Customer Reviews for

Life As We Knew It (Life As We Knew It Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 825 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(446)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

AAD thinks man oh man, this book was great!

Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the...
Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the Earth. After the meteor crashes, the ¿normal¿ way of life completely changes for everyone. There are catastrophes all around the world, like sickness, food shortages, and many natural disasters. Miranda has to let go of almost everything that she is used to, and she and her family have to struggle every day just to survive. I really love this book because it is written in Miranda¿s diary entries and it felt so real. Sometimes, I even felt like I was struggling along with the characters in the story. The only thing that disappointed me a little was the ending. But oh well, the rest of the book was great!

posted by A_IS_AMAZING on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

Really scared me.

I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big m...
I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big mistake.

The events in the book really scared me and it still scares me to think about it. Also, from what I've heard, the books only get more terrifying as the series continues. I would not recommend this book to any kids who are under fifteen. That may sound ridiculous, and maybe if your child is very strong emotionally and doesn't get scared, you could let them read it at a younger age. But if your child is even the least bit easy to scare, for lack of a better word, I would not recommend this book. Take it from somebody who read it at a young age and has been scarred by it every since.

posted by readingballerina99 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A great read for ages 11-15!!

    I really enjoyed this book. It really makes you thankful for all that you have and reminds you not to take it for granted! If you are looking for a generally quick read with lots of emotion, than this book is for you!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Life as we Knew it is about the life of a teenage girl Mira

    Life as we Knew it is about the life of a teenage girl Miranda Evans during an apocalypse. The setting is in Pennsylvania in present time. Miranda lives with her mom and two brothers, Matt and Johnny. Her dad and his fiancé, Lisa, are expecting a baby together. Miranda’s friends Samantha and Megan argue frequently. Nothing new. But when an asteroid hits the moon, life makes a turn for the worse. She and her family must quickly adapt to the apocalyptic conditions.
    For someone who doesn’t read science fiction often, I enjoyed this novel. The beginning was very slow. I thought that Miranda’s daily life before the asteroid disaster was very dull compared to the rest of the book. It was dull but it was tolerable and, fortunately, got a lot better. Things started to get interesting when her mother bought a big supply of groceries to prepare for the impact of the crisis. I enjoyed reading the journal entries with her thoughts and feelings about the the world coming to an end.
    I really enjoyed this book and I recommend it to teenagers who like to read science fiction and the apocalypse.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    After reading just a few pages, you won't be able to put this one down. It's scary at times but hopeful too.

    I have read a lot of books about the end of the world. I'm not a morbid person but deep, deep down I do believe that something horrible could happen to the world as we know it. Fires, earthquakes, tsunamis (oh my!).I had to toss that in there to lighten it up a bit. Anyway, with the weird weather patterns and the fear of a pandemic, Life As We Knew It is not all that farfetched. Really.

    After the moon's position is compromised by a meteor hit, Miranda and her family do their best to survive in a world that is completely different from what they're used to. There are lots of things that I liked about this novel so I thought I'd stray from my usual format and make a list:

    Miranda, at age 16, is very much a sixteen-year-old but emotionally strong when she needs to be.

    Miranda's mom is a sensible woman. I've read so many of these types of books where the mom is just the stereotypical "mom" and lacks any kind of common sense. Not the case here.

    The family works together as a unit and it's believable.

    The other characters are actually important to the story and not just there to create conflict.

    Pfeffer paints a realistic picture of what could happen given such a catastrophe. These characters are hungry and you feel it. As Miranda longs for a hot shower, you are reminded of how wonderful hot water can be. I mentioned above that it's scary at times, scary as in "This could happen!"

    Even though the subject matter is grim, there is a strong sense of hope throughout the story. This is incredibly hard to do but Pfeffer does it effortlessly.

    Since this is a young adult book, I could easily see a teenager reading this and really thinking about how good they have it. As an adult, I know I spent many moments pondering what was on the page.

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I expected it to be a page-turner, but I didn't expect to care about the characters as much as I did and I didn't expect to think about it days after reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent science fiction

    Excellent science fiction from an excellent writer. I can only hope this is made into a movie. If you like 'The Road' you will probably enjoy this immensely. Totally believable from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    I love apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic fiction almost as much a

    I love apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic fiction almost as much as I love the subject of the impending zombie apocalypse.  Life As We Knew It is intended for young adults.  It is set up as the diary entries of a girl named Miranda.  The dying, the horror and the bloodshed that would be sure to happen during this type of apocalypse are only hinted at.  The main focus of this apocalyptic novel is a teenage girl dealing with being a teenage girl in the midst of a disaster.  Miranda is attempting to deal with her parents being divorced, her father’s new wife having a baby, her brother away at college and whether or not she is going to take skating lessons again.  And, oh yeah, the moon has been knocked into a closer orbit, causing freak weather, erratic tides and electrical storms, meaning Life As We Knew It is over.  Pfeffer’s novel is excellent and I highly recommend it.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Great read!

    In this book, the author explores the idea that a meteor hit the moon and knocked it into a closer orbit. Food becomes scarce, millions die, and communications fail as the plot moves on. While you could argue that a TINY rock from space hitting the moon and drastically changing its orbit is against the laws of physics, the author wants to show what would happen and not demonstrate breaking simple laws of physics. My rating for this book is 4.5 stars ( A-). So buy this book and enjoy!
    --Please leave a comment at the bottom of your review telling me if you thought this was helpful-- -MRD15 Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Cindynut

    Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Life as we Knew it is a fictional book about a girl going throu

    Life as we Knew it is a fictional book about a girl going through hard times. This book was written for middle school students who want to be entertained with a book about apocalyptic scenarios. I thought that this was an overall good book, but I will say it is very dark and depressing at many times.

