BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right

Average Rating 4
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pundits use puns, Political Analists analyze

I really enjoyed this audio book. It wasnt because i agreed with everything he wrote, it was because Frankin and his researchers took the time to give thoughtout reasons for their opinions and points of view. Unlike may political collumns, books, etc this one layed out ...
I really enjoyed this audio book. It wasnt because i agreed with everything he wrote, it was because Frankin and his researchers took the time to give thoughtout reasons for their opinions and points of view. Unlike may political collumns, books, etc this one layed out the lines of research and methods by which they came to their conclusions. Others tend to state their opinions, joke, then continue to the next topic. Frankin, on the other hand, gives the listener the background and information from which his statements are derived. While he obviously delights in pointing out inconsistancies or lies in his opponents, with hilarious effects in the audio, he also admits to some failures in his research. In a few cases he tells of setting out with a particular agenda and not finding the 'dirt' he had expected. Although in some sections Frankin exagerates and stylalizes for comedic effect, overall he maintains a conversational tone. The audio, in his own voice, is pleasant, comedic, and invites the listener apply their own critical thinking.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An impressive team of Harvard students worked to produce this?

What a disappointment! I do not support President Bush, but to descend to Franken¿s level is a disgrace. This book is BORING TO DEATH, probably due to its miserable attempts at humor. This bestseller is a demonstration of the author¿s poor judgment and poor taste. A...
What a disappointment! I do not support President Bush, but to descend to Franken¿s level is a disgrace. This book is BORING TO DEATH, probably due to its miserable attempts at humor. This bestseller is a demonstration of the author¿s poor judgment and poor taste. And, may I add, poor knowledge of the subject matter. No less than Harvard students were needed to produce this garbage! Better not waste your time on it!

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Pundits use puns, Political Analists analyze

    I really enjoyed this audio book. It wasnt because i agreed with everything he wrote, it was because Frankin and his researchers took the time to give thoughtout reasons for their opinions and points of view. Unlike may political collumns, books, etc this one layed out the lines of research and methods by which they came to their conclusions. Others tend to state their opinions, joke, then continue to the next topic. Frankin, on the other hand, gives the listener the background and information from which his statements are derived. While he obviously delights in pointing out inconsistancies or lies in his opponents, with hilarious effects in the audio, he also admits to some failures in his research. In a few cases he tells of setting out with a particular agenda and not finding the 'dirt' he had expected. Although in some sections Frankin exagerates and stylalizes for comedic effect, overall he maintains a conversational tone. The audio, in his own voice, is pleasant, comedic, and invites the listener apply their own critical thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Hillarious!

    I was listening while I was driving and once I even had to pull over and stop while I laughed. Yes, he points out that statements such as Ann Coulter's 'Liberals hate America' are absurd when one considers the likes of John Glenn, but those are the easy ones to poke holes in. Franken takes on the more insidious lies, too, using careful research at each step. There are, of course, valid conservative political points of view, and ethical conservatives everywhere should be decrying the foul methods their most prominent spokespeople are using to get out their message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Humor and Ammunition

    This AudioBook is a great listen - at once funny and discouraging. Al wraps the hypocricy and lies of the right in off-color jokes and criticisms so well-framed that the listener doesn't know whether to laugh or cry at our current state of affairs. It has helped me better understand what is happening in politics and provided me ammunition for talking to my Bushie friends. Thanks, Al.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2004

    Al Franken is an idoit

    Just as dumb as RUSH LIMBAUGH IS A BIG FAT IDOIT, he's back. He makes dumb comments like '...and this is from a Christian Science magazine. Not only are they Christians, there also scientists.' If he had done any research on the subject he would know that not every adherant to the religion of Christian Science (which is not Christianty anyway) IS NOT A SCIENTIST. He makes stupid comments like this throughout the entire book. Al Franken needs to go back to acting. What he was good at. BOO!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    How low can you go?

    After reading this book I have one question? Why isn't Franken's picture on the cover? Possibly the most misguided dribble I've ever read. Funny he doesn't mention the 'Harvard stationary' incident. This 'gem' should sit along side Ann Colter's ideologically driven Edsel in the 'sorry I didn't get all the facts straight' section! If I could rate this a '0', I would. By the way, I recommend this book so that you can identify the 'left' wing kooks as well as the 'right' wing kooks!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    'Candy for the liberally biased.'

