Customer Reviews for

Life As We Knew It (Life As We Knew It Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 816 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(186)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

AAD thinks man oh man, this book was great!

Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the...
Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the Earth. After the meteor crashes, the ¿normal¿ way of life completely changes for everyone. There are catastrophes all around the world, like sickness, food shortages, and many natural disasters. Miranda has to let go of almost everything that she is used to, and she and her family have to struggle every day just to survive. I really love this book because it is written in Miranda¿s diary entries and it felt so real. Sometimes, I even felt like I was struggling along with the characters in the story. The only thing that disappointed me a little was the ending. But oh well, the rest of the book was great!

posted by A_IS_AMAZING on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Really scared me.

I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big m...
I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big mistake.

The events in the book really scared me and it still scares me to think about it. Also, from what I've heard, the books only get more terrifying as the series continues. I would not recommend this book to any kids who are under fifteen. That may sound ridiculous, and maybe if your child is very strong emotionally and doesn't get scared, you could let them read it at a younger age. But if your child is even the least bit easy to scare, for lack of a better word, I would not recommend this book. Take it from somebody who read it at a young age and has been scarred by it every since.

posted by readingballerina99 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good but just not for me

    The story is centered around sixteen-year-old Miranda's life after a meteor crashes into the Moon. Life as they knew it would never be the same. The collision pushes the Moon closer to Earth and causes tidal waves, earthquakes, volcanoes, etc.Thousands are dead within the first 24 hours and the numbers just keep rising as the book continues. Power outages as well as food, water, and fuel shortages all create a platform for the chaos that ensues.

    The story is told through journal entries where Miranda describes her life and the fate of her town over the course of a year. Miranda is living with her mother and two brothers (one older and one younger). Her father and his new pregnant wife live in another state (which is a cause for concern for Miranda throughout the story).

    To be honest the book is sort of scary in a way. It portrays a fairly realistic glimpse of how people would react if food and resources were suddenly scarce. For most people who read this book, this realistic portrayal will be what makes them love it. The constant death and destruction soon left me feeling depressed whenever I picked the book up.

    This book was pretty good. It has a good message behind it: "Appreciate what you have, because tomorrow it could be gone." But it was also kind of depressing. I recommend you flip through this one before you buy it. I will probably read the second and third books when I get around to it so I guess I liked it enough to do that. I hope this review is helpful! :)

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Wrong....

    First of all the fact that she blamed everything on God bugged me ALOT eh it was pretty sad at the end it kinda left u hanging the only thing i didnt like was the part was she was alwas complaining like there was nothing to be thankful for and i found alot in her case the rest was very good just dont believe what she thinks about God.

    19 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Write right11

    This book was a very suspenceful novel. I injoyed the way the aother wrote this in a teens point of view. I found this book to have a slow and a little boring of a story line. It lead you thru the stuggles of a teens family to surrive thru natral disasters and hunger and also illness. Mrainda, the main carachter started leading a normal life in modern times . Then when a gigantic meteor hits the moon closer to earth. At first it was very fast paced then it slowed down to a shuttery crawl discribing mraindas every day life with little to no food. *WARNING* i thoght this book was edited by a five or six year old there was MANY mistakes , simple little ones like a random letter in the middle of a sentence. All in all i thought this book was ok, but it could have used a little more action. The books theme was a very good idea though.

    I recammened this book to 13-16 year olds some parts can be scary for younger children

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    The book Life as We Knew It is written by Susan Beth Pfeffer. Th

    The book Life as We Knew It is written by Susan Beth Pfeffer. This book is not about your average story like in most books. This book is about a normal life of a normal girl until the accident happened then her life got turned upside down.
    The book follows the life of a normal girl named Miranda; well it was normal until one day an incident happened that was so catastrophic that Miranda’s life went from being nowhere near normal. It all starts when a meteorite impacts the moon which pushes the moon closer to earth and changes the weather drastically. Now Miranda and her family must survive through a world in chaos that will never be the same.
    I decided to rate this book with 3 stars due to the exciting beginning but boring middle. It is really not a horrible book but some people like me just do not like these kinds of books. It is also weird to think that this could actually happen in real life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Life As We Knew It is just OK Life As We Knew It, gives you an

