Customer Reviews for

Liesl & Po

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unforgetable and absolutely brilliant

Words cannot express how absolutely wonderful this book is. It actually had me in tears quite a few times. It is such a touching, sad, and beautiful story. If you can relate with the characters in this book on any level you will understand why one could be brought to te...
Words cannot express how absolutely wonderful this book is. It actually had me in tears quite a few times. It is such a touching, sad, and beautiful story. If you can relate with the characters in this book on any level you will understand why one could be brought to tears by such a simple story. This book, of course, is written through a child's eyes, so it doesn't need to be any more complex than what it is, or else it would lose its innocence. If you really understand what is going on, you will actually realize that this book is much more complex than one may think. You just have to scratch the surface and really get into what is really going on. The author wrote this book to help her heal from a loss, and you sense that every step of the way. You really start to see the author’s struggle through the eyes of little girl, and it is so moving and relatable. The fact that it is a child's perspective on such a grown up subject matter makes it such a powerful story. If you have ever lost someone or needed a friend at any time in your life you will notice that this book has a great deal of depth to it. You really feel like you are going on an emotional journey with this little girl, who is obviously going through a bit of a depression.. At times I thought as though this book was a bit too grown up for younger readers, but I would not let that discourage anyone from letting their child read it. 9-12 is the perfect age range. I would even say that this is a wonderful book for adults too. This is truly one of those rare children’s books that is just too special to be restricted to just one age group..

posted by 9418464 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cute Story, Lacks Depth

I'm not sure what the deal is with some middle grade stories I've read as of late, but they seem to all be written for a different age. Remember Harry Potter? That is written for 9-12 year olds. This, also aimed at 9-12 year olds, feels like something I would have read ...
I'm not sure what the deal is with some middle grade stories I've read as of late, but they seem to all be written for a different age. Remember Harry Potter? That is written for 9-12 year olds. This, also aimed at 9-12 year olds, feels like something I would have read to my son before he could handle a book this size. Don't get me wrong - the story is cute, but the story is so predictable that it loses it's intriguing quality shortly after starting. In the front of the book Lauren Oliver talks about writing this book in only 2 months, which is completely understandable due to the lack of depth.

OK, so now that you think I've bashed this book, let me tell you the good part. I absolutely LOVED the character of Po (and Bundle!) and the idea of being indescribable once you've crossed over to the Other Side. (For more of an explanation on that you'll have to read the book, I don't do spoilers, especially when I wouldn't do this idea justice.) Po's state of being and his character development, especially for a ghost, are both wonderful. There is no shortage of colorful characters and I can imagine reading this aloud and doing all the different voices as a bed time story (the kind you continue on night after night, since it's longer than the usual read-out-loud-at-bedtime-story). The artwork within the pages adds to the books uniqueness and kids will love to see the what the characters look like on the pages.

ARC Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Unforgetable and absolutely brilliant

    Words cannot express how absolutely wonderful this book is. It actually had me in tears quite a few times. It is such a touching, sad, and beautiful story. If you can relate with the characters in this book on any level you will understand why one could be brought to tears by such a simple story. This book, of course, is written through a child's eyes, so it doesn't need to be any more complex than what it is, or else it would lose its innocence. If you really understand what is going on, you will actually realize that this book is much more complex than one may think. You just have to scratch the surface and really get into what is really going on. The author wrote this book to help her heal from a loss, and you sense that every step of the way. You really start to see the author’s struggle through the eyes of little girl, and it is so moving and relatable. The fact that it is a child's perspective on such a grown up subject matter makes it such a powerful story. If you have ever lost someone or needed a friend at any time in your life you will notice that this book has a great deal of depth to it. You really feel like you are going on an emotional journey with this little girl, who is obviously going through a bit of a depression.. At times I thought as though this book was a bit too grown up for younger readers, but I would not let that discourage anyone from letting their child read it. 9-12 is the perfect age range. I would even say that this is a wonderful book for adults too. This is truly one of those rare children’s books that is just too special to be restricted to just one age group..

