Customer Reviews for

Life Application Study Bible Devotional: Daily Wisdom from the Life of Jesus

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Year with Jesus

For all of us who love the Life Application Study Bible, this devotional picks up where the Word ends. Each of the 312 daily readings from the gospels - one for each weekday and one for the weekend - welcomes you into the life of Jesus. "Each week focuses on a different...
For all of us who love the Life Application Study Bible, this devotional picks up where the Word ends. Each of the 312 daily readings from the gospels - one for each weekday and one for the weekend - welcomes you into the life of Jesus. "Each week focuses on a different event in His life - drawing out daily wisdom from his parables, teachings, conversations, miracles, and interactions with people." Each devotion helps you establish a time of reflection and meditation and challenges you to respond to God's Word through... Reading the Word: the day's selection from the Gospels Setting the Scene: a reflection on the passage with background information and other details explained. The historical context is so important to understand Scripture. Getting Personal: brief notes and questions to help you personalize the lessons of the daily Scripture reading. This section helped me apply God's Word to my life and circumstances. Talking to God: suggestions for shaping an extended time of conversation with God each day I have enjoyed "walking" with Jesus and learning from his life. This is a great companion devotional to the Life Application Study Bible. For homeschoolers, this devotional works well as part of any Bible curriculum and a great way to start your day. My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars I received this complimentary copy of the Life Application Study Bible Devotional: Daily Wisdom from the Life of Jesus from Tyndale Publishing for my review.

posted by HSMomof4 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I hope you get this book and learn from it.

The Life Application Study Devotional - Daily Wisdom from the Life of Jesus is a devotional from the Gospels is published by Tyndale House Publishers. This is 52 weeks long with days 1-5 and also a weekend page at the end of each week. This devotional walks you through ...
The Life Application Study Devotional - Daily Wisdom from the Life of Jesus is a devotional from the Gospels is published by Tyndale House Publishers. This is 52 weeks long with days 1-5 and also a weekend page at the end of each week. This devotional walks you through Jesus' life. It is great for those who are new believers. It introduces you to not only Jesus but all the men that he chose as disciples. In each story of Jesus you will find the disciples saw the same event however they may have seen it from a different perspective. In this devotional guide you get the verses of the same event written for you to read or to direct to where in the Bible to read each account. Some of the verses you will find written to the right or left of the devotion depending on the page in a category called reading the word. The devotions I felt that were very good at humanizing the different parties written about. I learned little things that I never realized about the disciples that helped me get to know them on a person to person level and in turn that helps when you are new to faith. Each devotion has a section called getting personal with God. In this section it asks you questions that are personal to you. In this book there is also a section called talking to God. It helps you with your prayer life. Over all I liked this and really thought it was good for those who needs a refresher course on the life of Jesus or that are really new to faith and the life of Jesus. I have to say when I chose this Bible I expected that this was a complete Bible with devotional because the cover says Study Bible and was disappointed that is it is a devotional. If you are looking for a devotional this is great but is you think you want a full Bible this is not the book. I have to say that I could not help compare this devotional to others I have read in the past. This was decent but for me it was not the best devotional I have had. What I did appreciate about this Tyndale published devotional is that you do not need a lot of time to read the devotionals. I spent about 10 minutes a morning with this and learned. In today's fast paced world this is excellent. I give this devotional a total of three and half stars. I rate the books I read on a scale of one to five stars with one being the worst and five the best. I must also let you know that I did receive this complementary book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my review; however the opinions are my own. I hope you get this book and learn from it.

posted by themiraclesnook on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Highly Recommend to understand God's Word better!

    I just can't say enough good things about this book. It's not your usual devotional where you read just a small paragraph and that's it. It's more of an indepth devotional and I really like that. You first read the Word and this is provided for you in the margin of the daily devotional Then there is a devotional that explains the Scripture and it really makes you think about what the Scripture is saying. Then at the end of the devotional, there is a series of questions you can ask yourself regarding what you just read. Personally, I liked this because it really helped me to grow closer to the Lord and helped me to understand what my own personal faith is all about. There is also a prayer for each day that helps you to focus on thanking God and also to pinpoint areas where you may need to ask God to help you in the areas you just read about.

    The thing I really like about this devotional is that you can definitely go through it year by year and grow stronger in your faith. I can imagine that you would get more and more out of this study each year as you understand more about the Word of God.

    I highly, highly recommend this book. It's a definite treasure to add to your daily time with God.