    Life As We Knew It is just OK

    Life As We Knew It, gives you an idea of what life would be like for a suburban area if a giant disaster were to occur. Susan Beth Pfeffer does a pretty good job of describing the losses and horrors a teenage girl and her family goes through. As troubles increase you start to value the little things in life that you take for granted on a daily basis. However, there are a few parts that just drag along slowly. On the other hand, at quite a few parts you will want to finish it up in one night!
    The characters of Life As We Knew It include Miranda, her mother, Johnny, Matt, Mrs. Nesbitt, Dad, and Lisa. This book is told from Miranda’s, a teenage girl whose parents are separated, point of view. It starts out as an ordinary day in Pennsylvania and Miranda sits in class talking about the asteroid rumored to hit the moon that night. As they watched outside they heard neighbors scream or cheer when the asteroid collided into the moon, because it pushed the moon towards Earth. Connections with the outside world started to become tough and with deaths of people close to her, Miranda becomes very humble and develops a close relationship with her mother. While still not knowing how her Dad and his new wife Lisa’s new baby is, Miranda, Johnny, Matt, and their mother seek each other for advice and comfort.
    This book had potential at first but is not the best book I have read in this genre before. I am fascinated with Sci-fi and mystery novels but this book did not fully live up to my expectations. However, I have also read Susan’s book, The Dead and The Gone, and I thought that Life As We Knew It was overall more interesting and well written compared to the other.
    In conclusion, this book is a true three of five stars in my charts. I would probably read it again but as a last resort. If I had a better book though, I would read that first then maybe if I had time I’d read Pfeffer’s novel. I think what made it better was that it was told from a girl’s point of view so I was able to relate to some things in her life.
    Overall, this was a decent book. I only gave it three stars because it was okay. I don’t think it’s a bad book but it just isn’t my favorite. I would suggest this to people who are bored and want a book to read, not caring whether it will grip them or not. Good luck if you choose this book, and happy reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Life as We Knew It is amost aweful

    This book was to entertain us about if the moon was hit by an asteroid. I thought that the book was not interesting enough to keep the reader’s attention.
    Description and summary of main points
    This book was set in the past t at Miranda’s house. The book starts with her parents being divorce and she is becoming the godmother of her dad’s wife’s baby. Then an asteroid hits the moon and moves it closer to earth. They make it to the store to buy everything they need. Miranda is also willing to hopefully continue her wanting to ice skate by meeting the one person that she looks up to and wants to be like. This guy is a professional ice skater; he is on posters that are covering her room. Then one day their dad visits and brings food before they get even more things from their neighbor that didn’t make it through the storm. The strange question is will they make it through or fall like their neighbor did. Most of the main characters that are attempting to survive with her are her mother and father, Matt and John her brothers, Lisa her step mom, Peter her step dad, and Sammy, Dan and Megan her friends. It takes place most of the story at Miranda’s house. It is also in the past. This book is rated a three star at good. That is all the rating that I would give it. If u read this book and like it there are two sequels to it. The sequels are the Dead and the Gone and This World We Live In. I have read the Dead and the Gone but I understood the story of this one more. This book was only a 3 star because eat first it was confusing and it didn’t keep my attention. This book could have been better if it made the reader want to not put it down. It also blamed god for the problems which I don’t think is right.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Interesting book

    This book to me was good. It was half good/ bad. In my opinion, i think the ending should have been better and more exciting. And also, i didnt like when she blamed everything on god. But, if you do like to read, this is a good book! But thats just my opinion.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    3 and a half actually

    Good book but not ro exciting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth reading!

    I wasn't sure at first if I liked this story. I didn't understand what message the author was trying to send. Eventually the characters grew on me and I enjoyed the book. I didn't really agree that people would act the way they did in disaster circumstances. I will read the sequel.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    I was worried at the start that this would be too YA for me but

    I was worried at the start that this would be too YA for me but despite it’s YA moments (AKA “mom loves Johnny more”) it’s a very interesting book. Describing how life changes as the world comes to an end through a journal really brought the story home. It seemed a bit strange that everyone was taking it so well at the beginning and even days after it happened there wasn’t mass panic. That seemed a bit unrealistic to me but otherwise I think it was a very good tale. The rest of the books might not at the top of my “to read” list but the rest of they are definitely on it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Just OK

    I was expecting the characters to experience more rather than the story focusing on being stuck at home starving. Too many loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Anoymounous

    Thus book i awesome! It tells what is in the future

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Looks good.