    Although I am admittedly conservative, I do respect the views of thinking liberals like Bill Bradley, Alan Colmes, Chris Matthews, and others. However, I find Franken's work to be creative yet 'ultra-smearing' and downright hateful. Though some might believe his 'documentation' of fact is convincing, I find little accuracy among his 'documentation.' I am 'turned off' that such a dynamic and intelligent person has chosen a path of destructiveness that may sell books, but clearly is not winning converts in the real arena of ideas. I was disappointed with the book and would describe it as 'candy for the liberally biased.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    The worst political book ever!

    This was complete and utter nonsense. No sane american would beleive anything in it. DO NOT BUY THIS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Unbelievably Horrible! ! !

    In this book the worst author in literature history writes the worst book in literature history. He says Fox News isnt fare and balanced when throughout the entire book he is unfare and balanced, leaning completely to the left the entire time. He speaks out against our President and other Republicans in poor attempts at humor, leaving the average, non-liberal reader, very bored by the 2nd chapter. This is the typical liberal anti-patriotic propaganda, which fails in every category. I wouldnt reread this if someone paid me. This book just prooves how the left wingers will do anything and drop any standards to go against the right. -100 Stars! Get Al Franken and Micheal Moore out of the book buisness, forever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    Lies: And the lying Authors who write them!

    A complete waste of time, could've been watching clothes dry. The lefty/commies will love the book of course, but then again they love anything that's anti-FOX or anti-American anyhow. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    How about Franken's Lies?

    www.frankenlies.com ... Franken and his 14 Harvard researchers have been challenged on the facts in his book! The results don't bode well for Franken and Harvard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    An impressive team of Harvard students worked to produce this?

    What a disappointment! I do not support President Bush, but to descend to Franken¿s level is a disgrace. This book is BORING TO DEATH, probably due to its miserable attempts at humor. This bestseller is a demonstration of the author¿s poor judgment and poor taste. And, may I add, poor knowledge of the subject matter. No less than Harvard students were needed to produce this garbage! Better not waste your time on it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Fair???

    Books that claim to be fair shouldn't incorporate insults into their titles, doesn't that already suggest bias?? If you want a good book read Slander or Treason by Ann Coultier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    Sad that people like this

    I'm not a right wing guy, as a matter of fact I vote Democrat and I will probably do it again. But this Franken guy has such a blatant hatred for the right that it clouds up his thoughts. I praise the Democratic agenda - I frown on vitriolic rag books like this. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    I'm a right wing republican

    there is no truth to this book at all. He basicly lies his way throught the entier book. Since he claims there is no bias in the media except for the right he is only repeating everthing that the right says towards the left only in a right wing negitive context.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    A reader's 'confirmation bias' dream book

    I respect anyone's right to author books which challenge the thoughts of others. As a conservative fan of Rush Limbaugh, I find hypocracy in Rush's newly found perspective on drug addiction. However, when an author pummels others for being dishonest, loose with the facts or deceptive, there is a clear MANDATE to be very clear with the facts used as allegation. Can anyone disagree with this? Think about it. Satire or not, think of the title and the allegations. When you read such a book, don't you hope everything cited is exactly as suggested? At least we should hope that there is no intentional deception or loose fact checking in the allegations. This seems to be a no-brainer. I suggest a quick click over to a reference web cite which examines some of Franken's claims. I know the conservative-haters out there will never look, because they will have already judged the content before perusing it. Fine, just don't call yourself fair or balanced, but rather a dogmatic partisan. Here is the site: http://www.frankenlies.com/ J

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    Who is the liar?

    I have read the book entitled Lies: And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them authored by Al Franken and the book entitled Slander authored by Ann Coulter. Please refer to page 6 of Franken's book and refer to page 261 of Coulter's book. The paragraph relating to Dale Earnhardt's death will reveal that Al Franken is not telling the truth. Who is lying here? My advice? Skip Franken's book and read Ann Coulter's book Slander. She has more class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2003

    Fair and balanced... Where?

    This book is a joke . How in the world can the author say this is a 'fair and balanced look at the right?' Don't waste your time unless you are groping for straws and how to defend a librial agenda that is failing this society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Too Obvious

    Ok... so the book is subtitled 'A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right' and yet the title is 'Lies: And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them'. And that's fair and balanced?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Agonizing Rant

    Puh-leeeeze. Enough of the 'I'm-so-witty-and-more-intelligent-than-conservative-Americans' partisan RANT! If you like pages filled with partisan hatred, disguised as 'humor', give it a read. Get a less angry perspective on the Right Wing elsewhere. This one does not serve the Left well...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Al puts his foot in once again!

    Al frankin is to politics what Pee Wee Herman is to heart surgery, out of his league. Even as a ex-liberal I cant agree with this two bit effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13