Customer Reviews for

Liespotting: Proven Techniques to Detect Deception

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A true innovation: All the data of deception, clearly presented

Human deception is an inescapable aspect of human interaction - and the more a sociologist digs into the true nature of lying, the more pervasive this tactic reveals itself to be. Liespotting is astounding in that it combines the human aspect of how lying affects one's ...
Human deception is an inescapable aspect of human interaction - and the more a sociologist digs into the true nature of lying, the more pervasive this tactic reveals itself to be. Liespotting is astounding in that it combines the human aspect of how lying affects one's life, combining it with the most important data from almost every major sociological finding in the field. Think Malcolm Gladwell for the masses.

I have never read a more thoroughly researched and condensed discussion of the topic of human deception. I was also surprised by how readable to guide truly was: Not only do the daily tips keep you underlining and dog-earring, the stories of deception are palpable. These techniques feel imperative to one's own life. I couldn't put it down.

Liespotting is a must read for its unearthing of a corner of humanity we all live with and never think twice about, while giving the reader a leg-up in everything from relationships to business to parenting.

posted by HugosTheBoss on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

If you buy this book you were the one deceived

The blatant self promoting reviews by the author are laughable given the topic of this book. I am a competitive high stakes poker player so by job centers around determining who's 'bluffing' and it's taken me years to perfect this skill through real human interaction an...
The blatant self promoting reviews by the author are laughable given the topic of this book. I am a competitive high stakes poker player so by job centers around determining who's 'bluffing' and it's taken me years to perfect this skill through real human interaction and trial and error. This book is mostly amateurish but also inaccurate. The daily tips remind me of those silly desk calendars that provide a new life changing tip of the day written by a 3 year old. It's obvious someone with bankroll used their own money to get this crap published. My advice to Ms. Meyer, find another hobby. I hope to see you in Vegas soon!

posted by poker-j on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    A true innovation: All the data of deception, clearly presented

    Human deception is an inescapable aspect of human interaction - and the more a sociologist digs into the true nature of lying, the more pervasive this tactic reveals itself to be. Liespotting is astounding in that it combines the human aspect of how lying affects one's life, combining it with the most important data from almost every major sociological finding in the field. Think Malcolm Gladwell for the masses.

    I have never read a more thoroughly researched and condensed discussion of the topic of human deception. I was also surprised by how readable to guide truly was: Not only do the daily tips keep you underlining and dog-earring, the stories of deception are palpable. These techniques feel imperative to one's own life. I couldn't put it down.

    Liespotting is a must read for its unearthing of a corner of humanity we all live with and never think twice about, while giving the reader a leg-up in everything from relationships to business to parenting.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Liespotting succeeds in its readability, grounded in what readers are interested in

    Liespotting pulls from decades of research in the field of human deception, as well as professional analyses of less-than-truthful public figures such as Bill Clinton, Alex Rodriguez and Scott Peterson; the book excels as its own contribution to the field, however, in its applicability to the everyday reader - the mother of a secretive teenager, the owner of a small business who can't monitor his staff every minute, the apartment hunter... - not just the FBI interrogator.

    Refreshingly clear and well-presented, Liespotting "comes clean" by providing the most quantifiable, objective data regarding deception recognition and that's it. A pitfall for this sort of relationship coaching is vagueness, speaking in generalities to avoid any error, and Liespotting steers clear of that and sticks to the "takeaways" of this field. While the author does use anecdotes to illustrate certain points, there is documented research and a tip to take away with each story, making it both reliable and readable.

    A "liespotter" focuses primarily on the face, as a liar can (and often does) control his words; the face, however, betrays emotion. Well and good to hope for the twitch around the liar's eye, but the interviewer can, and should, ask the proper open-ended questions to elicit non-verbal responses as well. If anyone has ever felt helpless in the face of deception, it is possible to regain control (sometimes without the liar knowing you've shifted the dynamic).

    Of course, there are verbal indicators of deception as well: As one might expect, qualifying statements such as, "As far as I can recall," should set off a red flag; but more surprising, seemingly innocuous statements such as invocations of religion or perfectly chronological stories also point to deception.