    I have not gotten this yet. It looks really good though. However I hate when I'm reading all these reviews and then hit one that says the opposite of it. I know some people said its scary. For you guys who loved it, would it be appropriate for a 12 year old?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    Good SciFi Read!

    This book is a great solid read. In a nutshell its about a 16 year old girl whos name is Miranada. She is living a normal life with her Mom and 2 brothers, Johnny and Matt. Her mom and Dad got divorced before the story and the Dad remarried Lisa. In the beginning of the story they hear that a meteor will crash into the moon. Little meteors crash into the moon everyday so they didnt expect this to make a big impact. But they were wrong, it changed life as they knew it. Countries were destroyed by tsunamis, earthquakes, volcano eruptions etc. Its errie reading this and taking in the fact that this is possible and can happen at anytime. After the meteor strike everyone was fighting for survival. The story is told via Mirandas Diary and tells day by day on how they survived. It was a great read that makes you realize that anything is possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Life as we Knew it is a book written by a girl about the way sh

    Life as we Knew it is a book written by a girl about the way she experiences life. In the beginning of this book everyone is talking about this big event that’s going to happen soon. This book is intended for middle school students or older. In my opinion this book was pretty good there were some parts that could get boring but other than that it was ok.
    I mentioned early there was a big event they were talking in the beginning of the book. That event was an asteroid that scientist targeted and said it was going to hit the moon. This book talks a lot about how this one family deals with everything that will happen.
    Miranda and her little brother Johnny have a pretty fair life until the asteroid hits the moon. Their family was just like any other normal family of course with their big brother away at college. He comes home to his family the next day after the moon incident. All the way up until the middle of the book everything that happens is mandible then things get crazy. This book does have to other mates to it. Those books are called The Dead and the Gone, and This World we Live in.
    Life as we Knew it is a book that involves a family talking about how they deal with their life through all the madness with the moon incident. They try and deal with everything but eventually it gets to a point where they see no point in why anyone would want to live any longer. At the end though they do have something extremely good happen. This book was an ok book.
    To me Life as we Knew it was ok. I only gave it three and a half stars because some points in the book could be really boring. The chapters were really long in the beginning but towards the end they started to get shorter which I was glad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Check It Out!

    Introduction It starts off with a sixteen year old girl that is writing in her diary. Her name is Maranda and her parents are divorced and she lives with her dad she loves to ice skate. The moon got hit by a meteor and it is coming and the moon keeps getting closer to the earth.

    Description and summary of main points Sixteen year old Maranda is living in northeast Pennsylvania. She is a sensitive teenager with struggles in her life. Her parents are divorced and lives with her dad and step mother which her step mother has a baby on the way. She tells the story from her diary and it talks about the moon getting hit by a meteor and it is getting closer to earth’s orbit. It also talks about their survival to live near the coast or near a volcano but they have had little earthquakes but it does affect people around her.

    Evaluation I did not really like the book to much but I really never like any book. I do not like reading it always makes me sleepy and gives me a headache. I like the the story involves space to in the story I am really fascinated in space. I think that it is cool that the author had such a creative mind that instead of a meteor hitting earth it hits the moon and the moon goes towards earth.

    Conclusion She finally went outside. She was about to die that there was snow. It made her so happy that she now knows that they can go outside to get some food.

    Your final review I really did not like it. I really don’t like a lot of books but it was a ok book. I really did not hat it but I disliked it. It was not that bad of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    check it out!!

    Introduction
    This story is about a girl named Miranda’s life on the moon falls out of its orbit. The moon comes closer to the earth. They all carried food and supplies to her house.
    Description and summary of main point
    In Miranda’s journal she writes about her whole life and what happened with the moon. Miranda finds out how hard it is to try to buy food for all the family. All of Miranda’s life fades away as the super marketers run out of food and the gases go up.

