BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lies at the Altar: The Truth About Great Marriages

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A great guide

    I loved this book it is a wonderful guide. My only regret was that I didn't find it before I got married! Anyone, whether you are married, about to be married, or single needs to read this book. Take it from me, the author is right, you can't afford to settle. Know what you want and don't ever compromise it for a minute. If you do it will end up destroying your marriage. If your marriage is in trouble and you and your partner truly have the desire to turn it around this would be an excellent resource for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Eye opener

    Good book for married couples or ones ready to get married. It is information that deep down in side we all know but for Dr.Robin to tell it to you just seems to make more sense.. I got the audio book and it was great. Kept me interested and helped me to see some of the faults in my own situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2007

    what an excellent guide!!!

    it is a best book i have read on this topic! it is so insightfull and honest that it really toches and teaches you truths you should have known about your self. this book is an excellent guide on how to get un-stuck in your marriage and how to recognise things that should be avoided by those how want a strong and healthy bond.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Amazing book

    This book is for married, almost married, and even divorced people... amazing book! She brings up amazing points and i have passed this book on!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    for people who aren't married yet

    This book has some good advice to think about before you get married. It doesn't have much advice for people who are already married, though. And the marital advice it does give is somewhat contradictory. In one part of the book, she states that the needs of both spouses are important and shouldn't be ignored. In another part of the book, though, she talks about how "immature" people are the ones who focus on their needs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    questions you need to ask

    the book was good. once you get married you realiz that these are good questions but its too late for us. for those looking to get married, these are great and essential questions to ask. i wouldn't classify it as a must read but if you dont know what to ask your mate prior to marriage, this book offers great ice breakers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Fantastic

    This a great book to read if you are in a relationship or not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2007

    LEARNING FROM YOUR MISTAKES

    I finally read this book when my marriage was in the middle of a crisis...and believe me, if you are true to yourself, to your partner, but most of all...to your relationship...it will help you get out of the hole you feel you are in. I particularly loved her honest and vivid approach of examplifying her life. I specially loved the way she bombarded the many cliches we believe that marriage should be like. Marriage is not a war...I understand that now. As a woman, her advice will help you brake with the antique norms of that because you are one, you have to take everything that is thrown at you...with a smile. She encourages you to have self worth, self value...self love. I love the underlying message that you are not your husband. The way our world turns today, where people go with the flow of what is expected, despite your personal needs and wants...her constant message is clear: the truth will bring you and your partner redemption...from yourself and from each other. Read it and tell every woman you know about it. I have given a copy to each of my closest friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    Why Dr. Robin is not married

    I read this book and it changed my life. I am a married 21 year old mother of two children. My marriage was falling through the cracks after two years. I was actually repeating my parents marriage, and did not realize it. The only way it saved my marriage was by the willingness to cooperate of my husband. Without that, it won't work. Well, I was apprehensive to take her advice. Until I heard her say the reason she's not married. By the time she had figured out how a marriage works, she had already been in a realtionship that was no where near the truth. Its hard to take a step back and fix whats been broken for so many years. Especially if you or your partner is not ready or willing to comprehend how a marriage should work, or meet you half way to ensure happiness on either side. Basically, there was too much damage for them to proceed to fix it. I really understand. My parents have been divorced for years and have had failed relationships after failed relationships. The reason because it is due to the pain that they carry with themselves of their past relationships into new ones. Like saying 'This has happened to me and it's not going to in this relationship' rather than letting go of prior unresloved mishaps and focusing on what the persent realtionship needs to continue. So, basically just letting their pain and the ways that they've been hurt be in the driver seat of their lives. If there was some way to go back and undo the hurt and damage done, my parents maybe could somehow, someway be together again. It's due to the damage that they can't be close. The love is still there, but buried underneath years and years of not knowing exactly what they want or who they are, or even giving room for each other to do so. My mother never said anything when her feeling were hurt and my father had no idea how she felt because of it. My father was heart broken over the divorce and bitter. My mother was heartbroken over the failure of my father to recognize with her what it would take to make them happy together. And it would mean them stepping out of thier comfort zones. Well, in the end I would like to thank Dr. Smith for restoring my ambition to be a psychologist. Maybe somehow someway I can find a way to fix whats broken in my family. I just don't think the confidence in myself is there. The damage has already been done. What's the worst that could happen? I recommend this book for anyone any age. I think it helps you to know really what you want. I let my friend borrow it and her dog ate it. How nice, huh? Some people are not ready for it and some embrace it as a blessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    I almost lied...

