Customer Reviews for

Life As We Knew It (Life As We Knew It Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 824 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(445)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(105)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

AAD thinks man oh man, this book was great!

Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the...
Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the Earth. After the meteor crashes, the ¿normal¿ way of life completely changes for everyone. There are catastrophes all around the world, like sickness, food shortages, and many natural disasters. Miranda has to let go of almost everything that she is used to, and she and her family have to struggle every day just to survive. I really love this book because it is written in Miranda¿s diary entries and it felt so real. Sometimes, I even felt like I was struggling along with the characters in the story. The only thing that disappointed me a little was the ending. But oh well, the rest of the book was great!

posted by A_IS_AMAZING on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Really scared me.

I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big m...
I first read this book when I was nine, and it still scares me to even think about it. When I first read it, I was so young that it didn't really register to me about the things that were happening in the book, so I was fine. But I read it again when I was ten - big mistake.

The events in the book really scared me and it still scares me to think about it. Also, from what I've heard, the books only get more terrifying as the series continues. I would not recommend this book to any kids who are under fifteen. That may sound ridiculous, and maybe if your child is very strong emotionally and doesn't get scared, you could let them read it at a younger age. But if your child is even the least bit easy to scare, for lack of a better word, I would not recommend this book. Take it from somebody who read it at a young age and has been scarred by it every since.

posted by readingballerina99 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 445 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AAD thinks man oh man, this book was great!

    Oh my gosh; Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite books ever! This book is about a 16-year-old girl named Miranda who lives a normal life for a teenager. Everything is going well in her life, and it¿s all good. But all of this changes one night when a meteor hits the moon and knocks it closer in orbit to the Earth. After the meteor crashes, the ¿normal¿ way of life completely changes for everyone. There are catastrophes all around the world, like sickness, food shortages, and many natural disasters. Miranda has to let go of almost everything that she is used to, and she and her family have to struggle every day just to survive. I really love this book because it is written in Miranda¿s diary entries and it felt so real. Sometimes, I even felt like I was struggling along with the characters in the story. The only thing that disappointed me a little was the ending. But oh well, the rest of the book was great!

    58 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Solid Read

    What would happen if a meteorite/asteroid hit the moon and knocked it closer to the earth? All hell would break lose, that's what! This book tells the story of just that and a small family's struggle to survive the aftermath of an epic natural disaster. I really liked this book and can't wait to read the next in the series. Highly recommended if you love books that have post-apocalyptic themes. I'm a sucker for them!

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!

    I absolutly LOVED this series. It's my second favorite series next to harry potter. It was the best and i would recomend it to EVERYONE!!!!!!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    A Thriller That Keeps You Thinking...

    This book really caught my attention. Miranda and her family were living a perfectly normal life until an asteroid hit the moon causing chaos and natural disasters all around the world. Millions or people are dying everyday. Imagine if one of your family member's name was on the Dead List? Imagine living with a handful or food to eat once a day. Brutal? This book is all about surging one day at a time. I liked how the events in the book were rrealistically written in diary entry forms from Miranda's point of view to get a good idea on what Miranda was thinking and feeling. However, I didn't like that there were so much tragedy and death. I recommend reading the rest of the series to know if they will survive in the end. If you like reading books that give you thrills and chills, this is the book for you.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Makes You Wonder - Could This Life Happen to You

    The novel Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer, appeals to a wide-ranged audience. In my opinion, anyone from a preteen girl to a young adult man would enjoy this story, but not distinvtly everyone in this category. It could also appeal to some people outside of it. This novel is definitely a must-read.
    Have you ever wondered what would happen if your whole world was flipped for the worse? That¿s exactly what happens to Miranda. When the moon suddenly becomes hundreds of miles closer to the Earth, things only go downhill. Stores close down, oil runs out, gas is limited, and winter comes much sooner than expected. For the first time, Miranda, her mother, and her two brothers, Matt and Jonny, are forced to do everything the old-fashioned way, regardless of their terrible condition.
    In my opinion, this book was written very well and gives you the feelings as if you were in Miranda¿s world. It truly makes you think, ¿Could this really happen?¿ or ¿What would I do if I was in her situation?¿ I think that Pfeffer did a wonderful job at giving you several questions to ask yourself as to what might happen next and builds suspense very well.
    In all, this novel was very interesting. I believe it is one of those books where every chapter you say to yourself, ¿Maybe I¿ll just read one more.¿ You won¿t want to put it down! It ends with a twist that you¿ll never be able to predict or ever see coming.
    There is absolutely a reason why I gave Life as We Knew It five stars out of a possible five, and when you read it, I bet that you¿ll agree, too. Susan Beth Pfeffer tries and succeeds at making the plot extremely organized and suspenseful. My final opinion is that the book can¿t be judges by its cover because I liked the cover, but I loved what was on the inside so much more!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great

    This book us great for anyone. It keeps you reading.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    unforgettable book; a must read

    The book 'Life As We Knew It' is an amazing, unforgettable book. I recommend it for someone who loves a book that has them on the edge of their seats; a thrilling, compelling story.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Can't stop reading!

