BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life As We Knew It (Life As We Knew It Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 822 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(444)

4 Star

(186)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

AAD thinks man oh man, this book was great!

Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the...
Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the Earth. After the meteor crashes, the ¿normal¿ way of life completely changes for everyone. There are catastrophes all around the world, like sickness, food shortages, and many natural disasters. Miranda has to let go of almost everything that she is used to, and she and her family have to struggle every day just to survive. I really love this book because it is written in Miranda¿s diary entries and it felt so real. Sometimes, I even felt like I was struggling along with the characters in the story. The only thing that disappointed me a little was the ending. But oh well, the rest of the book was great!

posted by A_IS_AMAZING on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Really scared me.

I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big m...
I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big mistake.

The events in the book really scared me and it still scares me to think about it. Also, from what I've heard, the books only get more terrifying as the series continues. I would not recommend this book to any kids who are under fifteen. That may sound ridiculous, and maybe if your child is very strong emotionally and doesn't get scared, you could let them read it at a younger age. But if your child is even the least bit easy to scare, for lack of a better word, I would not recommend this book. Take it from somebody who read it at a young age and has been scarred by it every since.

posted by readingballerina99 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 825 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AAD thinks man oh man, this book was great!

    Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the Earth. After the meteor crashes, the ¿normal¿ way of life completely changes for everyone. There are catastrophes all around the world, like sickness, food shortages, and many natural disasters. Miranda has to let go of almost everything that she is used to, and she and her family have to struggle every day just to survive. I really love this book because it is written in Miranda¿s diary entries and it felt so real. Sometimes, I even felt like I was struggling along with the characters in the story. The only thing that disappointed me a little was the ending. But oh well, the rest of the book was great!

    56 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Really scared me.

    I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big mistake.

    The events in the book really scared me and it still scares me to think about it. Also, from what I've heard, the books only get more terrifying as the series continues. I would not recommend this book to any kids who are under fifteen. That may sound ridiculous, and maybe if your child is very strong emotionally and doesn't get scared, you could let them read it at a younger age. But if your child is even the least bit easy to scare, for lack of a better word, I would not recommend this book. Take it from somebody who read it at a young age and has been scarred by it every since.

    32 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good but just not for me

    The story is centered around sixteen-year-old Miranda's life after a meteor crashes into the Moon. Life as they knew it would never be the same. The collision pushes the Moon closer to Earth and causes tidal waves, earthquakes, volcanoes, etc.Thousands are dead within the first 24 hours and the numbers just keep rising as the book continues. Power outages as well as food, water, and fuel shortages all create a platform for the chaos that ensues.

    The story is told through journal entries where Miranda describes her life and the fate of her town over the course of a year. Miranda is living with her mother and two brothers (one older and one younger). Her father and his new pregnant wife live in another state (which is a cause for concern for Miranda throughout the story).

    To be honest the book is sort of scary in a way. It portrays a fairly realistic glimpse of how people would react if food and resources were suddenly scarce. For most people who read this book, this realistic portrayal will be what makes them love it. The constant death and destruction soon left me feeling depressed whenever I picked the book up.

    This book was pretty good. It has a good message behind it: "Appreciate what you have, because tomorrow it could be gone." But it was also kind of depressing. I recommend you flip through this one before you buy it. I will probably read the second and third books when I get around to it so I guess I liked it enough to do that. I hope this review is helpful! :)

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Wrong....

    First of all the fact that she blamed everything on God bugged me ALOT eh it was pretty sad at the end it kinda left u hanging the only thing i didnt like was the part was she was alwas complaining like there was nothing to be thankful for and i found alot in her case the rest was very good just dont believe what she thinks about God.

    19 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Solid Read

    What would happen if a meteorite/asteroid hit the moon and knocked it closer to the earth? All hell would break lose, that's what! This book tells the story of just that and a small family's struggle to survive the aftermath of an epic natural disaster. I really liked this book and can't wait to read the next in the series. Highly recommended if you love books that have post-apocalyptic themes. I'm a sucker for them!

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    I absolutly LOVED this series. It's my second favorite series next to harry potter. It was the best and i would recomend it to EVERYONE!!!!!!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    Offensive

    This book is very sad and depressing. I wouldn¿t recommend it. It also includes offensive political statements. I do not think politics belong in fiction books intend to be read by children. This book really offensive in many ways.