    The events that happen take place because of an asteroid knocking the moon closer to the Earth’s orbit. I am giving this book only four stars because I personally don’t like apocalyptic themes.
    Miranda is a normal teenage girl in eighth grade. She lives with her mom and little brother Johnny, eventually her older brother Matt comes home. Her parents are divorced and her dad lives far away with his second wife, named Lisa who is pregnant. Events such as massive floods, earthquakes, extreme weather, and endless volcanoes take place. When phone lines and postal service start becoming unreliable they face the challenge of communication. The Author really did a nice job describing the seriousness of the situation going on around Miranda, and made you realize that this can’t be undone easily. If you liked this book the author continued the series with two more books. These books are titled The Dead and the Gone and This World we Live in.

    Life As We Knew It is a fictional story in which a girl must fight for her life after massive changes occur to her everyday life. Her and her family must learn to stay together in order to survive in a world where death looms at every corner waiting to take its next victim. Every day presents a new task or challenge and they all have to face the reality that life as they knew it will never be the same.

    I gave this book four out of five stars for many reasons. Some good this about this book is that there are many details which make a vivid image in your mind. Also the book is very organized and I found it very easy to follow. I like how she made it as lifelike as possible. Reasons that I didn’t like this book are because it’s very depressing and I don’t like that type of writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I give this book four out of five stars. I thought that it was a

    I give this book four out of five stars. I thought that it was a very interesting story, however it was easy to figure out. Over all I would recommend this book to teenagers who don’t really know what they have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    ¿Life As We Knew It¿ is an exciting and fun book about

    “Life As We Knew It” is an exciting and fun book about an asteroid that crashes into the moon and changes Miranda and her families’ lives forever. I found this book to be a great novel for almost anyone. The plot of the book was well thought out and interesting. Miranda and her family fight for survival as the life they once knew so well is rapidly changing. The moon tragedy is the cause to many different natural disasters. The outcome of the Earth after this incident is devastating. Miranda has to fight through many changes as she watches over herself and her mother. Her father and his newly pregnant wife are also sacrificing the majority of their daily necessities to keep each other alive. Her two brothers also pitch in to help, but will that be enough? The book was over-all I great novel to read once you get to the fun and enjoyable detailed parts. On the other hand, before you can finally reach that point, you have to go through a long expedition that could have possibly been shortened to keep the reader on the edge of their seat. Finally, this book is all around well written. All books have their flaws, and this one just seems to be a bit of a drawn out expedition. The author did a good job of entertaining me as I flew through the pages of this breathtaking novel. I would recommend this book to almost anyone who wants to read an enjoyable and cleverly constructed piece of literature like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    After reading this your life may not be the same!!

    The book starts off as any normal day for everyone. The town where Miranda lives in, and all over the world, are very excited about the lunar eclipse that is scheduled to happen. Little do they know that after this, their lives will be changed forever. While everyone was sitting outside waiting on the eclipse, the worst possible thing happens, something went wrong with the eclipse and somehow it brought the moon closer to the earth. At first no one all over the world expected this to be such a bad thing. Only a couple days after this event everyone became devistated. Natural disaster's happened all over the world, killing many people. Gas prices were raised as high as thirty five dollars per three gallons, and the food supply was very limited. Miranda, her two brothers, mom, mom's boyfriend, and her neighbor all stuck together and tried to surive this astronomical event. There was only about a hand full of people left in Miranda's town due to everyone getting sick and not being able to surive. Towards the end of the book through many hardship's and struggles Miranda and her family are one of the few families that survive by the government's assistance. The book never tells you the long term effects of what or what does not happen to Miranda and her family.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A Fun Book

    This book is written in diary format, so it is a really quick read. IN fact, I couldn't put it down, I kept telling myself "one more entry..." I read this book for entertainment purposes, but came away appreciating all of the things that we tend to take for granted: showers, food, and warmth. The writer handles the girl's perspective/narrative really well and I think teenagers and adults will enjoy the story. I described the book to my friends as " Anne Frank meets 2012."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Wow

    Great start to this series...ill definitely read the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    To all

    Theres a stripclub at kdv all res ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Horringly good.

    I highly reccommend this. It was chilling and gripping, just trying to imagine this story as a reality. It was very well written and a page turner, for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Loved the book, not the political & religious statements

    Excellent book and I plan on reading book 2 in the series. However, if Ms. Pfeffer continues her political sniping and atheistic comments in book 2, I probably won't read the remainder of the series. Maybe she considers it integral to the storylines, but, to me, it's just pettiness.

    Stick with your excellent writing skills and forget the political and religious barbs (they all sound personal anyway and not particularly related to the storyline).

    In the beginning, I was going to recommend this book to my many grandchildren - not any longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Good

    Good but a little boring. Relp to Smlies and tell me what u think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    A very good book! I read it years ago only to discover there are

    A very good book! I read it years ago only to discover there are more in the series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Excellent!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Easy read, very suspensful and kept you reading til the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    n NO not vw Ery good grammer

    I love the plot of the book and the susspense it gives but there are a lot of grammer mistakes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10