    ¿In Mirandas world, something important happens. An asteriod hits the moon and knocks it out of its orbit, moving it closer to the Earth, causing natural disasters of all kinds. No one is prepared for this, as calculations had made bad estimates of the density of the asteriods. Miranda and her family have to find a way to survive.
    ¿ I enjoyed this book. I couldnt put it down, for I felt there was always a possibility the characters would die. I even foundmyself wondering what I would need if this happened to my family. Great read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Yo

    Yo

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    If you're looking for one of the best books of 2006, then look no further than Susan Beth Pfeffer's LIFE AS WE KNEW IT. A wonderful tale of family love, loss, and survival, this is one story that will stay with you long after you've turned the last page. There have been lots of changes in sixteen-year-old Miranda's life recently. Her older brother, Matt, is away at college. Her mom is still adjusting to being a divorced parent. Her younger brother, Jonny, is obsessed with baseball. And her dad and his new wife, Lisa, are expecting a baby. Dealing with all of that has been quite stressful, but Miranda's been thinking about getting back into ice-skating, and she's spending plenty of time mooning over her current hero/crush, Olympic-hopeful Brandon Erlich, a hometown hero. Miranda's also excited about the meteor that's headed towards the Moon. Some scientists predict a minor collision teachers predict plenty of extra homework dealing with the subjects of both Moon and meteors. For Miranda and her family, and for millions of others around the world, it simply sounds like a cool event you'll get to watch from your front yard through a pair of binoculars. What happens on that fateful night is something no one expected. The meteor does, in fact, collide with the Moon. However, the impact was stronger than anyone had previously thought possible, and immediately, all throughout planet Earth, the effects of that collision begin to be felt. Tides, which are controlled by the Moon, become erratic, causing deadly tidal waves. Fissures in the Earth's crust crack, causing earthquakes worldwide, even in places where no earthquakes had ever occurred before. Within twenty-four hours, it becomes apparent that thousands upon thousands of people have died, and that, with the Moon out of its normal orbit, many more deaths are sure to follow. This may sound like a depressing story, but in fact it's a story about hope and survival. LIFE AS WE KNEW IT follows Miranda and her family through nearly a year after the meteor's collision with the Moon, and all of the events that come after it--the power outages, the food shortages, the weather changes, and the loss of human contact. As Miranda and her family come to grips with this new way of living, their bodies and spirits will be tested more than they've ever been before. But this is ultimately a story about learning to survive with what you've got, and never taking what you have for granted. A wonderful, inspiring story, LIFE AS WE KNEW IT is one you'll want to read more than once. **Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka 'The Genius'

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Just finished

    Shocking ending love this flippin book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Oh My... JELLY

    Good read, really gets you hooked.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Shades of tthe moon!!!!!!!!!!

    The fourth book is coming in september!!!!!!!!
    Check out amazon if you dont believe me!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    ¿Life As We Know It¿ by Susan Beth Pfeffer is a suspenseful and

    “Life As We Know It” by Susan Beth Pfeffer is a suspenseful and mysterious book. The book “Life As We Know It” is a very detailed book to entertain readers about a 16-year old girl named Miranda and her family trying to survive an international disaster. It’s a great book to read from a girl’s point of view. It’s an inspiring and heartwarming story; it captured my mind in the first sentence. The book is vividly told from the first sentence to the resolution. The story began introducing the characters, 16 year old Miranda living with her divorced mother and little brother Johnny. Miranda is telling her story through her diary. Every day she writes in her diary and explains to the readers on what’s happening when the asteroid hits the moon. The moon was hit closer to the Earth causing tsunamis, earthquakes, and volcano eruptions killing everyone around her. Miranda trying to support her family and stay alive as well through the international disaster is an entertaining piece to read. Miranda life flashed before her eyes, her whole life changed forever. Overall, the book was very well written, but the beginning is quite slow and dull. The suspenseful and exciting parts start in the middle of the story. I enjoyed reading this it was very vivid and detailed book. “Life As We Know It” is a book of many genres mystery, loving, and romantic. I truly think whoever reads this book will never regret it. This book is very excellent story to read. I enjoyed reading every single word; I couldn’t put the book down in some parts. The book was interesting and exciting just to live through that time of disaster would be hard for me. I loved reading this magnificent and mysterious story. I will read this book over and over again. I loved every minute, and every part of the story. The author really swept me off my feet; I will definitely read more books written by this author. “Life As We Know It” is a well written and outstanding book to read. Every part will snatch you up, and never let you put the book down. This story about a 16 year old girl named Miranda trying to survive with her family through an international disaster is a suspenseful, and astonishing. I will definitely read this book, and more books written by this author. I would recommend this book to anybody who likes suspense, romantic, mystery, and heartwarming stories. This story took me off my feet. “Life As We Know It” is one best books I have ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    LOVE IT!!

    This book is an amazing book. If you enjoy a book that will leave on the edge of your seat, you will love this book. I read this book with my 6th grade class. all my friends loved it. It's been a year scence i read it, and i want to read it again! this book keeps you thinking. You'll get aggravated at the end of it because of how it ends, but it will keep you thinking.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    Both myself and my 10 year old son found this story intriguing. We kept thinking of ways we might have done differently. I love a story that is different, and not just a new take on an old theme.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Compelling

    This book is similar in theme to 'The Road' by Cormac McCarthy, but geared toward teen readers like me. Miranda is a typical high school teenager with the usual worries and concerns, until a world-wide disaster turns her life upside down. It's both fascinating and heart wrenching to see how Miranda and everyone around her cope with the drastic changes. Some cope fairly well, while others are mentally (and physically) destroyed by the unexpected upheaval. This is one of those novels that stay with you because of the intensity of the writing and story. Whether you're young or old, Life as We Knew It is a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Inspirational

    This book makes you put yourself in miranda's shoes... what would you do... is this even possible....
    It makes you want to hug your family and tell them you love them... I read this book in a day... you can't put it down!!! Highly recomend this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Amazing!!

    I read this book many years ago for a book report snd fell in love with it!! Absolutely wonderful, and just about scientifically accurate. Would definitely read again and again!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    This book is amazing

    I love this bookthe writer is genios and the plot is alwats turning its a great read for almoast any age !!!!!! I highly recomend it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 445 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23