    ***********************
    This book was provided to me by Tyndale for my honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Guide on Prayer

    The writers and editors of Tyndale did a magnificent job selecting 52 main topics on the life of Jesus - to be used one per week during one year - and for each topic creating 6 wonderful studies, one for each work day and one for the weekend during a given week. The ideas are well organized. For each study day we have a "Reading the Word" section containing a passage from the Scriptures, a "Setting the Scene" section, where the passage is explained in details, a "Getting Personal" section with questions for reflection, and a "Talking to God" section, with a guidance for your daily prayer. Some particular days touched me deeply, like in Week 39, Day 2. Topic is "Jesus Celebrate the Passover" and Passage for the day is Luke 22:14-16. Question to Reflect was "What activities and interests threaten to keep you from finding personal time to spend with God?" That was a knock out. If you are able to find personal time to spend with God and learn more about the life of Jesus, this is a must have book in your permanent library. This book was published by Tyndale House Publishers in August 2011 and they were kind enough to send me a copy for reviewing through their blogger book review program.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Check it out!

    If you are fascinated by devotionals, and burns with a desire to possess a new one for personal use and also for the book-shelf, Tyndale House Publishers offers a must-have for you in the form of Life Application Study Bible Devotional: Daily Wisdom from the Life of Jesus, which is a unique offering.

    If you have read, used and been blessed by Life Application Study Bible - the #1 bestselling study Bible - this latest offering from Tyndale is an attractive companion, which can go together but both can stand on their own.

    About 400 pages, and moderately priced, the devotional explores the life of Jesus in an attempt to let you draw closer to the Man from Galilee with 312 readings from the gospels - one for each weekday and one for the weekend. The focus of the devotional shifts from one important event in the life of Jesus to another every week.

    The Life Application Study Bible Devotional is intended to impart important biblical principles, and to inspire you to a life of action in the footsteps of the Jesus and be forever changed by Him through a life spent with Him week after week through the reading of this new devotional.

    If you are serious about your walk with Jesus, Life Application Study Bible Devotional is a must have for the family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2015

    Great way to start the day!

    Thought provoking devotional that brings you to the feet of Jesus. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Definitely for all Christen brothers and sisters.

    I read the study devotionals every day. It's a biography of Jesus'life
    hence, I am learning more of Him in a personal manner.

    I am also reading Study Notes in my bible starting with Genesis thru Revelation. They are included in my daily quiet time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    You must check this out

    Love it ,the Life application Bible is the best study Bible and this works just like so easy to use .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    MltNaM

    Q VCVoumljb,qahkcj

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Dig Deeply into the life of Jesus

    The publishers of the Life Application Study Bible present a year of digging deeper into the life of Jesus. Every week focuses on a different event in Jesus' ministry. There is a reading for each weekday and one reading for the weekend. Each reading consists of: READING THE WORD: The day's selection from the Gospels SETTING THE SCENE: A reflection of the passage and highlighting points of significance GETTING PERSONAL: Brief notes and questions to make each lesson personal TALKING TO GOD: Suggestions for shaping extended time of conversation with God each day I really like this devotional. I like that it is meaty. If you do not own a study Bible with extra notes, this devotional would be a great tool. The devotional contains wonderful history and background information. There are also questions that will allow time for reflection. I think it is easy to read a devotional and let the book do all the thinking. This devotional provides a focused look at Jesus but it also invites participation. I anticipate that one might want to open their journals and write their thoughts and prayers and ultimately thanksgiving as the life of Jesus is unfolded week by week. Thinking about delving more into the life of our Savior? This devotional might just be a great way to start digging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    The "Life Application Study Bible Devotional" Daily Wisdom from the Life of Jesus is a good read for those who like a devotional to read daily. I really have enjoyed this devotional so far. It also has been a good resource for teaching, as I have used some of the quotes out of the book for bible study. The devotional is a 52 week devotion on the life of Jesus. The devotion starts with the announcement of Jesus being born unto the world all the way up to his Resurrection and final instructions for our lives. I have read bible many times but each time I read about Jesus' life I find more and more amazing things that he did while on this earth. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to everyone. I received a free review copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended! A Devotional You Can Live By

    I am truly enjoying this book. It is layed out so easy and understandable. The way each days devotion is divided into sections makes it so much easier to grasp and retain. I like it also because it makes you feel as though you are right there in the midst of things and has reflective questions and a bit of daily wisdom at the end of each days devotion. Each day is divided into 4 parts, Reading God's Word, which the the subject passage, Talking to God, which gives you an idea of understanding what to pray for while looking for guidance in the devotional, Setting the Scene which tells in laymen's terms what is going on in the passage along with reference scriptures, and last but not least, Getting personal which asks some reflective questions to ponder, and a bit of daily wisdom. I am a true fan of Devotionals but this one reigns over all the others so far. It is so understandable I can retain it without really getting into deep thought (unless I want to dig further).

    I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone teenager and above.

    God Bless,
    Patti Creek

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1