Customer Reviews for

Lies the Government Told You: Myth, Power, and Deception in American History

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great, Thought-Provoking Read

I just read "The Lies the Government Told You" by Judge Andrew Napolitano. I LOVED it. I love learning and I love it when books teach me something I didn't know before reading. History and government especially fascinate me, and this book covered both areas. As I've got...
I just read "The Lies the Government Told You" by Judge Andrew Napolitano. I LOVED it. I love learning and I love it when books teach me something I didn't know before reading. History and government especially fascinate me, and this book covered both areas. As I've gotten older, I've realized there's so much I don't know.

The thing that stood out the most in this book, that I didn't know ahead of time, is that the Federal Reserve isn't owned by the government! In fact, it is a private corporation and they can pretty much do whatever they want. That scares me a little bit, I have to say. I came to the conclusion that there are a lot of flaws in our financial systems. The book even argued that the chairman of the Federal Reserve, is more powerful than the President. That is one example of a topic, the book covers many others (slavery, voting, freedom of speech, the right to bear arms, etc.).

The book was full of fascinating information. I think it's a must-read for all American citizens..at least the ones that actually want to decide for themselves on issues of importance. I also liked that the book wasn't biased. It avoided slamming a specific political party, and stuck to the facts. This is a great book for instigating intellectual conversations-or starting lively debates! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys learning.

posted by ErikaDawn0130 on March 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Review from a Non-History reading person

This book goes into detail on what the author states are 17 lies the government has told the American people. This book explains the 17 lies in detail and goes in depth to explain what they are supposed to be and how the government lied to us about it.

I honestly don...
This book goes into detail on what the author states are 17 lies the government has told the American people. This book explains the 17 lies in detail and goes in depth to explain what they are supposed to be and how the government lied to us about it.

I honestly don't like to read about history or anything that has to do with the government. But, this book caught my eye as I feel the government lies to us, you just have to find the truth.

I agree with some of the lies and some of them really upset me reading them. This book makes you think about our government. The lies that made me think and got me all upset were; All men are created equal, Every vote counts, Your body is your temple, We are winning the war on drugs, Everyone is innocent until proven guilty, Your boys are not going to be sent into any foreign wars, The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects should not be violated.

To me, the above are lies that the government has told us and continues to tell us, and these specific lies touch home to me on so many levels. I enjoyed reading this book. I would recommend it to my friends, to those who like history/government and to those who don't. This book really makes you think and I am glad I chose to read it.

This book is from Thomas Nelson and was provided for review as part of their BookSneeze program.

posted by mom2girlsnboy on February 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    TRUTH

    This book is solid truth. Judge Napolitano has an extensive knowledge of both The Constitution and the history of our country. This enabled him to write riveting chapters explaining in detail the frightening reality that the government has indeed, lied to us.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Great Stuff/Gets a little dark

    Information and opinions were great. Really learned some things on the Federal Reserve, great views on taxes/inflation, and more. Thought it got a little dark witht the last few chapters seeming to be conspericyish. Not sure about the thoughts about Pearl Harbor and some of the war craze. Have read arguements completly opposite views in 48 Liberal Lies about American History (That You Probably Learned in School)
    by Larry Schweikart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    For People Who Still Believe In The Constitution A Must Read!!!

    Lies the Government Told You by Andrew P. Napolitano


    The Judge Hits A Homerun In This Book Of Lies And Deciet.
    He Shows Us How The Government For Years Has Been Lieing ,And Covering Up.
    All The Freedoms That You Thought You Have Are Slowly And Quietly Being Taking Away.
    This Is A Must Read For Americans Who Still Belive In The Constitution.
    Napolitano Delivers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Very recommended

    Lies the Government Told You is an excellent read and a very well researched book. Judge Napolitano thoroughly looks at past a present laws that the government has passed, what they claimed they passed it for, and what the truth was. An in-depth look at politics and the tricks that have been pulled, this is an excellent read for anyone searching for the truth behind vaguely worded law and what dangers those laws have.

