropriate guidance and model leadership. Overall, a commendable series for light reading and honest writing. Good job Debbie!

posted by BrownskinsCD on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Church Mystery

Rabbi Jeremiah is still recovering from his car accident when Cindy from the Christian Church next door informs him that the man who hit his car was murdered. Why do Jeremiah and Cindy seem to keep finding themselves in these situations? Jeremiah is determined this time...
Rabbi Jeremiah is still recovering from his car accident when Cindy from the Christian Church next door informs him that the man who hit his car was murdered. Why do Jeremiah and Cindy seem to keep finding themselves in these situations? Jeremiah is determined this time to stay uninvolved...to mind his own business. Cindy on the other hand is certain she can help the police solve this crime. And when another dead body is found, she decides to help find the murderer whether they police want her help or not.

Jeremiah decides a few days in the wilderness with the church campers may clear his head. However, when the river begins to rise...camp appears to be more exciting than Jeremiah imagined.

I was given a copy of the third book in the Psalm 23 Mysteries to review. Since I was picking up in the middle of a series, there were multiple references made to previous happenings that I did not understand. Although the story itself was exciting and made me keep wanting to turn pages, I would suggest reading the books in order.

Thanks to Abingdon Press for my Advanced Reader's Copy.

posted by Chickfilady on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    Great series

    It's a good series for mystery lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    This third book in Debbie Viguie's TWENTY THIRD PSALM MYSTERIES,

    This third book in Debbie Viguie's TWENTY THIRD PSALM MYSTERIES, has added an element of real excitement to these continuing mysteries.  Cindy, a church secretary, and Jeremiah, the rabbi of the neighboring synagogue , have already found themselves working together to solve a couple murders.  Cindy has decided that a couple of recent "accidents" feel too much like murders.  She's determined to get the police involved and stay out of things this time, but of course she's soon drawn into everything.




    Green Acres is a local campground on a large acreage that a couple of developers want to become involved in renewing.  The plan in that they will buy the property, leave a large part for the community's use, and provide the funds for the much needed repairs to the camping sites.  Everyone is not completely sold on the idea. But a couple of recent death causes Cindy to become suspicious that the developers really have completely different plans for the property.  Everything comes to a shocking head after the youths from the church and the synagogue become stranded in a dangerous situation while at camp.  All but 14 children, and Jeremiah, have gotten out safely, but someone is trying to kill these remaining campers so that the town will want to sell this "dangerous" property.




    Jeremiah, and his "Rabbi Rangers" go through extremely dangerous situations, working miraculously well together to survive, almost TOO organized for a group of kids.  But the Biblical themes in this book make everything seem totally plausible, considering Jeremiah's mysterious past in the Israeli army.  Cindy and Jeremiah's relationship takes a new turn too!!  




    Debbie's writing is gaining strength with each book.  Looking forward to reading the next two in this series!!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    Good installment of the series. Some twists I did not expect, e

    Good installment of the series. Some twists I did not expect, especially at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    A great addition to a fun series

    Good mystery. Read the first 2 books in the series first. Made me hungry for more Psalm 23 Mysteries. Nice to see the characters mature. Book 3 has nice action and mystery. So refreshing to have a fun read with wholesome characters I can identify with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend!

    I loved this series of books. A nice christian based author, but doesn't let that become the primary focus of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I love this series. When is the next book being released. Plea

    I love this series. When is the next book being released. Please keep this series alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Great book!

    As soon as I read Book 1, I had to find more of this great series! Good mystery, good characters, clean writing with a good, moral story. Looking forward to many more in this series.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Recommend

    I have read several of Viguie's books now and all have been an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fast paced and exciting cozy mystery. I like this one a lot, p

    A fast paced and exciting cozy mystery. I like this one a lot, probably the best of the three in the series. I really liked that it added much more depth to Jeremiah, and that Cindy was able to come to grips with being able to stand up for herself more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Recommended

    This is a well written mystery that keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Enjoy this writer

    I have read several of these titles and have enjoyed them all. Very easy to follow and fun to read. Her characters are realistic and easy to associate with. The plot lines are believeable and resolve to satisfactory conclusions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    An intriguing read and not at all what you expect.

    "Christian" books can get very tiresome, since they usually espouse some version of the "prosperity gospel." This one doesn't at all. In fact, the only thing religious about this is the fact that the two main characters work at churches, one as a church secretary and the other as a rabbi at the synagogue next door. The book is really just a good light mystery but with some more substantial underpinnings than most light mysteries. The rabbi has a past that he wants to escape but that gives him skills to help in the difficulties he encounters as part of the story. Though the reader never learns exactly what this past is, there are strong hints throughout the latter part of the book about its nature. It is almost as if the book started out to be a conventional Christian novel but was hijacked by its characters, especially the rabbi, eventually becoming far more than the beginning would indicate. I am glad I read it and would like to find more books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    I normally go for the supernatural/fantasy genre; but these books kept me riveted with the twists and turns who-dun-it. It was entertaining and fun to read and I look forward to all the upcoming sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2