Customer Reviews for

Life after Death: The Burden of Proof

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Life after Death

This Deepak Chopra's masterpiece very clearly (and in simple terms) explains how is that conscience masters us and the whole cosmos. It goes on to explain with beautiful stories, metaphors and scientific evidence the mechanisms behind our brains and mind, our bodies, ou...
This Deepak Chopra's masterpiece very clearly (and in simple terms) explains how is that conscience masters us and the whole cosmos. It goes on to explain with beautiful stories, metaphors and scientific evidence the mechanisms behind our brains and mind, our bodies, our souls and the definitive connections between us all and every single "thing" in the universe. We are and everything else, the expression of the cosmos! The author's background in Vedanta ties the book together. While he explores many avenues ancient and modern it is tied together by returning to the Vedas and the rishis. This appealed to me for I have found this to be the root of the perennial philosophy- the anchor of the Golden Thread. The teaching of the three domains (physical objects, subtle objects, and pure consciousness) within the interpenetrating Reality of the Akashic field resonates with truth. Moreover, the concept that you can switch your primary allegiance from the physical realm to the subtle in life- and be supported by it- has been satisfactorily verified in my own life. Similarly, over identification with the physical realm will hold you back from what is truly significant in life. I would highly recommend this book to all who are pursuing a spiritual path.

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A big let down.

I bought this book as a Christian looking to gain some insight and ideas on death and the afterlife. The first few chapters were very well written, until i had gotten a taste of Chopra's warped view of Christianity. By only page 105 i was forced to shelve the book, afte...
I bought this book as a Christian looking to gain some insight and ideas on death and the afterlife. The first few chapters were very well written, until i had gotten a taste of Chopra's warped view of Christianity. By only page 105 i was forced to shelve the book, after Chopra implied that Christians cancel out their sins by committing good deeds, and we only get into heaven by doing good deeds, and im sorry but that is far from the truth. Christians achieve salvation by accepting Christ as our savior, not through works. If someone is going to write a book on a subject as this one, he ought to be more familiar with the core beliefs of other religions.....

posted by Anonymous on November 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Life after Death

    This Deepak Chopra's masterpiece very clearly (and in simple terms) explains how is that conscience masters us and the whole cosmos. It goes on to explain with beautiful stories, metaphors and scientific evidence the mechanisms behind our brains and mind, our bodies, our souls and the definitive connections between us all and every single "thing" in the universe. We are and everything else, the expression of the cosmos! The author's background in Vedanta ties the book together. While he explores many avenues ancient and modern it is tied together by returning to the Vedas and the rishis. This appealed to me for I have found this to be the root of the perennial philosophy- the anchor of the Golden Thread. The teaching of the three domains (physical objects, subtle objects, and pure consciousness) within the interpenetrating Reality of the Akashic field resonates with truth. Moreover, the concept that you can switch your primary allegiance from the physical realm to the subtle in life- and be supported by it- has been satisfactorily verified in my own life. Similarly, over identification with the physical realm will hold you back from what is truly significant in life. I would highly recommend this book to all who are pursuing a spiritual path.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Soul Contact Very Real

    Never doubt the multi-dimensional possibilities of the soul. Deepak Chopra's wonderfully wise book echoes and expands on my own personal experience. "The afterlife," he says, ¿is not a mystery to be solved. It's an opportunity to expand life beyond boundaries." If you're reading this review, it might be because you've just "lost" someone and are searching for comfort and for answers. And if that's the case, my heart goes to you. Nothing can take away the pain of your loss, (time, however, helps) but you might find some comfort in reading Deepak's wise words. If you can't read right now, get his books on CDs... Then listen, and let his voice sooth your battered soul. I recommend this book highly. Also, check out Stephanie Riseley's LOVE FROM BOTH SIDES for a vital relationship encounter between planes, to further resolve issues left undone at the time of her mate's passing!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Changed thinking

    Being raised in a christian background, I have never really felt comfortable with it's beliefs. I have been looking for something and feel like I may have found it. It makes sense what Deepak says. You will finish this book feeling much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Fascinating!

    Deepak Chopra offers proof through near death experiences for the afterlife that needs to be considered and his writing provides confidence to people who fear death. This book makes the afterlife a rational topic for understanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Seekig Spirituality

    Once again Deepak Chopra is thinking and prodding us to think for ourselves about the hereafter, to leave behind the rigid structures of most religions, to find our own God, our own eternal life on our own terms. BRAVO! Brave man!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Compelling evidence the soul survives. Excellent book.

    Compelling evidence the soul survives. Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful, Wise Book

    I'm a writer, and working hypnotherapist. Seven years ago yesterday, my husband died in my arms and then "came back" to me, and that's the story that my book, "Love From Both Sides," tells. "Life After Death," Deepak Chopra's wonderfully wise book echos and expands on my own personal experience. "The afterlife," he says, "is not a mystery to be solved. It's an oppoutnunity to expand life beyond boundaries." If you're reading this review, it might be because you've just "lost" someone and are searching for comfort and for answers. And if that's the case, my heart goes to you. Nothing can take away the pain of your loss, (time, however, helps) but you might find some comfort in reading Deepak's wise words. If you can't read now, get the books on CDs... and listen, and let his voice sooth your battered soul. I recommend this book highly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    a reviewer

    This is a thought-provoking, beautiful book. I found myself drawn to it time and again, and felt a sense of understanding emerging as I listened to its message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1