Customer Reviews for

Life

Average Rating 4
( 805 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(346)

4 Star

(194)

3 Star

(138)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Keith in a Winnebago?!?

As a long time Stones fan, I've seen them live in 4 different decades, 2 centuries and 2 milleniums, my biggest surprise was how accurate the unauthorised biographies are. Staight from Keiths mouth cleared up only a few minor details in his life story. Regardless thou...
As a long time Stones fan, I've seen them live in 4 different decades, 2 centuries and 2 milleniums, my biggest surprise was how accurate the unauthorised biographies are. Staight from Keiths mouth cleared up only a few minor details in his life story. Regardless though, I found the book very enjoyable. I would find myself alternating between rooting for Keith and then thinking he needs to grow up. I guess becoming an international pop star by the time he was 23 and then maintaining that status his entire adult life would tend to create a very different perspective on life. The absolute best parts of the book for Keith fans are the glimpses into his private life with his family. His brief account of owning and driving a Winnebago on a couple of family vacations was a bit of a shocker. I think thats in Revelations somewhere...

posted by Circulartime on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not what i expected

"Keef" is a fascinating guy. Seems truthful and is insightful. Reads like a conversation with an interesting and disarming person. Not being a musician, the musings about his guitar playing and the music itself was not of interest to me, but I'll bet anyone who plays gu...
"Keef" is a fascinating guy. Seems truthful and is insightful. Reads like a conversation with an interesting and disarming person. Not being a musician, the musings about his guitar playing and the music itself was not of interest to me, but I'll bet anyone who plays guitar will get it. I loved the book. Insights into his life and world were fun to read, but I cannot imagine living it. The biggest thing I found was that beneath all that "image" thing is a rather sensitive and intelligent person, despite the fact that he was so self destructive. Worth reading.

posted by Mik3MF on December 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 810 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Keith in a Winnebago?!?

    As a long time Stones fan, I've seen them live in 4 different decades, 2 centuries and 2 milleniums, my biggest surprise was how accurate the unauthorised biographies are. Staight from Keiths mouth cleared up only a few minor details in his life story. Regardless though, I found the book very enjoyable. I would find myself alternating between rooting for Keith and then thinking he needs to grow up. I guess becoming an international pop star by the time he was 23 and then maintaining that status his entire adult life would tend to create a very different perspective on life. The absolute best parts of the book for Keith fans are the glimpses into his private life with his family. His brief account of owning and driving a Winnebago on a couple of family vacations was a bit of a shocker. I think thats in Revelations somewhere...

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Not what i expected

    "Keef" is a fascinating guy. Seems truthful and is insightful. Reads like a conversation with an interesting and disarming person. Not being a musician, the musings about his guitar playing and the music itself was not of interest to me, but I'll bet anyone who plays guitar will get it. I loved the book. Insights into his life and world were fun to read, but I cannot imagine living it. The biggest thing I found was that beneath all that "image" thing is a rather sensitive and intelligent person, despite the fact that he was so self destructive. Worth reading.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    Great Read for Any Keith Richards Fan!

    Awesome insight into the making of the greatest rock guitarist! He tells it "like it is", in his own words, giving credit where it's due - not just taking it all for himself. He did it all - and lived to tell the story! Thanks, Keith for sharing your story and your music!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Outstanding!!!!!!!

    The Blues, the Stones, the Groupies, the Drugs, the Brilliance ... the Life. This book was wonderful and cost me more $$$ purchasing just a few of the Blues players albums Keith Richards described as inspirational. He is a gifted musician and able to explain the growth of rock and roll. He is never boring - impossible with that life - and I was up well past midnight.

    Riveting read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    It's like having KR crash on your couch!

    I've only read the first two chapters, just a few hours after it was available for download. Now now it's way too late in the evening and I have to work in the morning; but I want to hear more stories from the tour, from the (post) war, and the Life. There are some guests a reasonable host will never turn away!

    P.S. I hope the nook will stop crashing during "add highlight or note" after the 1.5 firmware update.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Heartwarming - Sex, Drugs and Rock and Roll - Delicious Dirty Laundry -

    I have always been a mere casual fan of the Stones, but intrigued by Keith's persona. Keith's character, rather than his music is what interested me in buying this book. This is a great read from cover to cover. I couldn't put it down. You don't need to be a huge Stones fan to enjoy this rockin' thrill ride. Keith's approach to life and the people around him provides a glimpse into a warmer, deeper side to the man behind the most famous rock mega-group ever. Oh, and he answers the question about whether he really snorted his father's ashes and what he was doing up in the tree on that tropical beach when he fell and injured himself. This is a great read. Buy the book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Loved this very thick book!!!!

    I loved this book! If you are a musician, or love the process of writing a song, or learning a new chord on your guitar, this is well writen and a great source for your own creativity. If you're looking for scandal, it serves up, but the love of music takes presedence.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    In a single word: "Wow!"

    Many of us have joked by rhetorically asking is Keith Richards really still alive, or is he just pickled? I've had my lingering doubts about the Media's depiction of the wild life & times of Keith. I figured most of what we've read & heard has been urban legend to help promote the mystique and uniqueness of The Stones. Well,not so! Perhaps a more apropos title for this book would be "The 7 (or more) Unhealthy & Death-defying Habits of "High"ly Successful People".