    A great deal of Liespotting is devoted to the Art of the Negotiation, and while the preparation techniques - sit where you can observe body language - as well as particular signs to look out for - a post-interview sigh of relief - were well-presented and applicable to the business readers, some might prefer the sections devoted to lying married couples and analysis of Bill Clinton's denying his affair with Monica Lewinsky.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    A great guide, and clearly well-researched

    I had become obsessed with trust as an entrepreneur. I always try to go on the record in my business, but when I am making deals and trusting my staff with my entire livelihood, I always hit a wall and must simply trust those I have chosen to do business with. It isn't always easy.

    I have been waiting for a book like this to give me some objective signs of deception, and what a business owner can do about it without becoming paranoid and hiring a new staff every year. I don't like to accuse anyone, even if I'm almost positive of some kind of wrongdoing, and I've been able to actually incorporate the techniques of questioning in this book into the way I like to do business.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    A truly impressive achievement!

    I've never read anything like it. Liespotting really offers a chance to change the way you do business. I was fascinated to read about the author's experiences and training in FBI interrogation techniques ... and that no matter how savvy we consider ourselves, humans are pretty much open books. We may be bad at detecting lies, but we are also bad at telling them.

    The "takeaways," as well as applications to every day life (who wouldn't want to know if their landlord or even their boyfriend was lying?), made this a great read - a lot more accessible than I thought it would be, considering the heavy research that clearly went into it. This one will be around for a while.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Wasn't sure what I was getting into But a really cool read

    I picked up a copy of this book not sure if I was getting into a how-to or a science report, but I ended up really liking it. Clearly tons of research went into it, and the hard facts about liars were the most interesting to read, who are the biggests liars, the corporate chameleons, why we lie, (that we lie to coworkers more than strangers) I thought this sort of information was really interesting and I never knew this research had been done.

    I read it quickly, but I think this book is geared more toward business owners. I work for a living but the whole section on business deal negotiating didn't really apply to me. So I skimmed through that part and still found the book thorough and well written and would definitely recommend it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Liespotting will remain an incredible resource for me

    Not only was this book an interesting guide to getting ahead in business, especially for someone who is in meetings all day, every day, it was a compelling look into humanity and why we lie - and always will.

    But Meyer truly blew me away with her level of research, as well as her in-depth discussion of the human aspects of lying, and what you can do to take back the truth, even while everyone around us bluffs and deceives. The consideration to baseline someone's behavior before assessing if they are displaying suspicious signs, the specifically outlined, objective signs to look for in the face and body language and word choice, the application to business negotiations - this all impressed me in particular. Definitely keeping this one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    This book really opened my eyes

    I picked up Liespotting, wondering if the negotiation techniques would really apply to me as an entry-level employee, as someone who is not making major deals for a company, and I would recommend it to any professional - well, to anyone. It was such a quick, interesting read. I was so impressed by the science behind deception (and there are plenty of studies out there), and the way the author presented it in the form of quick tips, in ways that would be useful in everyday life.

    We are constantly being lied to, and there are so many signs on people's faces, if we just know what to look for. A great deal of the tips felt very intuitive, but Liespotting clearly outlines what certain verbal indicators I never would have guessed truly mean: like invoking religion or objecting to irrelevant specifics (no, it was 3:37!), or that liars recall a story chronologically, while truthful people usually do not.

    We all like to think we are not being deceived, that we are in control. But we really are not, if we are complacent - and I'm glad someone wrote a game plan to take back the control (without coming off as a walking lie detector).

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    If you buy this book you were the one deceived

    The blatant self promoting reviews by the author are laughable given the topic of this book. I am a competitive high stakes poker player so by job centers around determining who's 'bluffing' and it's taken me years to perfect this skill through real human interaction and trial and error. This book is mostly amateurish but also inaccurate. The daily tips remind me of those silly desk calendars that provide a new life changing tip of the day written by a 3 year old. It's obvious someone with bankroll used their own money to get this crap published. My advice to Ms. Meyer, find another hobby. I hope to see you in Vegas soon!