    13 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A great read for ages 11-15!!

    I really enjoyed this book. It really makes you thankful for all that you have and reminds you not to take it for granted! If you are looking for a generally quick read with lots of emotion, than this book is for you!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    A Thriller That Keeps You Thinking...

    This book really caught my attention. Miranda and her family were living a perfectly normal life until an asteroid hit the moon causing chaos and natural disasters all around the world. Millions or people are dying everyday. Imagine if one of your family member's name was on the Dead List? Imagine living with a handful or food to eat once a day. Brutal? This book is all about surging one day at a time. I liked how the events in the book were rrealistically written in diary entry forms from Miranda's point of view to get a good idea on what Miranda was thinking and feeling. However, I didn't like that there were so much tragedy and death. I recommend reading the rest of the series to know if they will survive in the end. If you like reading books that give you thrills and chills, this is the book for you.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Makes You Wonder - Could This Life Happen to You

    The novel Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer, appeals to a wide-ranged audience. In my opinion, anyone from a preteen girl to a young adult man would enjoy this story, but not distinvtly everyone in this category. It could also appeal to some people outside of it. This novel is definitely a must-read.
    Have you ever wondered what would happen if your whole world was flipped for the worse? That¿s exactly what happens to Miranda. When the moon suddenly becomes hundreds of miles closer to the Earth, things only go downhill. Stores close down, oil runs out, gas is limited, and winter comes much sooner than expected. For the first time, Miranda, her mother, and her two brothers, Matt and Jonny, are forced to do everything the old-fashioned way, regardless of their terrible condition.
    In my opinion, this book was written very well and gives you the feelings as if you were in Miranda¿s world. It truly makes you think, ¿Could this really happen?¿ or ¿What would I do if I was in her situation?¿ I think that Pfeffer did a wonderful job at giving you several questions to ask yourself as to what might happen next and builds suspense very well.
    In all, this novel was very interesting. I believe it is one of those books where every chapter you say to yourself, ¿Maybe I¿ll just read one more.¿ You won¿t want to put it down! It ends with a twist that you¿ll never be able to predict or ever see coming.
    There is absolutely a reason why I gave Life as We Knew It five stars out of a possible five, and when you read it, I bet that you¿ll agree, too. Susan Beth Pfeffer tries and succeeds at making the plot extremely organized and suspenseful. My final opinion is that the book can¿t be judges by its cover because I liked the cover, but I loved what was on the inside so much more!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Ick.

    If I could rate this book zero stars I would. This book was boring. It was fairly offensive to me, as a Christian, to see Miranda blaming everything on God. To make this book better, the author shouldn't have made it so grim. Three fourths of the characters either die or leave, so you don't get to see Miranda develop a relationship with anyone. I also read the second book, both books were required for summer reading, and disliked that one too. It may be that I took the book the wrong way, but that is just my opinion. I would not recommend this book to sensitive people, and definitely not to people with a weak stomach (mainly due to the second one). I wish I could've enjoyed this book better than I did.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great

    This book us great for anyone. It keeps you reading.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    unforgettable book; a must read

    The book 'Life As We Knew It' is an amazing, unforgettable book. I recommend it for someone who loves a book that has them on the edge of their seats; a thrilling, compelling story.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Life as we Knew it is about the life of a teenage girl Mira

    Life as we Knew it is about the life of a teenage girl Miranda Evans during an apocalypse. The setting is in Pennsylvania in present time. Miranda lives with her mom and two brothers, Matt and Johnny. Her dad and his fiancé, Lisa, are expecting a baby together. Miranda’s friends Samantha and Megan argue frequently. Nothing new. But when an asteroid hits the moon, life makes a turn for the worse. She and her family must quickly adapt to the apocalyptic conditions.
    For someone who doesn’t read science fiction often, I enjoyed this novel. The beginning was very slow. I thought that Miranda’s daily life before the asteroid disaster was very dull compared to the rest of the book. It was dull but it was tolerable and, fortunately, got a lot better. Things started to get interesting when her mother bought a big supply of groceries to prepare for the impact of the crisis. I enjoyed reading the journal entries with her thoughts and feelings about the the world coming to an end.
    I really enjoyed this book and I recommend it to teenagers who like to read science fiction and the apocalypse.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Can't stop reading!