    Evaluation
    I thought that it was very well written I loved the story it was very intresting. They made the whole story about one subject. I would love to read more about the story but different things.
    Conclusion
    The book was very good it was all about lisa having a baby and Miranda doing skating lessons. Were they have the baby they don’t know if they can have a baby and do that also.
    Your final review
    My final review is that this story was really good book. She was telling about a lot of interesting ideas and that she gave me a good idea of what she was talking about in her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Life as we knew it is great book about a family coming together

    Life as we knew it is great book about a family coming together to survive. Miranda is the main charter in this book she is a 16 year old teenager that is a sophem she lives in Pennsylvania. With her two brothers and her best friends are Megan and Sammy. They try to survie because of the meter hitting the earth making it closer to the earth. Everyone starts to freak thinking the world is going to come to a end. Description and summary of main point Miranda ‘s friend Megan is the religious one she gets into a lot fights with her friend Sammy. Sammy is the one that likes to have fun and she dates a lot of guys. Jonny is her younger brother her older brother is Matt. With everything going on in Miranda’s life she goes on living the why she did. Starts to date the guys that she liked his name is Danny. While her family is trying to get all kinds of food from the stores so it will last them. During this there is people that dies they were close to them.

    Evaluation My opinion about this book is that it’s a very sad book and has a lot of inserting things that happen in it. It show how one thing can change your life. It has a lot of main points it derscribes the events that happen. This is a very sad book and has moments that you just want to cry. It has moments where they all came together to survive and help each other.

    Conclusion My conclusion is that there were a lot of things that happen in this book. It has a very sad and shocking ending. I don’t know what I would have done if I was in her place. Miranda is a very strong girl she stay together through out everything that was going in her life. She helped her family when they need it. When they were running out of money for food she put herself last.

    Your final review I gave this book a three out of five. The reason why is that there were a lot of boring parts in the chapter but near the end it got good. It has a lot of sad and heart breaking moments in it. It made my feel so thankful for what I have because I would never want to be in situation like that in my life. Special when it was during the last year of High School. That is why I give this book three out of five



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Life As We Knew It is about a teenage girl named Miranda Evans



    Life As We Knew It is about a teenage girl named Miranda Evans and her family. To stay alive, the Evans family must live in their house to survive during the world’s hard times. In this very detailed book, it will keep you wondering if this kind of unrealistic situation and chaos could actually happen. Miranda is forced to face the most difficult challenges she never would’ve thought about until now. This book will surely entertain you and wanting you to read more.


    Life is normal for Miranda until a meteor hits the moon. This unexpected disaster causes major weather and environmental problems throughout the entire world. The book talks about what life was like for Miranda and her family during this chaotic time. She strongly details everything in her journal.

    I would rate this book three out of five stars. The book kind of went into too much detail at some points, which often became boring to read. However, it was interesting because it kept you thinking if this kind of world crisis really could happen. Also, it keeps you thinking and wondering what is going to happen next.


    Winter time was when I thought was the most exciting because it was the most difficult season. A major problem occurs when they start to run out of food. They don’t know if things will ever go back to normal by the month of December. This is when the book becomes the most interesting.


    I most likely would recommend this book to anyone. The thing I don’t like is how the chapters go by really slow. At some points it wouldn’t be that interesting, but at some parts in the book it actually caught my attention. Overall, this book is pretty good to read when you have spare time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Life as we Knew It is an entertaining novel. It mainly focuses o

    Life as we Knew It is an entertaining novel. It mainly focuses on Miranda and her family trying to survive. The book is set up as a journal from Miranda’s prospective. The author of this book is Susan Beth Pfeffer. This book is set out for mainly middle school students to read and enjoy.This book was told from Miranda’s point of view. She would write down the date and describe what happened that day in her journal. The biggest, most important point in the book would be when the meteor hits the moon and causes the moon to be closer to the Earth and cause a lot of damage to the world. They have trouble finding food and they have no electricity. The weather is crazy and there are many rare natural disasters happening around the world. I would give this book three out of five stars. Although this was a great book, it didn’t hold my interest very well, it was hard to continue to read when the climax happened so early in the novel. Overall this book was pretty good and somewhat interesting. I would recommend this book to students in middle school. The most important part was when the meteor hit the moon. It caused deaths, food loss, etc. Everything was a tragedy and it was very hard to survive. The story ended with me wondering what was going to happen next. I know if this happened to me I would be devastated. I thought this book was pretty interesting and a great easy read. If you are in middle school and enjoy books about basically survival and natural disasters this would be a great book for you. I read it in about two weeks but I stopped in between. I would give this novel three out of five stars. Only because I don’t read very much, I like when the books are shorter and about different things. Other than that this is a great book for middle school students and I am sure you will enjoy this entertaining novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6