    Judge Napolitano tells us of how the lies the government has told us has shaped out past in ways we would never have suspected. He thoroughly points out the whys of how these laws get passed and why the lies are told. Without trying to reason away the lies, he makes it clear what happened, who did it, and why on earth they would lie to us that way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Very Interesting

    Judge Andrew Napolitano's new Political book is very interesting. He believes that the American people buy into lies pretty easily, and I can't disagree with him. In this book the author talks about 17 lies in particular the biggest and first being"All men are created equal". You can definitely tell by the way he writes that he is a big supporter in the Constitution. Being a political based book I really didn't know why I picked it at first to review because I thought it would be really boring! However, I found the lies that he talks about very captivating.
    The lies talked about:

    1. "All Men Are Created Equal"
    2. "All Men . . . Are Endowed byTheir Creator with Certain Inalienable Rights"
    3. "Judges Are Like Umpires"
    4. "Every Vote Counts"
    5. "Congress Shall Make No Law . . . Abridging the Freedom of Speech"
    6. "The Right of the People to Keep and Bear Arms Shall Not Be Infringed"
    7. "Your Body Is Your Temple"
    8. "The Federal Reserve Shall Be Controlled by Congress"
    9. "It's Only a Temporary Government Program"
    10. "I'm from the Government, and I'm Here to Help"
    11. "We Are Winning the War on Drugs"
    12. "Everyone Is Innocent Until Proven Guilty"
    13. "The Constitution Applies in Good Times and in Bad Times"
    14. "Your Boys Are Not Going to Be Sent into Any Foreign Wars"
    15. "We Don't Torture"
    16. "The Right of the People to Be Secure in Their Persons, Houses, Papers, and Effects, Shall Not Be Violated"
    17. "America Has a Free Market"



    If you are interested in reading books about the inconsistencies of the government this is a great book to own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Great read, controversial and thought provoking.

    This book has a chapter devoted to each lie, and there are 17 chapters in all. It covers 'lies' such as "The Federal Reserve Shall Be Controlled by Congress" and "Everyone is Innocent Until Proven Guilty". This is not a book written from a hypothetical point of view, as it is extensively referenced.

    I thought that I might find this book hard to read, since so many political books are dry and complicated. I was happy to find that it is a very enjoyable read, but still deep enough to explore the ideas and truths. I really learned a lot from it, especially regarding the way that our government is currently working (or not working, as you could put it). I feel like I am pretty well educated on the way things are SUPPOSED to be working, so it was nice to read more about what is actually happening, and more importantly, why.

    This book is not shallow. There is a lot here, so you should not expect to sit down and read it through in one evening. I found that I needed to give this book some time to really think about what he is saying. It is a thinking book. :) You may or may not agree with much of it, but if you still think that most of our government is constitutional, this book will be a great eye-opener for you. This is also a great gift for that uncle, father, or husband who really likes controversial and political reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Just buy it - you will be amazed at just how deep the lies go!

    Note of thanks to Thomas Nelson for providing me for free with a Copy of this book!

    "Lies the Government told you" by Judge Andrew P. Napolitano, is not my regular fare of reading material, but the Title of the Book intrigued me greatly. I was not disappointed in the least.

    It may not have come as a surprise to me or millions of other People that the Government tells us lies, but I had no Idea just how deep seated and "common" those Lies truly were until I read this book.

    Evenso you do not necessarily need a Law Degree to understand the wordings, since Mr. Naplitano does an excellent job explaining things, I found reading the entire book a little difficult. You simply find yourself so sucked into a topic he is explaining, that you may suddenly get curious to do some of your own research as well, and so find yourself hindered in continuing on.

    During the current times of just about everything being regulated including what we eat or use for medicine I found Lie #7 on Page 120 a rather eye opening statement.
    "Your Body is your Temple"

    Quote: If we do not have control over our own bodies, we have control over little else. If anything belongs to us, reason would tell us the thing we enter into and leave this world with - our body - belongs to each of us. Everything we do, our thoughts, our speech, our movements, and all physical actions, come from our bodies. Therefore, having control over our bodies is one oft the most fundamental rights we can possess." End Quote Page 120

    Now as Mr. Napolitano shows over the following pages, obviously the Government does not seem to see it this way and gives us case after case to showcase the hypocrisy of the statements of freedom.

    That is only the tip of the Iceburg however, over Chapter after Chapter he takes apart statements and supposable rights we as Citizens have and case after case which proofs that in actuality our rights are being infringed on daily. He is not just giving us his opinions, but actually shows us solid proof via court cases and statements made by Justices.

    If you are at all interested in Law, or in history, I would suggest this book is for you.

    I give this book a 4 out of 5 Stars.