    After reading the 1st 3-4 pages of "Life", you're hooked - so to speak. Keith eructates the history of his life line by line (all pun intended)in a matter of fact and in your face fashion. He's not writing to please anyone; he's just setting the story straight for the reader to take it or leave it. Saying that he doesn't care would be a misnomer, but saying he really doesn't give a s_ _ _ about what anyone thinks of his "Life" would be more of a fact. And why should he care? He's still standing and still playing in arguably the most famous Rock Band of all time. He's a Rolling Stone who gathers no moss and no toe tags!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Very entertaining read!

    It made me go back to the 60's- that unique time for so many,for the Rolling.Stones and 4 so.many other music great ones. Loved the book so much, I could almost re read it!

    Thanks Mr Richards for sharing so.candidly. ill have to try your recipe for bangers! :)

    Ps - stay off ladders! That was some nasty fall!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    This book could have easily been pared down by 300 pages. Boring

    This book could have easily been pared down by 300 pages. Boring, uninteresting, overblown, and utterly pointless: words that describe not only the Rolling Stones, but this horrible rock star memoir as well. Not that the genre lends itself to brilliance, but 'The Dirt' this is not. You already know Keith Richards. He rambles a lot. He's repetitive. He doesn't have a compelling story to tell. He just goes over and over what you already know, over and over. It's boring. Really really boring. Boring to the point of transgression.The experience of reading this whole book is akin to sitting next to the drunken Keith Richards at dinner in the Hotel California. You can never leave! That and you've heard this song way too many times before.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!

    This book is such an easy read and full of color stories! This is rock and roll at its finest! I read this book in 2 days it was so good! I recommend it very highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Keef; Keef and More Keef!

    I have been a Keith Richards fan for several years. I don't agree with all aspects of his life but overall I really like him. Having said that, I don't think I like Keith as much as Keith likes Keith. The tales are fascinating and the writing style is unique. But I was surprised how often Keith complimented himself; or warned how dangerous he is (throwing knives and pulling pistols etc...). Or glorified a drug story and explained soon after that no one else should attempt those drug escapdes though. There are many great parts to this book and it's a page turner for sure. I was just a little bothered by all the self-glorification in areas not related to music. I'd still recommend this book as a good biography of a fascinating life.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too long and rambling

    I'm not a huge Stones fan but do enjoy their music. I was looking forward to hearing this audio until I realized that there are 20 discs! Then I found out the print version is over 500 pages long! After listening to the story, it was apparent to me that the middle half could've easily been pared way down, as it was the "sex-drugs-rock n roll" story over and over again. Basically getting high, getting girls, and playing music over and over again; it simply became boring. I did enjoy the first part detailing KR's young life and how the band came together. The last disc seemed to be KR rambling about whatever came to mind--dogs wandering on stage, having Paul McCartney appear at his home unannounced, his brain surgery--and it was enjoyable to listen to what came across as an everyday guy. The audio has three narrators; Johnny Depp's voice work was GREAT. Despite the shortfalls, I did like the story; just think it could've been much shorter and still got the job done.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    A great story

    I'm a big Stones fan and I always thought Keith Richards was out of control until I read this book. What a great read. Keith came off completely different than I thought, and in the end, It's all about the Music. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    life by Keith Richards

    One of the best books I ever read. I will never look at keith Richards the same way again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A peek in the window of a legend

    As much as I love reading the biographies of modern icons. I found this example to feel a bit narrated. Do I think Keith wrote it. No. I think he dictated it. And it reads that way. Come on... Keith Richards? Really.

    That being said... I find it fascinating to look into a life of such successful excess. Yes the controversial comments about other contemporaries and collaborators are there. Yes the controversial examples of rabid drug addled neurosis are there as well.

    As well as the experiences and the "sacrifices" that HAVE to be made to become a standard of an art. The lifestyle choices that the rest of we mere mortals choose not to make. Enabling us to progress our lives into relative normality in comparison.

    Most of what I appreciate about reading of the lives of People like Keith is a likeness that we all share. We are all human, and express ourselves differently and with different phrasing. Much like the exceptional guitarist he is. We have all seen some of ourselves in his story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    couldn't put it down

    I've allways loved the stones music, and now have a new view of where it all comes from kieth richards is very open about the life he leads suchas it is and you have to respect him for it. he doesn't appoigies for ant thing it's just way it is.he has given me a new respct for music and the people who write it. i'm sure i;ll pick it up and read it a few more times over the years

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Keith has spoken!

    Finally! Keith has spoken. Like it, hate it, love it? It doesn't matter what anyone says. This is a must have for any fan.

    The Rolling Stones are a hugh part of my "LIFE" and I had to have this book!

    I will read it many times while listening to the music Keith has created for nearly half a century.

    It is a recollection of the days and nights we all dreamed about living. The "LIFE" of a true ROCK STAR!

    (I did find a small mistake however; In reference to the picture listed as "Diverting ourselves from the troubles in Toronto, 1977. Marlon and I rig up Scalextrics on the hotel bed."

    I do not believe that is Marlon Richards?!

    That is Ronnie Woods' son, Jesse Wood.)

    So, far the book is everything I hoped for and more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Best bio

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Who would have thought that quiet Keith the introvert who certai

    Who would have thought that quiet Keith the introvert who certainly never talked next to Jagger- just played , would have so much to say and in such an intelligent way.  A really great read, and in parts hysterically funny.  What a life.  And as for the music discussions,  I need to try throwing away the low E string.  Say, what?  If anyone knows he does.  And as for the women contest, he wins hands down with that absolutely gorgeous Patti Hansen.  They've had a long run.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 810 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41