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    What a beautiful book!

    This book enchanted me--especially the character of Po, a ghost-like character unlike any I've read in a children's book. Its fast pace appeals to imaginitive kids who like a dark, magical story. Adults will enjoy the more cerebral parts pertaining to the "Other World." The illustrations look great on nook, but I think I want the hard copy of this one as a keepsake.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read

    I have always loved ghost stories. It never mattered if they were funny or scary. This was a great ghost story. This was one of those ghost stories that was full of evil people and ghosts who reach out and touch your heart. Liesl has recently lost her father. She misses him terribly. Her step-mother has kept her locked in the attic for months slowly starving her while her very own daughter has been forced to play the role of Liesl.

    Will was an orphan adopted by an alchemist to be his apprentice. The alchemist has no desire to teach him how to create magic. His desire is to use the boy to run errands. He too has little to eat, his clothes are too big for him and he has never heard a kind word. Will runs errands each night for the alchemist and takes a route that allows him to gaze at a young girl in an attic. He is worried because her light has not been on in her room for several days. He dreams of them becoming friends. He’s never had a friend. On this night he has to make a delivery of a box of magic to an important lady, then he must go to the grey mans” place to pick up some items for the alchemist. The grey man disposes of bodies. On this night he has sitting on his bench in a jewelry box the ashes of Liesl’s father. Will arrives and gives the grey man his list. The warmth from the fire lulls him to sleep. When he leaves he mistakenly picks up the wrong box. From here things get interesting.

    Liesl is suddenly visited by two ghosts, Po and Bundles. She becomes friends with them. In exchange for a picture Po agrees to go back to the other side to look for her father. He finds him and goes back to tell Liesl of his discovery and that his father just wants to go to the willow tree. This is where her mother is buried. This is where her father planned on being buried one day. Liesl decides she must find a way to escape the attic and take her father’s ashes to the willow tree.

    Because of the mix up Will, Liesl, Po and Bundles cross paths as they find themselves on the run from one kind hearted man and three evil beings. The author’s note at the end explains how the book came about. I could relate to her reasons. It is a story that will touch your heart in so many ways. The illustrations in this book are absolutely beautiful.

    This is a great book. I was excited when I receive an email advertising the opportunity to read this book free until January 31st. I had seen it listed on several blogs. The premise made it very appealing. I have had it on my list for quite some time. I can’t wait to purchase this for my students so they may enjoy such a wonderful book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Liesl and po

    This is the nicest teenage book that i've read!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    NO EYES (CONTINUED)

    You approach the door and extend a hand to the handle to open it. A bolt zaps you back, a few quarters from your possesion rolling from your body and away into the doorframe, lost forever. <p> Go Back To 'vi' result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    I have not read this yet

    I cannot wait to read this. All your reveiws are great. This year at my school this was nominated an Indian Paintbrush books. Cannot wait to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Secret

    Its a good book very exiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Hi yalll

    Bi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Love it

    This book is amazing with the grafics and how they stated it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    The best book

    One of the most realistic fiction books in history its packed with new things its phonominal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Lm

    Great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Se.xy tom

    Hisses

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Lava

    She sighed and jumped on the tom, scratching his back.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    To*-+-*

    Where are we going mate. I spat. ~honeyblaze

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Fabulous fantasy

    Such a tender book that makes ghosts comforting and death less sad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Kaitlynn

    Anyone on?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Storm

    Oh, I'm not angry at you Cali. *she manages to grin.* I'm just in one of my moods tonight. A...sarcastic mood, as Nathan said. Well...Imma go to bed...night!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Cali

    Hey nathan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I LOVED IT AND IT WAS WRITTEN AMAZINGLY!!!! I FINISHED IT IN A W

    I LOVED IT AND IT WAS WRITTEN AMAZINGLY!!!! I FINISHED IT IN A WHOLE DAY AND KEPT THINKING ABOUT THE STORY
    YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2