    Your Friend Regina S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    Lies the Government Told You

    Lies the Government told you, Myth, Power, and Deception in American History by Judge Andrew P Napolitano, with foreward by Congressman Ron Paul.

    From the very beginning , it seems our governing forefathers had one set of rules for the 'masses' and another set of rules for themselves. Judge Napolitano uses 17 chapters, starting with Lie #1-'All men are Created Equal', to explain how the people were told one thing,when it was completely different for the ones in control. It gives examples of how the Government, be it Local, State, or Federal pretty much can twist things around to give themselves the upper hand.

    Chapter #14-'Your boys are not going to be sent into any foreign wars' has personal meaning for me, because my dad actually discussed how we ended up in WWII, and that he knew before Pearl Harbor being bombed, that it was coming, because of the way our government was handling things.

    Judge Napolitano has really outdone himself. This is a book that I'll keep and reread many times, and use it as reference material. It isn't light reading, but it is very interesting, and it makes you think.

    I was not paid for this review, and all opinions expressed are my own. I was provided with a free copy to read and review.

    Published by Thomas Nelson Publishing Inc.
    Nashville TN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Really gets you thinking...

    I thought this book was outstanding!! The author is very knowledgeable of history. He is very direct and gives straight facts. Each claim made in this book is backed up with facts. Judge Napolitano holds nothing back. While reading this book, I found myself agreeing with most points made. It really got me thinking about our government, and about the things they keep from us. As well as how honest they are. I thought this book was very good and very informative, and I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Stick it out and you'll learn a lot.

    In the Forward, Congressman Ron Paul writes this of Judge Napolitano, ".he does not pull his punches or excuse any Constitutional violations in order to support any group or political interest" (ix). As a regular viewer of the Fox News Channel, I have found this to be true in his legal analysis for that network. It is definitely true of this book. Most of the Judge's assertions had me standing up to cheer. "Congress Shall Make No Law.Abridging the Freedom of Speech," "The Right of the People to Keep and Bear Arms Shall Not be Infringed," "Everyone is Innocent Until Proven Guilty;" all these topics hit the very heart of patriotism and the common American identity. Some chapters taught me something. "Every Vote Counts," "The Federal Reserve Shall Be Controlled by Congress" discuss the 17th Amendment and the Federal Reserve and presented information I never learned in school. "Your Boys Are Not Going to Be Sent into Any Foreign Wars" covers the United States' entry into both World Wars and was very enlightening. "America Has a Free Market" covers topics like big city rent-controlled housing, government bailouts of businesses deemed "too big to fail," government domination of the certain industries (Amtrak and the Postal Service) I'll warn you, if you read this book, you'll probably want to throw it across the room at some point. If you do throw it, give it some time, then pick it up and finish it. If you do this with a thick skin and an open mind, you just might learn something. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    a book to keep one thinking...

    My first impression upon seeing this book was of secret government conspiracies and alien invasion cover-ups. This book, however, proved to be a serious account of how the American government is constantly defying the constitution it has created itself to gradually cut every American off his natural right to life, freedom and property. This book does not expose anything we don't already know. What it does is backup each claim with historical accounts to drive each argument home. This is more than just a book on how the American constitution has been violated through the years, but is also an account of how America faced and conquered each page in history with pride and a better awareness of its rights. I am not an American citizen (I'm not even in America!), but I sure got a wealth of wisdom from this book. A lot of the things stated here, are things I see in our very own government and I did not really find it hard to agree to every point emphasized in each chapter. This book may not be enough to open the eyes of all America (or the world) to the truth, but it sure is a good start. *I got a copy of this book free to review from BookSneeze.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    7 out of 10 stars

    With emphasis both on government and on U.S. history, two topics I take interest in, this book thoroughly awed me. Using laws present in our own U.S. Constitution, as well as accurate historical information acknowledged by most American citizens, Napolitano criticizes and picks apart the flaws present in a government that to say in the least, is hypocritical.
    Many of Napolitano's examples contained current including Obama, the current war, and today's problematic economic system. I found both positive and negative aspects in this. Positive: the book was easy to comprehend and relate to, since it discussed stories I hear everyday from peers and on the news. Negative: the economy and government can change swiftly, so I don't expect this book to be considerably timeless.
    The only reason my rating isn't higher is because of Napolitano's writing style. He didn't have poor grammar or anything, but reading Lies the Government Told You felt like reading a cross between a self-help book and a history textbook, which personally is not my cup of tea. For a nonfiction constitutional law and social politics title, it was pretty satisfactory, though.

