BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is a Bible Study to Helping Yourself

I have to say that this book was life altering for me. Why, because I did it the way it was truly intended. I read it from front cover to back cover, used the companion guide, took my time, & did it in a study. THIS IS A BIBLE STUDY NOT A SELF HELP! Sure, there are topi...
I have to say that this book was life altering for me. Why, because I did it the way it was truly intended. I read it from front cover to back cover, used the companion guide, took my time, & did it in a study. THIS IS A BIBLE STUDY NOT A SELF HELP! Sure, there are topics that some people aren't ready to accept & others that are hard to swallow. However, if you read the first page first, as it was meant to be done, you will clearly see it builds on each chapter. The book helps you identify the secular beliefs & ideas that maybe you bought into, there are at least 40 covered in the book, you can add your own because it also teaches you how to identify them. It doesn't just identify them for you. You have to put you into it. You also have to drag out your Bible to get the full measure. I not only HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT, I am doing the study again & sent it to everyone for Christmas this year. The first time I did the study it was a lot to digest. I am eager to do it again and start getting into more of the weeds on the topics.

If you are not ready to be the woman that God designed you for, you are not ready for this book.

posted by xpaxk on December 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Sad

Thank you to the reviewers who said this book was awful. I only read the chapter on divorce since I am a recently divorced Christian woman. I endured for 17 years with emotional and verbal abuse and prayed daily that my borderline personality disorder husband would cha...
Thank you to the reviewers who said this book was awful. I only read the chapter on divorce since I am a recently divorced Christian woman. I endured for 17 years with emotional and verbal abuse and prayed daily that my borderline personality disorder husband would change. I was so close to ending my own life to get out of the marriage but knew that my 3 daughters needed me. I feel blessed that I never read this book until now--I might have believed the lies printed here and tried to pray a change into my former so called Christian husband and stayed married. Divorce is never the first answer but when one is being abused-NO ONE has the right to tell me I should have had more faith. This book is a waste of time for anyone dealing with serious problems within a marriage.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a Bible Study to Helping Yourself

    I have to say that this book was life altering for me. Why, because I did it the way it was truly intended. I read it from front cover to back cover, used the companion guide, took my time, & did it in a study. THIS IS A BIBLE STUDY NOT A SELF HELP! Sure, there are topics that some people aren't ready to accept & others that are hard to swallow. However, if you read the first page first, as it was meant to be done, you will clearly see it builds on each chapter. The book helps you identify the secular beliefs & ideas that maybe you bought into, there are at least 40 covered in the book, you can add your own because it also teaches you how to identify them. It doesn't just identify them for you. You have to put you into it. You also have to drag out your Bible to get the full measure. I not only HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT, I am doing the study again & sent it to everyone for Christmas this year. The first time I did the study it was a lot to digest. I am eager to do it again and start getting into more of the weeds on the topics. <BR/><BR/>If you are not ready to be the woman that God designed you for, you are not ready for this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Sad

    Thank you to the reviewers who said this book was awful. I only read the chapter on divorce since I am a recently divorced Christian woman. I endured for 17 years with emotional and verbal abuse and prayed daily that my borderline personality disorder husband would change. I was so close to ending my own life to get out of the marriage but knew that my 3 daughters needed me. I feel blessed that I never read this book until now--I might have believed the lies printed here and tried to pray a change into my former so called Christian husband and stayed married. Divorce is never the first answer but when one is being abused-NO ONE has the right to tell me I should have had more faith. This book is a waste of time for anyone dealing with serious problems within a marriage.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Worst book for Christian women EVER!

    I never shy away from texts that challenge me to draw closer to God by examining my life and choices, but I found this text's patronizing, judgmental - even misogynistic in places - thesis to be simply a shaming tirade against women doing their best to maintain their faith in a fallen world. This is the kind of narrow, legalistic interpretation of Scripture that KEEPS women from Christ, not empowers them to develop a deeper relationship with Him. I was really surprised when I found that the author has never been married nor had children - yet people still look to her to lead them in their marriage and parenting. All of her self-righteousness is based merely on her own limited interpretation of verses from Scripture and NOT coupled with ANY personal experience whatsoever in sustaining a marriage or raising children. I also found her assumption of Eve's voice as the introduction to each chapter to be incredibly arrogant and presumptuous. Her theology is not merely irresponsible, but downright dangerous.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    Shepherding Movement influenced this writer

    The thing I¿ve noticed about DeMoss is that she starts outside the Scripture from a premise. I¿ve been teaching how to study the Bible for years emphasizing contextual reading and gleaning FROM the Scriptures, thus when someone does what she does it is glaringly obvious to me. One should not START from any approach, but should seek to extract the points from the Scriptures without adding into Scripture.<br><br> For instance take the words ¿Adam was not deceived, Eve was deceived and thus fell (versus knowingly walked) into transgression. Because DeMoss is coming from a preconceived set of patriarchal beliefs (as many have done throughout history actually) she changes this to meaning that women are easily deceived and more prone to deception. In order to do that she has to change words and add words: Eve becomes ¿women¿, and easily and more prone are added in. The actual verse does not address women in general being deceived, yet this is what she uses and patriarchal teaching uses to tell women they need male guidance and are unfit to control their own lives, determine truth... Etc. etc. get the picture. And this view of woman is the primary foundation for all her views of woman.<br><br> And curiously she does not conclude her own approach by applying the same method to the first part and say that men are more prone to deliberately choose wickedness. This then reveals her (and the patriarchal) agenda is not seeking the truth but proving a biased premise by reading it into Scripture rather than gleaning truth from Scripture.<br><br> The redeeming portions of DeMoss¿s book if you can ignore her incorrect eisigesis of Scripture is the outline of how one falls into deception and how to avoid deception. She also does an excellent work dealing with priorities and how to trust God to heal from childhood lies.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Outstanding!

