Customer Reviews for

Lies: And the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right

Average Rating 4
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pundits use puns, Political Analists analyze

I really enjoyed this audio book. It wasnt because i agreed with everything he wrote, it was because Frankin and his researchers took the time to give thoughtout reasons for their opinions and points of view. Unlike may political collumns, books, etc this one layed out ...
I really enjoyed this audio book. It wasnt because i agreed with everything he wrote, it was because Frankin and his researchers took the time to give thoughtout reasons for their opinions and points of view. Unlike may political collumns, books, etc this one layed out the lines of research and methods by which they came to their conclusions. Others tend to state their opinions, joke, then continue to the next topic. Frankin, on the other hand, gives the listener the background and information from which his statements are derived. While he obviously delights in pointing out inconsistancies or lies in his opponents, with hilarious effects in the audio, he also admits to some failures in his research. In a few cases he tells of setting out with a particular agenda and not finding the 'dirt' he had expected. Although in some sections Frankin exagerates and stylalizes for comedic effect, overall he maintains a conversational tone. The audio, in his own voice, is pleasant, comedic, and invites the listener apply their own critical thinking.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An impressive team of Harvard students worked to produce this?

What a disappointment! I do not support President Bush, but to descend to Franken¿s level is a disgrace. This book is BORING TO DEATH, probably due to its miserable attempts at humor. This bestseller is a demonstration of the author¿s poor judgment and poor taste. A...
What a disappointment! I do not support President Bush, but to descend to Franken¿s level is a disgrace. This book is BORING TO DEATH, probably due to its miserable attempts at humor. This bestseller is a demonstration of the author¿s poor judgment and poor taste. And, may I add, poor knowledge of the subject matter. No less than Harvard students were needed to produce this garbage! Better not waste your time on it!

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Many a True Word Has Been Spoken in Jest

    Al Franken does an excellent job, along with his research assistants in this entertaining book that provides corrections to many untruths and half truths that people believe. The book, in satirical style, lays out some of the modern political myths, while also highlighting the small mindedness of the most promenant right wing commentators and pundits. This book is excellent fodder for liberals, and should leave conservatives all the wiser.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Great Book

    Unlike A review I just read, this book is not lies. I've done the research myself. If you wanna just straight up say he is a liar go ahead. But please do your research first to back up what you say. NONE of what I researched is a lie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    A pleasure to read

    I found this book to be informative and entertaining. I cannot believe any sane person with a decent sense of humor could not enjoy this book. I will be purchasing all his others now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    Laughter therapy

    The sarcasm, the irony, the comic imagery, and the citations which Mr. Franken used to prove his points made me laugh out loud, and yet were educational too. His example caused me to go out and spot check some of his facts for myself, and he was completely accurate. He uses his wit rather than shouting down the opposition (unlike others, whom he names and pillories with their own rhetoric). It's really a shame that we're only seeing 1 or 5 star reviews. It shows how polarized we've become in this age of FOX News.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Very funny, thought-provoking book

    This is a wonderful book. It made me laugh out loud, while offering insight into our political system. Unfortunately, by the end of some chapters, you start thinking about how in the world our country got into this predicament and it makes you angry. What is the matter with our political system and our citizens that we would allow such charlatans to take control of our country? Did 1984 truely become reality? Al Franken is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    YOU GOTTA READ THIS

    wow its scary that what he writes about is actually happening but his humor makes it bearable. its hilarious! i laughed out loud

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    one of the best books ive ever read

    al realy gives it to those gop pos jackoffs by using there own words and attacks agenst them to show there thair own true colors. way to go al

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    Kevin, a reviewer

    Al has hit the head of the nail on this topic. he and his team performed a cogent study by using research and finding out the true facts. This is an honest illustration of the right-wingers in washington. Buy the book and see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    WOW

    If this is all true (which I believe it is) then conservatives and Rebublicans LIE a lot, publicly. Al explains it in a way that even a 13-year-old could understand, and doesn't just rant, but makes it FUNNY! Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Write On Franken

    I have been looking for ammo to use when debating with my right wing, Bush can do no wrong, republican friends. There are only a few books that have ever made me laugh out loud, and this was one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    Hateful? Not Funny?

    Please. This book is the funniest politically motivated book I have ever read, along with Bill Maher's Ride With bin Laden book. It certainly is not hateful, though he does take some dirty shots at the right. But what did u expect? Look at the cover. A Fair and Balanced look at the RIGHT. No doubt a Fair and Balanced look at the LEFT, would be very similar in the amount of lying and deceit. If u don't think its fair or balanced, do u really think FOX NEWS is fair or balanced. I assure u its not. I've grown up with FOXNEWS and as an independent I enjoy watching it. O'Reilly and Hannity especially are just bullies though. I knew that before reading Al's book, and now any time I watch their shows I can pick out their bully moments and a lot of lies as far as Hannity goes. I love how O'Reilly refuted the book though. 'He says I'm not from Levittown'. Notice he doesn't defend any of his political lies and bullying. This book perfectly achieves the goal it was intended to: Be hilarious while exposing the bullies on the right, and only the right.If you want a balanced political book, read Cuomo's Crossroads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Finally, some truth about the liars

    Al Franken's book is a must read for anyone in America with an open mind. I am a life long Republican who does not trust George Bush or any of his 'Club W' friends in the White House. If you have questions regarding the credibility of the neo-conservatives who hijacked democracy in November 2000, please read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    Never mind the one-star reviews who don't give real reasons for their low ratings.

