BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lies at the Altar: The Truth About Great Marriages

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    Shows you how much work is needed in marriage

    The author discloses numerous issues that we may take for granted just because we may be married. I discovered all of the work that needs to be done to keep marriage alive. One of the reasons I have not married at 48 is because way too many people are too selfish and feel entitled to everything without putting in the required effort. Perhaps so much work is needed because no one kept their eyes open BEFORE marrying their spouse. Alot of baggage that should have been unloaded in singleness was carried straight into the marriage with little hope of getting things worked out. The most excellent book I have ever read to get to root causes of singleness and divorce is cited here in my recommendations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    Gives us alot to think about

    I really like the questions that jar conversation with your significant other. Questions about sex, money, religion, raising children are all more or less taken for granted. Many times we overstep these 'normal' things that could become huge issues later on. After reading 'Lies at the Altar', I read 'Why Singles are not Married & the Married are Single' that a reviewer recommended. It was at that point everything clicked because the spiritual side was disclosed in a very easy and practical way to understand. These books work perfectly together and are highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    A Wealth of Discovery

    What a joy this was to read. There are just so many interesting elements the overall honesty. Often in a relationship, there are signs and signals that something is not right, but too many women have been taught that we can change our partners, which isn't necessarily true. In a partner, we should not look for perfection, but for someone who is understanding, honest, who can compromise and is willing and able to reciprocate the love, so there is a flow moving continuously, back and forth. As a woman who is about to take her second trip to the altar, I found the information in this book to be very thought provoking and enlightening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    This is a must read book!

    I bought this book because I got engaged and heard a lot about it. In the book some of the things she covers is that so many people go into marriages thinking that the wedding day is going to be a fairy tale and when it's over they will live happily ever after but that's based on fantasy not reality. All relationships have issues and problems that arise and she states you have to go into the marriage as an adult realizing this. She also states that the person at the alter will be the person at the breakfast table it's so true you have to accept your partner for themselves and realize that you can't chaange someone and that the person has to want to change themselves and it can take years to change it's not something that can happen overnight. She also gives you guides for writing vows based on truth and things you can actually live by and how you can show actions for the vows you write and live by them so they are not just words you say on your wedding day and if you are already married she gives you a guide to how you can rewrite you vows. Theres so much more then this in the book and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Read Before You Leap.

    Anyone seriously thinking about getting married should first spend the night reading this book. Smith provides a close look at what wedding vows mean and makes it perfectly clear that love is nowhere near all you need to have a good marriage. Any couple contemplating marriage will find that answering the questions for discussion in this book is a far less time-consuming and bothersome experience than getting a divorce. Seriously, would make a great bridal shower gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    This book made me and my husband get a divorce

    This book wasn't as good as was promised. I really didn't enjoy the style of writing and it made me realize how bad of an idea marriage was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    This is a Good Recipe for Marriage

    This book by Dr.Robin Smith has been quite a book that I have long been waiting to see. It is filled with facts and simple to understand what marriage means. It's not just LOVE in a fairy tales that can keep the marriage GOOD. Dr. Smith shows you every meaning of factors and vows that two people have to share to make it work. This book is like a light that shines at the end of the tunnel for those who are having marrital problems and those who think they are ready to say the words 'I do' at the altar. READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Excellent, insightful and highly recommended!

    I am pleased to highly recommend the comprehensive, insightful and full with wisdom book of Dr. Robin! As a Ph. D in Sexuality I know how important and difficult is usually to keep the vows from the very beginning. I am confident that the practical, honest and very personal approach that she uses will reveal you a lot of hidden problems that may cause serious problems later on. I think that the book will be very useful and for people married for long time and it will provide them with the necessary tools to iron out differences, conflicts and may even save at first sight doomed committed relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    All About Dreams

    The Truth About Great Marriages isn't the kind of book I normally read. Normally, I read sci-fi and fantasy like Robert Stanek's Ruin Mist Chronicles. But since I got serious with my guy I've been thinking more about what if stuff, like what if he's really the one. I know I'm too young to get married, but I girl has got to dream and since my auntie was reading The Truth About Great Marriages I decided to read it too. This book blew my mind and set me straight. My eyes are wide open now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3