Customer Reviews for

The Lies That Bind (Bibliophile Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A BIBLIOPHILE MYSTERY

    Brooklyn Wainwright is the master when it comes to restoring rare and antique books. In this third installment of the series, she is teaching a class on bookbinding at the San Francisco Bay Area Center for Book Arts, BABA. The director of the center is a real witch and has recently hired another teacher, a former classmate that Brooklyn absolutely hates, but Brooklyn loves what she does and loves to share it by teaching others, so she decides she can endure their presence for a few weeks.

    Unfortunately the center is not the safest place to be, first the former classmate is assaulted in the hallway and then the director is found dead. Brooklyn starts to believe she is a dead body magnet as bodies seem to keep turning up wherever she is. The only good thing is that Derek Stone keeps turning up too and if things would just stop going wrong their passionate kisses could actually turn into a relationship. But first she must find out how Derek's relationship with the director is bound into the rest of the story, a story that leads to a murderer.

    I LIKED IT!!!!
    This was a brand new series for me and not only did I enjoy the mystery parts but I also learned a lot about bookbinding and restoring old and rare books.

    It is not only the mystery that keeps the pages turning but you find yourself rooting for Derek and Brooklyn to finally get together. Time after time just when things look promising, a phone rings, someone knocks on the door, or another lead needs to be followed. Maybe that is why I didn't love this book, I was getting frustrated for them, but the good thing is that the next book, Murder Under Cover, will be out in May 2011, and while I know there will be a body or two, I am hoping that just maybe Brooklyn and Derek can actually go on an entire date, and maybe more, without any interruption.

    The other characters in this series, especially Brooklyn's mom and dad, a couple of real life hippies, may make you laugh out loud. I really don't want to give too much away but if you are not familiar with this series start with Homicide in Hardcover, then If Books Could Kill and The Lies That Bind, each book builds on the last and each book is better than the one before.

    To find out more about Kate Carlisle, the other books in the series, and more about Brooklyn's world be sure to check out Kate's Website.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free Obsidian, .a division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Brooklyn has had some strange things happen to her lately.....ac

    Brooklyn has had some strange things happen to her lately.....accused of murdering on of her best friends and mentor...accused of
    murder again....finds dead bodies....gets shot at...gets kissed by strange handsome men....and has been able to work on the finest
    books ever created. You would think Brooklyn wants a vacation.

    Wrong. She returns home to set up her bookbinding class and everything seems to fall right back into place.

    When I mean everything falls back in to place, I mean that Brooklyn has yet again found a dead body. She is involved with the
     investigations, she has that hunk of a security guy Stone falling her around with maybe a few sparks flying around them.

    This time, the body is someone who EVERYONE hated and loathed. No love loss there, but still, a human being died and
    Brooklyn will do whatever she can to make sure the killer is brought to justice. Even if that means saving some that SHE hates
    and loathes.

    Keep a watchful eye on Brooklyn Wainwright...you never know what you are going to get!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    good addition to the series

    Brooklyn Wainwright has returned to her job at the Bay Area Book Arts to teach a class on bookbinding but during a class recess she discovers her boss dead. BABA is hosting a fundraiser at the time and Brooklyn must keep things going while she helps(?) Inspector Derek Stone uncover the motive and murderer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In this third book in the Bibliophile Mysteries by Kate Carlisle

    In this third book in the Bibliophile Mysteries by Kate Carlisle, Brooklyn Wainwright has returned from the Book Fair in Edinburgh, Scotland. She is getting ready to do a series of book binding classes at the Bay Area Book Arts Center, or BABA, and has just completed a restoration of a nineteenth century illustrated edition of Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens that is going to be used in a 2 week long celebration of the 175th anniversary of the publishing of Oliver Twist. There is some tension between the head of BABA, Layla Fontaine and Brooklyn due to Layla advertising the restored Oliver Twist as a first edition. Basically Layla threatens Brooklyn into keeping her mouth shut, but we know Brooklyn will find a way around that.

    When Layla is murdered at BABA one night during one of Brooklyn's classes, Brooklyn is the first on scene and finds yet another dead body. She manages to hold it together and keep the scene secured for the police. And boy is she upset that she knows enough to do that. Luckily Brooklyn's alibi is nice and solid since she was in the middle of teaching a class room of book enthusiasts how to make journals when the gun shot went off. 

    In this book, we see an appearance of all our old favorites, such as Brooklyn's best friend Robin, Brooklyn's parents, her neighbor's Vinnie and Suzie, her arch nemisis Minka, her parent's mystic adviser Avatar Robson Benedict, best known as Guru Bob and the hunky Commander Derek Stone. We also have some new neighbors, a gay couple who look like they will be adding much to future books. Additionally we get some great background on the mysterious and shadowy Gabriel.

    I will admit that after I finished this book, I went ahead and read the teaser chapter at the end for the next book. And I ended up reading it right away. This series has really tightened up and just keeps getting better and better. I really like Brooklyn. I know many don't like books told from a first person POV, but as long as the dialogue is good and the pace keeps moving, I have no problem with this POV. Some of my favorite authors have used it successfully and it works for me.

    This is a great book in the series and at the ending, the scene between Derek and Brooklyn was sweet, funny and brought a tear to my eye. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great fun, and educational too!

    Brooklyn Wainwright really knows her stuff. Restoring rare books is her specialty, so when she's hired by San Francisco's prestigious Bay Area Book Arts to teach a class on bookbinding, she leaps at the chance. Perhaps a little too quickly.

    Brooklyn is recovering from a recent brush with death and a recent almost love affair with international security expert Derek Stone. So one can't blame Brooklyn if her nerves are a little frayed. And when she realizes she's signed on to work for the boss from hell-BABA director Layla Fontaine-who will use every weapon in her well-endowed, female arsenal to get what she wants, well, Brooklyn is one unhappy girl.

    She's even more unhappy when she finds Layla dead. Happily, by that time her would-be lover Derek is on the job, having been hired for protection by a guest faculty member. There are too many suspects and motives keep cropping up all over the place. The wonder is that Layla lived as long as she did. Then, another death happens. And one of Brooklyn's good friends, the mysterious Gabriel, is attacked. Brooklyn fears she has become some sort of magnet for death.

    Who knew the book industry could be so dangerous?

    In "The Lies That Bind", the third in the Bibliophile Mystery Series, Kate Carlisle weaves an intriguing tale with a fascinating peek into the behind-the-scenes world of rare books.

    Great fun, and educational too!

    Reviewed by Susan Santangelo, Author of "Retirement Can Be Murder" for Suspense Magazine

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1