    Okay. I can understand that some conservatives, after reading this book, may be a little upset... <p> First of all, the 'hateful' thing. I personally thought that this was a excellent book meant to expose the untruths in politics today. May I ask exactly why you think this book is hateful? Because just the mere fact that you called the book 'hateful' without any specific reason or a quote from the book makes me wonder if you got the point of the book at all. I read this book and I didn't see anthing that anyone could consider 'hateful'. I suppose you think that any questioning of the current administration is hateful, then. Last I checked, there's a little something called the First Amendment. Since when is exposing the truth hateful? Either you don't understand irony and humor, or you had a conservative bias about the book before you read it. And YES, I am a liberal. However, I don't just like this book because I know that Al Franken is also a liberal. I like it because it's not conservative-bashing accusations; rather, it's using plain TRUTH to disprove lies. And besides, do you think that American liberals are in ANY position to be hateful towards ANYTHING and be taken seriously nowadays??? Just because you don't agree with what he says does not make this book hateful... and besides, remember Ann Coulter's remark about all liberals being 'guilty of treason'? Wouldn't you say that that is a bit hateful? <p> I also see that some people think that this book is another leftist rant. But think about this: Why would Franken go to such extremes to publish a book meant to expose right-wing lies if his only means of exposing lies were to LIE? Does that make any sense at all? Not to mention that anything a liberal says is scrutinized 100 times more than what a conservative says. Let's be serious here, folks. Do you think that it would be in Franken's, or the liberals' best interest to use misleading facts to PROVE that the right wing has lied about things? Of course not! (Not to mention the irony of lying in a book meant to expose lies.) Everything in this book has facts behind it. Every quote or claim that DOESN'T have a footnote is proven in the back of the book in the Sources & Notes section. And what I think is one of the most interesting things, he even uses their own quotes to disprove them, because some of the things the people featured in the book said were just plain UNTRUE, or at best, a distortion of the facts. There's no gray area here. Either you cite a source CORRECTLY or INCORRECTLY. <p>I am not trying to convert anyone to the liberal cause. If you want to be a conservative, then fine, be a conservative. But please, please, think about what you are writing- right-wingers have the upper hand, I hate to admit, and people will be foolish enough to believe anything they are told. This is why I ask everyone to READ the book, not believe me from what I write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    Awesome

    I've grown up in a republican family with the Fox News channel on at all times so reading this book was a big deal. This book is probably one of the best books I have ever read. It's very funny yet very imformative. Other reviewers have said that it sounded like he wrote with hate but I never thought that once while reading this book. It's not hate, it's called sarcasm. All I know is that I will be reading future books he puts out on politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Run, Al, Run, for the MN Senate!

    Impeccably researched by both Franken and TeamFranken (a group of Harvard students, folks -- THEY certainly got higher SATs than a certain few), this factual analysis of politics is, ironically, more fair and balanced than certain news networks or 'expert/analyst/hopeful Tiresias's'... Illuminating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    This should be required reading for all journalism scools

    At last someone who isn't afraid to do leg work. This is what I was taught to do in journalism school in the 70s. But even then I saw the 'watch TV to get the story' and 'make up the story' generation emerging. Excellent book, Al.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Leans the conservatives over the table and gives them what they've got comming

    Great book that gives these people what they've had coming for a long time. Obviously the book leans to the left, what do you expect? I find it quite interesting, though, that those who disliked this book would recommend a conservative title after trying to discredit Al. Let it be known that I have never and will never call myself Democrat or Republican, I am a person who is out for the truth. You conservatives can bash Al all you want but it all ends up being exactly what he was talking about in his book; The conservative effort to put down the liberals and talk themselves up. Two thumbs up and I eagerly await his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK

    This book attacks the ultra-conservative pundits, one-sided and lazy media and government officials who have repeatedly lied to the American public. It's a shame that some of the staunchest defenders of free speech are the ones who so egregiously exonorate themselves from any moral responsibility to tell the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    A DNC Conspiracy!

    Now we know the REAL truth; there never was, and never has been a Republican conspiracy! The real conspiracy comes to light in the pages of this book; the Democratic conspiracy to 'out' the right by actually bothering to research the lies and half truths they spew. And the Republican response to such a conspiracy? Rather than address each item they find objectionable, they talk about the hate that is brought forth. It's about time someone took on the blustery blabermouths of the right! If you enjoy excellent satire and and DOCUMENTED facts in your political discussion, buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Hilarious

    It's true Franken does better research than most, and exposes many right wing lies for what they are. For instance he actually obtains and photocopies O'Reilly's voter registration form showing that he lied about registering as an independant. That's not why I loved this book though. I loved this book because it was absolutely laugh out loud hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9