    Below, are the seventeen lies Napolitano presents. Take some time thinking about how they are said but unjustified in the American government. Your mind will be blown.

    1. "All men are created equal"
    2. "All men ... are endowed by their creator with certain inalienable rights"
    3. "Judges are like umpires"
    4. "Every vote counts"
    5. "Congress shall make no law ... abridging the freedom of speech"
    6. "The right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed"
    7. "Your body is your temple"
    8. "The federal reserve shall be controlled by Congress"
    9. "It's only a temporary government program"
    10. "I'm from the government and I'm here to help"
    11. "We are winning the war on drugs"
    12. "Everyone is innocent until proven guilty"
    13. "The Constitution applies in good times and in bad times"
    14. "Your boys are not going to be sent into any foreign wars"
    15. "We don't torture"
    16. "The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, shall not be violated"
    17. "America has a free market"

    Rating: 7 out of 10 stars - A few flaws here and there, but wouldn't mind rereading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Interesting book, Made me think.

    In Lies the Government Told You, the author, a former New Jersey Superior Court Judge, explores the history of dishonesty in US Government. The author discusses the reasons behind some of the lies, the context in which they were told, and the end result.

    From the title, I kind of expected this to be either a political commentary, aimed at the current administration, or a conspiracy theory book, aimed at the current crop of nutcases. But I was pleasantly surprised.

    Lies the Government Told You plays no favorites. Both modern political parties are discussed, as well as some of the heroes and hallmarks of American History. You may never view the story of George Washington's cherry tree, and the infamous mythical quote "I cannot tell a lie," quite the same again after reading this book.

    From Washington to Lincoln, to FDR some of our most notorious presidents are mentioned. The things they said, and the impact that has had on the American People.

    We are all familiar with some of the more recent indiscretions. The Watergate scandal, the Monica fiasco, the WMD in Iraq debacle. But some of the less recent scandals and controversies are not as well known. In this book, the author explains how small lies over time have eroded some of our basic freedoms and liberties, and warns us that it will keep getting worse as long as we the people allow it to continue.

    He even offers a few suggestion as to how we can break the cycle and begin to restore truth in government.

    I found the book to be an interesting reminder that it always pays to know the truth.

    After all, who doesn't want truth, justice, and the American way?

    Per FTC 16, CFR 255-I must tell you received a copy of this book free from the publisher. I was not told what to write, but simply asked to write an honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Lies The Government Told You

    In his book "Lies The Government Told You: Myth, Power, and Deception in American History," udge Andrew P. Napolitano has meticulously and concisely outlined seventeen lies or so to say acts of deception that he feels the American government has been sharing, spreading, and/or allowing to be propagated throughout the country's history for generations. Through his book he attacks the philosophy or mindset that facilitates the government to lie, and it challenges readers to recognize that characteristic, to confront it, and to be rid of it for good.
    Through 17 well researched and well presented chapters viz,:
    Lie #1: "All Men Are Created Equal"
    Lie #2: "All Men . . . Are Endowed byTheir Creator with Certain Inalienable Rights"
    Lie #3: "Judges Are Like Umpires"
    Lie #4: "Every Vote Counts"
    Lie #5: "Congress Shall Make No Law . . . Abridging the Freedom of Speech"
    Lie #6: "The Right of the People to Keep and Bear Arms Shall Not Be Infringed"
    Lie #7: "Your Body Is Your Temple"
    Lie #8: "The Federal Reserve Shall Be Controlled by Congress"
    Lie #9: "It's Only a Temporary Government Program"
    Lie #10: "I'm from the Government, and I'm Here to Help"
    Lie #11: "We Are Winning the War on Drugs"
    Lie #12: "Everyone Is Innocent Until Proven Guilty"
    Lie #13: "The Constitution Applies in Good Times and in Bad Times"
    Lie #14: "Your Boys Are Not Going to Be Sent into Any Foreign Wars"
    Lie #15: "We Don't Torture"
    Lie #16: "The Right of the People to Be Secure in Their Persons, Houses, Papers, and Effects, Shall Not Be Violated"
    Lie #17: "America Has a Free Market"
    we are introduced to the "Lies That The Government Told Us"

    I found the book to be quite well researched and would recommend it to all responsible citizens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2