Customer Reviews for

Lies: And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right

Average Rating 4
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pundits use puns, Political Analists analyze

I really enjoyed this audio book. It wasnt because i agreed with everything he wrote, it was because Frankin and his researchers took the time to give thoughtout reasons for their opinions and points of view. Unlike may political collumns, books, etc this one layed out ...
I really enjoyed this audio book. It wasnt because i agreed with everything he wrote, it was because Frankin and his researchers took the time to give thoughtout reasons for their opinions and points of view. Unlike may political collumns, books, etc this one layed out the lines of research and methods by which they came to their conclusions. Others tend to state their opinions, joke, then continue to the next topic. Frankin, on the other hand, gives the listener the background and information from which his statements are derived. While he obviously delights in pointing out inconsistancies or lies in his opponents, with hilarious effects in the audio, he also admits to some failures in his research. In a few cases he tells of setting out with a particular agenda and not finding the 'dirt' he had expected. Although in some sections Frankin exagerates and stylalizes for comedic effect, overall he maintains a conversational tone. The audio, in his own voice, is pleasant, comedic, and invites the listener apply their own critical thinking.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An impressive team of Harvard students worked to produce this?

What a disappointment! I do not support President Bush, but to descend to Franken¿s level is a disgrace. This book is BORING TO DEATH, probably due to its miserable attempts at humor. This bestseller is a demonstration of the author¿s poor judgment and poor taste. A...
What a disappointment! I do not support President Bush, but to descend to Franken¿s level is a disgrace. This book is BORING TO DEATH, probably due to its miserable attempts at humor. This bestseller is a demonstration of the author¿s poor judgment and poor taste. And, may I add, poor knowledge of the subject matter. No less than Harvard students were needed to produce this garbage! Better not waste your time on it!

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    'Candy for the liberally biased.'

    Although I am admittedly conservative, I do respect the views of thinking liberals like Bill Bradley, Alan Colmes, Chris Matthews, and others. However, I find Franken's work to be creative yet 'ultra-smearing' and downright hateful. Though some might believe his 'documentation' of fact is convincing, I find little accuracy among his 'documentation.' I am 'turned off' that such a dynamic and intelligent person has chosen a path of destructiveness that may sell books, but clearly is not winning converts in the real arena of ideas. I was disappointed with the book and would describe it as 'candy for the liberally biased.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    Prefer The Onion

    Why buy this book when The Onion is free?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    Depends on who's 'facts' you believe

    Al Franken disputes Bill O'reiliy, Fox News, and the right in general with a lot of facts. The conservative themselves disputes the left with facts of their own. How can both parties be right and have the facts to prove it? The answer is they can't. They are both right, and wrong. Confusing? A little, but think of it this way; it all depends on your interpretation of the facts. The right will see the facts one way, the left see the facts another way. It¿s truly up to you to decide which way you swing. As a book, Franken seems to have some vendetta against anyone he doesn¿t agree with. That¿s fine, but some of his opinions border on slander. If you care to read about one persons views on other people, you'll like it. If you don't care what someone has to say about people he (Franken) agrees with, don't buy it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    Nice Try But No Cigar

    I've read many politically motivated books whether from the left or right and each may be meticulously researched but the general public has to remember... each one is out for the benefit of its own party affiliation. You want a good, unbiased, honest account of American politics? Unfortunately, nothing of that sort seems to exist, much to my regret. Had I known Al would be mudslinging with the best of them, I wouldn't have wasted my money and instead have taken this out of my local library. 'A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right'? Um...He's a die hard liberal - what do you think? Does Bill O'Reilly have a fair and balanced look at the left? My point precisely. Lying liars? Perhaps. But I don't think Democrats are sporting any halos either (or should be). Truth is, politics is a dirty business and there's not a soul out there in the arena now that's worthy of adulation. Al Franken makes some good points and laces it at best with venomous satire that after awhile, I was tired of. Worth a look...but don't expect earthquakes. Unless of course, you're a die hard Democrat out for a Republican Hanging. If that's how you get your kicks, then by all means, dig in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    No thanks . . .

    I thought this might be an amusing and thought-provoking book. It was neither, just a self-promotion piece that is even more biased than the bias it purports to expose. It made a few good points, but in the final analysis it is guilty of the cardinal sin for satire: It ain't funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Clouds without Rain!!!

    Everyone lighten up just long enough to realize what what Franken's 'Lies' actually represents. It's his latest effort to be likened to Will Rogers. Of course no modern-day political commentator (conservative or liberal) can come close to the man who embodies the true spirit of political satire. Rogers' observations were always couched in humor, but they also were directly on target (and no one in the political arena was spared from his biting wit). I have to admit it; Franken is very funny in this book. His opening bit about his 'conversation' with God is a gut-buster!!! It reads just like one of his old skits from SNL. And that's why those of us on the Right should simply chill out about this book. It may be entertaining reading, but it is, for the most part, without any substance. Read it for the good medicine of laughter that his tongue-in-cheek ramblings certainly produces. Just don't take him seriously!!! As the old-timers used to say, 'Don't take your umbrella today. Those are just clouds without rain.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    unreliable

    Doesn't even get simple facts such as correct military rank correct. Makes you wonder how much else of the book is rubbish. Unreliable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Confused, and a little boring.

    Short on insight, but a still a readable package. Franken is clearly outgunned by his conervative targets, in terms of knowledge, humor and depth of the issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1