Customer Reviews for

Life

Average Rating 4
( 805 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(346)

4 Star

(194)

3 Star

(138)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Keith in a Winnebago?!?

As a long time Stones fan, I've seen them live in 4 different decades, 2 centuries and 2 milleniums, my biggest surprise was how accurate the unauthorised biographies are. Staight from Keiths mouth cleared up only a few minor details in his life story. Regardless thou...
As a long time Stones fan, I've seen them live in 4 different decades, 2 centuries and 2 milleniums, my biggest surprise was how accurate the unauthorised biographies are. Staight from Keiths mouth cleared up only a few minor details in his life story. Regardless though, I found the book very enjoyable. I would find myself alternating between rooting for Keith and then thinking he needs to grow up. I guess becoming an international pop star by the time he was 23 and then maintaining that status his entire adult life would tend to create a very different perspective on life. The absolute best parts of the book for Keith fans are the glimpses into his private life with his family. His brief account of owning and driving a Winnebago on a couple of family vacations was a bit of a shocker. I think thats in Revelations somewhere...

posted by Circulartime on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not what i expected

"Keef" is a fascinating guy. Seems truthful and is insightful. Reads like a conversation with an interesting and disarming person. Not being a musician, the musings about his guitar playing and the music itself was not of interest to me, but I'll bet anyone who plays gu...
"Keef" is a fascinating guy. Seems truthful and is insightful. Reads like a conversation with an interesting and disarming person. Not being a musician, the musings about his guitar playing and the music itself was not of interest to me, but I'll bet anyone who plays guitar will get it. I loved the book. Insights into his life and world were fun to read, but I cannot imagine living it. The biggest thing I found was that beneath all that "image" thing is a rather sensitive and intelligent person, despite the fact that he was so self destructive. Worth reading.

posted by Mik3MF on December 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Not what i expected

    "Keef" is a fascinating guy. Seems truthful and is insightful. Reads like a conversation with an interesting and disarming person. Not being a musician, the musings about his guitar playing and the music itself was not of interest to me, but I'll bet anyone who plays guitar will get it. I loved the book. Insights into his life and world were fun to read, but I cannot imagine living it. The biggest thing I found was that beneath all that "image" thing is a rather sensitive and intelligent person, despite the fact that he was so self destructive. Worth reading.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Keef; Keef and More Keef!

    I have been a Keith Richards fan for several years. I don't agree with all aspects of his life but overall I really like him. Having said that, I don't think I like Keith as much as Keith likes Keith. The tales are fascinating and the writing style is unique. But I was surprised how often Keith complimented himself; or warned how dangerous he is (throwing knives and pulling pistols etc...). Or glorified a drug story and explained soon after that no one else should attempt those drug escapdes though. There are many great parts to this book and it's a page turner for sure. I was just a little bothered by all the self-glorification in areas not related to music. I'd still recommend this book as a good biography of a fascinating life.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    life by Keith Richards

    One of the best books I ever read. I will never look at keith Richards the same way again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A peek in the window of a legend

    As much as I love reading the biographies of modern icons. I found this example to feel a bit narrated. Do I think Keith wrote it. No. I think he dictated it. And it reads that way. Come on... Keith Richards? Really.

    That being said... I find it fascinating to look into a life of such successful excess. Yes the controversial comments about other contemporaries and collaborators are there. Yes the controversial examples of rabid drug addled neurosis are there as well.

    As well as the experiences and the "sacrifices" that HAVE to be made to become a standard of an art. The lifestyle choices that the rest of we mere mortals choose not to make. Enabling us to progress our lives into relative normality in comparison.

    Most of what I appreciate about reading of the lives of People like Keith is a likeness that we all share. We are all human, and express ourselves differently and with different phrasing. Much like the exceptional guitarist he is. We have all seen some of ourselves in his story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    A long book--but the Stones have a long history--so what do you

    A long book--but the Stones have a long history--so what do you expect?