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    Waste of money

    What a vacuous book! Complete waste of time. It reads more like a student's research paper than a real book by an expert. There is less useful content than you can google in 15 minutes.

    What's worse, the style is so dry and fake. Sample quote:

    I decided to accept a job at National Geographic Television and I had the good fortune to work in an extremely honest environment. My colleagues behavior was unimpeachable, and I had nothing but trust and respect for the people with whom I worked.

    Who writes like that, and why do we care? I really wish I hadn't bought the book. The other two reviewers must have been paid by the author.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Excellent book - super useful

    The difficulty in dealing with liars is now a little bit easier. After reading Pamela Meyer's Liespotting I feel more at ease with knowing I may be lied to up to 200 times in day. The author begins with the origins of lying, why people do it, and how to determine if it's just a little white lie or something much more meaningful. She then delves into the art of detection reading the face, body, and words of the liar. She rounds it out with the most important feature of the book with her method for dealing with a potential liar.

    In all, it a well written, useful book for anyone from board room executive to entry-level employee.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Disappointed

    I find it kind of ironic that a book on lies is so noticeably self-promoted. Just look at the latest review, "Liespotting pulls from decades of research in the field of human deception, as well as professional analyses of less-than-truthful public figures such as Bill Clinton, Alex Rodriguez and Scott Peterson; the book excels as its own contribution to the field..." - so obviously written by the author or her PR firm! My [real] opinion: the book is thin and forced, more like a research paper than a book. I couldn't get past the first couple chapters. There is just no depth or substance.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A professional read

    I found Liespotting an interesting and intriguing read, but one more suited to professionals and specifically men and women involved in business, rather than the larger public. It's clearly separated into two parts; the first half of the book is dedicated to relevant facts and studies that appeal to essentially everyone- for example Meyer demonstrates that the general majority of lies can be traced back to 9 common motives. So she doesn't just address lies themselves, but encourages the reader to identify the reasons behind them. I thought this was a different take than other books that include the subject (Blink, for example).
    The second half of the book takes place in the workroom. While the information is certainly practical, it's a more difficult read, and takes focus. It lacks some of the 'fun' of the first half, and you can tell Meyer has switched audiences.
    Altogether, an interesting read, especially for those who enjoy the variances of psychology and business.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Lots of Information

    I enjoyed this book. I thought the information very informative and useful for day to day in a variety of situations. The author provides information from many sources, facial recognition training, interrogation training, and a comprehensive survey of research in the field. I am already using some of the techniques she provided when I watch politicians speaking on television :-) It's fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Suped

    Not good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Helpful in more ways than one

    Depending on one's mindset, some people may be attracted to this book simply for the sake of learning how to detect a lie. We may not give any consideration of what to do when the lie is exposed. This book is not only tells you how to discern when a person is lying, it gives you strategies for dealing with the person in such a manner as to bring about a helpful result if it is at all possible. It is straight forward and easy to read, citing relevant research with copious references. It is a good reference for corporate managers, business owners, human resource managers, or anyone engaged in negotiations or team project management.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Fascinating read - very Beneficial

    As my first read on this subject I found incredibly interesting and useful. I just find it amazing that tiny expressions in a person's face can give them away. It really makes me wonder next time I play poker if I can pick up an extra thing or two. On an even more practical level, I feel a little more at ease in the business world knowing what questions to ask the next time I interview new employee or decide to make a deal with someone. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    a short sweet must read!

    I got hooked on the human lie detector thing through a tv show called "Lie to Me", and I've researched and read a ton on the issue. I loved this book, because unlike many others, it is destined for the use of the average person, and since we all can't be crime fighting heroes or behavioral psychologists, it is absolutely perfect for me. The writing is easy to understand and the book really hooks you in. The first half is basically what to look for and how to spot it, and the second how to incorporate it in life, like salary negotiations, business decisions, etc. (not crime stopping powers). This is perfect for anyone who works for a living (I'm hoping that's most of us) as it aids in the decision making process, choosing where to work, who to work with and helping us surround ourselves with the best possible people. Of all the little tools that help you thrive, this is def one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2