    This book was written for Christians, but I can¿t imagine that any woman could read it and remain unchanged. Author DeMoss takes on the lies that ruin our lives and destroy our peace ¿ lies about ourselves, our relationships, our emotions, our circumstances, our sin, and most important of all, God Himself. And then she tells us the truth. Forget ¿women¿s liberation¿ this is the real deal.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Wonderful Book!

    If you are struggling with how to approach hot button issues in today's society from a Christian perspective, this is the book for you. It will stretch your mind and challenge some long-held beliefs, but it will definitely help you grow.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    Nancy Leigh Demoss

    This book is dangerous for impressionable and hurting women seeking spiritual growth. As an African American woman whose family had to struggle, both mom and dad, "back in the chaos of the 1960's" and before to just get basic recognition that they too were human beings created by God, I found this woman's label of necessary social justice movements to be damn near racist and totally idiotic. <BR/>Hell no, I do not recommend this book and hope that women wake up and stop ingesting the garbage that the way to solve real problems is for them to become more submissive and meek to these fallen and also birth of sin men. <BR/>What woman in today's world would dare raise her precious daughter(s) thinking that she/they needs to take on "cultural" attributes of doormatness. Every living being was created in love and has a God given, inbred, right to "EXPECT" human rights and recognition of their own divinely created and/or inspired humanness, talents, and rights. <BR/><BR/>I want my money and time back from these staunch Republicans who attitudes would have me and mines picking cotton or worse.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Good reminders of how women are deceived in a special way, and how to be mindful of appropriate responses.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    A Must Read

    I recommend this book to every woman who seeks the will of God. It has been a blessing to my life. I've read it independently, then again with a women's bible study at my church. Nancy 'tells it to you straight' and challenges women to recognize the many lies we've fallen victim to - lies that are deeply engrained in our minds, and in most cases are very difficult to admit. I am giving this book as Christmas gifts this year and will re-read mine in the years to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Sound biblical teaching

    As a pastor's wife who seeks to glorify God in all things and to live a life of devotion and holiness to the Lord, I have found this book to be invaluable to me in my own walk. I have been challenged to look honestly at myself in light of the Scriptures. Sin entered the human race through Adam's sin (he stood silent as Eve was tempted and sinned against a holy God). But men and women can now be redeemed by the blood of one Man, Christ Jesus. This book calls sin what it is: sin. And holds us up to the mirror of God's holiness and love and calls us to repentence and faith. My only criticism would be her chapters on marriage and family, not that I disagree with her ideas necessarily, but since she is single I find her treatment of these subjects lacking any real, practical application for wives and mothers. I have read this book and completed the companion study guide on my own (Walking in the Truth), and I will be starting to facilitate a group study in our church. I would absolutely, without any hesitation, recommend this book to any woman who wants a more intimate walk with the God of the universe.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    If you want go the next level...buy this one!!!

    This book is absolutely amazing. This writer is definately annointed! We read this book as a part of a book club that I belong to. This book tore down strongholds on women who read this book. It is confrontational, but if you are looking to really find out why you don't have victory in certain areas, this book will help you to see it. She provides scripture to back up what she is saying. Buy it and be set free!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    A Must Read

    If you are afraid of the truth do not read this book! Fantastic! Nancy pens some very insightful truths and perspectives. Some ideas I have never even thought of. She touches on every area of life for women and many for men. I read parts to my husband. Really motivated me to be who God wants me to be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good study package

    Nancy Leigh DeMoss is an excellent teacher...this study package is a great help to women..I just want to say it is a study package. it includes book and the study guide. When I first purchased it I was not clear on if both books were included so I purchased a study guide separately...I had to return that as BOTH books come in this package.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    I do not agree with everything the author says, but there were some good insights

    I would say that there ARE some great principles in this book, just make sure to back up what you read with the Word of God. It is true that Satan will lie in every way that he can, and he has special lies for women.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Wonderful book. Easy to read and easy to understand. She also back up her ideas with Scripture and other sources. Although I do not wholeheartedly agree with all of her ideas, like when she talks about depression. I actually still use this book as a resource.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Profound Book!

    The author Nancy Leigh DeMoss tells it like it is in her book Lies Women Believe. Her profound insights leave anything but a bad taste in your mouth, but rather an Ah-Ha kind of moment. Her direct style is complimented by Bible verses corresponding to her in depth explanations of the subconscious thinking that takes place in women's minds.
    This book is not a single plot based on characters and events, it is an understanding look into the way women perceive themselves and how that ultimately affects different aspects of life. The explanations are made real and relatable through testimonies of ordinary women and their short, simple accounts. To spruce things up a bit a view point, told by Eve is used to introduce each chapter. I personally love this because it helped me relate the situations I was going through and the concepts in the book directly to the Bible. The way Eve is portrayed is so raw that it was almost impossible not to see where she was coming from.
    I quite frankly have never read a self-help book and for all I know this could be one, based on the simple fact it did help me. Let's be honest though, no one wants to admit they need help, so this could be considered research. Research into the lives of everyday women and the choices they make each day. How there are events that have occurred many years ago and yet those very same events place boundaries on today's thoughts and reactions. This is an extreme look into why women are the way they are, each person is unique, but more than one concept is relatable.
    To make this short and to the point: good book, just enough detail to get the point but not so much so it's lengthy, and if your looking to have a deeper relationship with God, this is a great start!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Informative; good, biblical truths!

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    This is a wonderful book. Nancy holds nothing back in this book and helped me gain a new prespective on myself sand others. Trusting in the Lord and his word. It set me free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3