    This book is phenomenal. I finished it last night and am going to start it again today. I read it too fast because there is so much truth in it...things just kept clicking and the pages kept turning. I am going to read it a second time to take notes and then give it to my ex-fiance. We were engaged for 8 months before we mutually decided to take space from each other. I was devasted with the failure of my relationship and was given the book by my sister. I haven't failed we as a couple have succeeded because we are not going to add to the divorce statistics. The book is a proclamation of the truths behind marriage...and not the fairy tale. It is a must read for single people, engaged people and married people. Pass on to everyone you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    What every woman should read

    I first saw this book on the Oprah show.This book is amazing for anyone considering marriage. Whether your engaged, unsure, married or divorced this book is for everyone of all ages. It really makes you think about what we normally dont think about. I think every fight that Ive had with my boyfriend has been covered in this book. Its great. She uses examples of couples and past exeriences so well. She has numerous questions to that every couple should cover before getting married. Its an easy read. I read front to back in 2 days. It definitly would make a great bridal shower gift. I wish she wrote more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Must read for any significant relationship!

    This is an easy to read, keep it simple and really understand how to avoid some of the most common difficulties in a significant relationship! You owe it to yourself and the one you love to help or improve common problems that are difficult to solve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Amazing

    I have not finished the first chapter yet and I am already in love with the knowledge and wisdom this author possess. She is brilliant, and her insight is unparalleled. I am in awe of her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Trust each other too!

    Good book with good questions to ponder. However, I don't think people should get carried away too far. Don't think that you have to have the answers to 150 of 275 questions to be compatible or to be able to make marriage work. And don't pick any other number either. Trust the person you love and find the answers together along the way. A better book in my opinion is 'How to Date Your Wife,' by Stan Cronin which is also sold on this website. Buy both, read both and let your heart guide you from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Woman, married 20 years

    No doubt Robin has some great ideas, information, tips, etc in her book that many people could benefit from. But I could not get past one, for me, major thing, she is not married and from what I could tell has not been married for quite some time. I adhere to the take my advice because I am using it and living it premise not the take my advice because I think it might work. Given the divorce rate these days married people might want to read books by people who are in successful marriages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    From Ceremony to Sacrament

    I highly recommend this book for couples comtemplating marriage. Dr. Smith forces couples to take an introspective look at the wedding vows. The ceremony is just the beginning. The holy sacrament begins after the ceremony has ended. Are you ready, willing and able to move from ceremony to sacrament? A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    Praise for The Truth

    Having married early in life, I am now at a watershed point as to whether or not to continue in the present relationship. This book has helped tremendously in showing me where I have made mistakes during all phases of my relationship. Regardless of my choices this is a resource to correct my mistakes or to move on and not repeat them. Your mate doesn't come with a manual but now the chance at having a good, fulfilling relationship does. They never teach in school how to communicate and to stay in a healthy relationship. At least now you can get the steps to success in one source.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    My Altar....

    Let me just start by saying that I am not even CLOSE to finishing this book and it is EXCELLENT!! I'm actually not anticipating finishing because I wish it could go on and on. I have seen Dr.Robin on Oprah many times and I must say that I almost always agree with her theories on such topics on the Oprah show. I can TOTALLY relate to this book as I am a newly married Woman. Her thoughts are so provoking and inspiring and it gives me a great since of encouragement of 'self.' I highly recommend this book to all as it not only relates to marriages or relationships but most important the individual themself. This book has opened my eyes TREMENDOUSLY. TWO THUMBS UP!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    Excellent for Those Considering Marriage

    This book really helped identify key discussion points necessary for those considering marriage. I would have never thought to find out his perspectives in as much detail as the book suggests, especially in the '276 Things to Discuss' section. I am very grateful for this book because it puts marriage into realistic perspective and, by doing so, allows couples to continue working on the fun times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    LIVE IN THE TRUTH

    Dr. Robin Smith has written the best book I've ever read about relationships and marriage. Her warmth and compassion are evident on every page. She is not only beautiful on the outside---see her picture on the cover---she's beautiful on the inside as well. I loved her book, and I loved the writing. I felt like I was listening to a brilliant sermon in the Nondenominational Church of True Love & Good Life. The revelations about her own past relationships were so honest and compelling and touching. There was also so much true insight and genuine humor throughout the book. And the 176 questions for couples to ask one another was just brilliant. 'Show Up As A Grown Up' and 'Live In The Truth' are burned into my consciousness forever. Thank you Dr. Robin. My admiration for your genuine kindness and gentle wisdom knows no bounds. You are a beautiful person. Thanks so much for sharing with all of us Lies At The Altar. If you were single and available, I'd want to marry YOU! You're fabulous. What a lovely good woman. What great writing. What a wonderful book. I can't wait for your next one, whatever the subject matter will be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3