    What I found most fascinating about this book was that in being a fan of the Rolling Stones, I somehow pictured that the member of the group did everything together on and off the stage. But while Richards and Jagger did socialize, it was interesting to discover they all have had very distinct and separate lives. I finished this book with mixed feelings about Keith Richards.Obviously, a lot of his problems stemmed from his serious drug problem, and I'm glad he seems to have kicked it. He comes across at times very likable and then at other times very callous--such as when he refers to the 17 year old kid that accidentally killed himself when he was with Anita Pallenberg. Very  strange. He also seems to think his relationship with Pallenberg would have survived if she had been a better woman, not seeming to recognize that they both had severe drug addictions. He merely beat it before she did. And the way he just dropped the woman he was involved with when he met  his future wife, Patti Hansen. The strange, often thoughtless behaviors, are in stark contrast to the friendly, easy-going guy that he presents himself to be in so much of the book. Certainly this was an interesting read. I'd love to read an autobiography by Charlie Watts, Bill Wyman, or Ron Wood. I assume their stories would be distinctly different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    To all cats

    Anyone who does not wish to stay here, go to whitewood. We will take care of you~Rainstorm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Rg

    Poppy? Star? You became kittypets instead of proper kits becuase she responded first?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    OK read - not great

    Life was an OK read, but nothing to get excited about. If you are a Keith Richards fan, you'll probably like it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Tedious to read

    Most of this book is about what Keith knew best - music. I think I would have enjoyed this more if I was a musician, or was more familiar with the musicians he writes about. I chose it for book club, and we all enjoyed it to some degree. But I would not recommend it to someone who was not a musician or an uberfan!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    whew!

    This book made me tired. The drug life was very depressing, his childhood was depressing. All I kept thinking was, how very sad!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    A decent book, but about 100 pages too long.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ok read

    Thought the narrative was hard to follow, it jumped around a lot. His writing was like his interviews...a lot of incoherent babble then all of a sudden he says something funny and profound. I probably would have gotten more out of it if I'd smoked some weed and knocked back a few beers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    Worth reading for rock history

    Got boring because heroin, cocain fog hurts detailed recall of fantastic artist and piece of rock history.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Not sold on this one

    I find this book poorly written, though I know Richards isn't an author of books. I'm plowing through it as we speak and am having a heck of a time. He refers to a teacher as getting fired for "boinky boink with little boys." There are other strange references as well, perhaps that is just his jargon. I'm no prude but there are gratuitous F--- and MFs and the lot. I find it distracting from the story of his life, which in itself is pretty interesting and exciting. I think he should stick with music which he is good at.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Not what I expected

    I am listening to the audio version. To begin, if I were reading this book rather than listening I would be bored to tears and probably would have set it aside. Audio books in traffic are 100 times more intertaining. I continue to listen because I enjoy the narrator but even then I am still bored with the story and find myself clicking forward each track on the CD's. I have now reached the 15th CD out of 19 on the audio version and am committed to finishing only because at this point I want to hear about his current drug-free life and wife, Patti. I love the Stones but honestly not my fave R&R band....I bought this audio book as it was pretty popular this past year - probably would be much more interested in Mick's version. While Keith may be the master at his craft and who knows - the most interesting rolling stone??? After listening to at least 10 chapters of his life I think intellectually he's pretty much an idiot - just another celebrity who has great talent and fortunately got away with succeeding while he physically and mentally abused himself otherwise with drugs. In other words - dumb luck - right place, right time and right conditions. Really - part of an upheaval in our culure back then but if it happened today - would never make it. I haven't talked to anyone personally who has read the book and I certainly wouldn't recommend it. Sorry - love the Stones music, but Keif as he calls himself needs rehab even now as he tries to tell his story tho supposedly he is clean and has been for yrs. Not sure what he tried to accomplish by publishing this one...his story is no surprise - just a confirmation of what we always heard via the trade rags and news. Just one cog in the RS wheel - I think his claim to fame is only his ability to cheat death at this point given all the abuse. Kind of a depressing memoir overall when you read/listen between the lines.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    ok

    okcggdg

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7