    ¿In Mirandas world, something important happens. An asteriod hits the moon and knocks it out of its orbit, moving it closer to the Earth, causing natural disasters of all kinds. No one is prepared for this, as calculations had made bad estimates of the density of the asteriods. Miranda and her family have to find a way to survive.
    ¿ I enjoyed this book. I couldnt put it down, for I felt there was always a possibility the characters would die. I even foundmyself wondering what I would need if this happened to my family. Great read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Yo

    Yo

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    If you're looking for one of the best books of 2006, then look no further than Susan Beth Pfeffer's LIFE AS WE KNEW IT. A wonderful tale of family love, loss, and survival, this is one story that will stay with you long after you've turned the last page. There have been lots of changes in sixteen-year-old Miranda's life recently. Her older brother, Matt, is away at college. Her mom is still adjusting to being a divorced parent. Her younger brother, Jonny, is obsessed with baseball. And her dad and his new wife, Lisa, are expecting a baby. Dealing with all of that has been quite stressful, but Miranda's been thinking about getting back into ice-skating, and she's spending plenty of time mooning over her current hero/crush, Olympic-hopeful Brandon Erlich, a hometown hero. Miranda's also excited about the meteor that's headed towards the Moon. Some scientists predict a minor collision teachers predict plenty of extra homework dealing with the subjects of both Moon and meteors. For Miranda and her family, and for millions of others around the world, it simply sounds like a cool event you'll get to watch from your front yard through a pair of binoculars. What happens on that fateful night is something no one expected. The meteor does, in fact, collide with the Moon. However, the impact was stronger than anyone had previously thought possible, and immediately, all throughout planet Earth, the effects of that collision begin to be felt. Tides, which are controlled by the Moon, become erratic, causing deadly tidal waves. Fissures in the Earth's crust crack, causing earthquakes worldwide, even in places where no earthquakes had ever occurred before. Within twenty-four hours, it becomes apparent that thousands upon thousands of people have died, and that, with the Moon out of its normal orbit, many more deaths are sure to follow. This may sound like a depressing story, but in fact it's a story about hope and survival. LIFE AS WE KNEW IT follows Miranda and her family through nearly a year after the meteor's collision with the Moon, and all of the events that come after it--the power outages, the food shortages, the weather changes, and the loss of human contact. As Miranda and her family come to grips with this new way of living, their bodies and spirits will be tested more than they've ever been before. But this is ultimately a story about learning to survive with what you've got, and never taking what you have for granted. A wonderful, inspiring story, LIFE AS WE KNEW IT is one you'll want to read more than once. **Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka 'The Genius'

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Just finished

    Shocking ending love this flippin book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Oh My... JELLY

    Good read, really gets you hooked.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    After reading just a few pages, you won't be able to put this one down. It's scary at times but hopeful too.

    I have read a lot of books about the end of the world. I'm not a morbid person but deep, deep down I do believe that something horrible could happen to the world as we know it. Fires, earthquakes, tsunamis (oh my!).I had to toss that in there to lighten it up a bit. Anyway, with the weird weather patterns and the fear of a pandemic, Life As We Knew It is not all that farfetched. Really.

    After the moon's position is compromised by a meteor hit, Miranda and her family do their best to survive in a world that is completely different from what they're used to. There are lots of things that I liked about this novel so I thought I'd stray from my usual format and make a list:

    Miranda, at age 16, is very much a sixteen-year-old but emotionally strong when she needs to be.

    Miranda's mom is a sensible woman. I've read so many of these types of books where the mom is just the stereotypical "mom" and lacks any kind of common sense. Not the case here.

    The family works together as a unit and it's believable.

    The other characters are actually important to the story and not just there to create conflict.

    Pfeffer paints a realistic picture of what could happen given such a catastrophe. These characters are hungry and you feel it. As Miranda longs for a hot shower, you are reminded of how wonderful hot water can be. I mentioned above that it's scary at times, scary as in "This could happen!"

    Even though the subject matter is grim, there is a strong sense of hope throughout the story. This is incredibly hard to do but Pfeffer does it effortlessly.

    Since this is a young adult book, I could easily see a teenager reading this and really thinking about how good they have it. As an adult, I know I spent many moments pondering what was on the page.

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I expected it to be a page-turner, but I didn't expect to care about the characters as much as I did and I didn't expect to think about it days after reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 825 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 42