BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life Code: The New Rules for Winning in the Real World

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

I am NOT a big Dr. Phil fan by any means, i think he can be toug

I am NOT a big Dr. Phil fan by any means, i think he can be tough on people and i think he can be a little smug but when my VP brought a couple of copies back from a trip
to Hollywood, I decided to read his latest book.  Let me say this and do what you want with it........
I am NOT a big Dr. Phil fan by any means, i think he can be tough on people and i think he can be a little smug but when my VP brought a couple of copies back from a trip
to Hollywood, I decided to read his latest book.  Let me say this and do what you want with it......this book is the most likely one I've read that  shares information that almost
seems to give you a peek behind the curtain.  He tells you who in your life is bad news and every person that reads this will identify someone that fits that  role and then a light 
goes off and you see the people in your life that matter and the ones that you HAVE to get rid of or they will use and abuse you.  
I read the other reviews and I'm afraid some folks don't know what trite means, because it ultimately means the overuse of a word or concept to the point that the word or concept
loses it's impact.  This book looks at toxic relationships but not necessarily romantic ones, just any relationship that is counterproductive and unbalanced and it makes you think.about who you can and should cut out of our life.  Again, this book is not trite, i believe that was someone using a term that aren't too familiar with, it is actually the complete opposite, it's new information that you have not heard and I found it fascinating.  
I still don't want to meet the guy but this book is one that should be mandatory reading for high school and college kids.  

posted by Millbrookmo on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Worst reading ever

Except for a few big words thrown into the mix I felt like reading a kindergarten book with those constant repeatitions and hints as do "us dumb readers". I disagree with most of his views and hope to god this world has more humanity to offer than what Dr. PHIL discribe...
Except for a few big words thrown into the mix I felt like reading a kindergarten book with those constant repeatitions and hints as do "us dumb readers". I disagree with most of his views and hope to god this world has more humanity to offer than what Dr. PHIL discribes this world we live in to be. Not impressed at all. Rather the opposite. Don't waist your money on this book, there are better one's out there!

posted by 8806084 on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I am NOT a big Dr. Phil fan by any means, i think he can be toug

    I am NOT a big Dr. Phil fan by any means, i think he can be tough on people and i think he can be a little smug but when my VP brought a couple of copies back from a trip
    to Hollywood, I decided to read his latest book.  Let me say this and do what you want with it......this book is the most likely one I've read that  shares information that almost
    seems to give you a peek behind the curtain.  He tells you who in your life is bad news and every person that reads this will identify someone that fits that  role and then a light 
    goes off and you see the people in your life that matter and the ones that you HAVE to get rid of or they will use and abuse you.  
    I read the other reviews and I'm afraid some folks don't know what trite means, because it ultimately means the overuse of a word or concept to the point that the word or concept
    loses it's impact.  This book looks at toxic relationships but not necessarily romantic ones, just any relationship that is counterproductive and unbalanced and it makes you think.about who you can and should cut out of our life.  Again, this book is not trite, i believe that was someone using a term that aren't too familiar with, it is actually the complete opposite, it's new information that you have not heard and I found it fascinating.  
    I still don't want to meet the guy but this book is one that should be mandatory reading for high school and college kids.  

    103 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Reading this book is as if Dr. Phil is talking directly to you!

    Reading this book is as if Dr. Phil is talking directly to you! I grew up being told working hard pays off, but didn't realize until reading Life Code that there is so much more I should be doing to make success happen for myself. Dr. Phil really dissects the world we live in today and how it differs from when our parents were raised. Those rules my mother and father taught me don't apply anymore.

    Also, there is a great chapter on parenting in the new real world. As a parent of a teen, it's hard to protect him cyber bullying and online dangers, but Dr. Phil addresses that. I highly recommend Life Code!

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Really makes you take a look at your life and realize all the ba

    Really makes you take a look at your life and realize all the bad you're letting in (the people taking advantage of you) and how you can create good in your life! Plus, it's refreshing to hear that all those nagging feelings I've had when I've questioned someone's motives are actually on point! Definitely a good, easy read and an eye opener!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    I saw Dr. Phil promoting his new book Life Code on FOX News last

    I saw Dr. Phil promoting his new book Life Code on FOX News last week. He said he wrote the book because he wanted to warn his granddaughters about the real evils in the world, and he wanted to give them life strategies for success and happiness.
    I agree with another reviewer who said Dr. Phil spent too much time in the first chapter telling you what he was going to teach you. I wanted to dive in; I was frustrated to get to the good stuff, but once the book got rolling, it had me in its grip.
    In the first half of the book, Dr. Phil teaches about the bad guys—how to spot and defeat them. As a Licensed Professional Counselor, I immediately recognized he was referring to certain personality disordered individuals—sociopaths, narcissists, and borderlines—without calling them that.  What’s unique is that he grouped all three into one type of person you would want to stay away from. He shared the clues about how to spot them and how to react once you know what you’re dealing with.
    Christians might have a problem with this, seeing every person as redeemable, but the truth is—and Dr. Phil compels readers to understand—is that there really are bad people in the world. People who want to cheat, hurt, and steal from you and your loved ones. Of course, these evil people are on a continuum. Not every sociopath wants to molest and kill you. Some just want your money. Or your spouse. The point is, these people do not have the ability to empathize like regular folks. They could care less who they hurt and you need to know these people are very real. They are not lurking around every corner, but it’s guaranteed you have bumped elbows with them.
    Dr. Phil describes how he took an inventory of every person who had hurt him in his lifetime. He hung pieces of paper all over the walls and used a colored marker to describe in detail what the offender’s strategy was, what tricks he used, how he came across, and how he got Dr. Phil to let down his guard. Once these were analyzed,  Dr. Phil saw a clear set of clues that should have been a warning.
    This book is all about showing readers those red flags.
    The second half of the book deals with rules for winning in the world. Dr. Phil covers everything from how to stop being a target, to how to behave in an argument. He gives tricks for negotiation, and rules for parenting in the modern world.
    The best aspect of this book is the real life examples Dr. Phil shares. Everyone would be wise to read this book.
    Life Code is published by Dr. Phil’s son, Jay McGraw’s, publishing company, Bird Street Books

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Speaking as a manager of personnel in a sales organization, Dr.

    Speaking as a manager of personnel in a sales organization, Dr. Phil's book, Life Code, has presented valuable insights that I am now using while interviewing perspective employees as well as evaluation of current employees. I highly recommend the book for everyone; I am using Life Code techniques with regard to every facet of my life.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Trite? Condescending? I've got to wonder if these folks actual

    Trite? Condescending? I've got to wonder if these folks actually read the book! This book helps one to recognize the sociopaths and users out there that can make your life miserable if you aren't able to recognize them for who they are. I wish our world was different. I wish that everyone I encountered in life was whole, compassionate and loving. Instead, I find way too many haters, too many folks that are so self-absorbed that others become invisible to them. Give me reality not rose-colored glasses! I don't want to waste another minute of my life trying to "fix" or "heal" someone that not only doesn't want help, but doesn't even know that they desparately need it.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    This book is fantastic! Written from Dr. Phil directly to the re

    This book is fantastic! Written from Dr. Phil directly to the reader in an honest, encouraging way. I learned so much about the people I need to remove from my life, how to negotiate for what I want, and then follow through to make sure what I want actually happens. Amazing that there hasn't been a book like this, before now!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Dr. Phil's REAL LIFE and LIFE CODE are MUST READS. While Dr. Phil's analysis is similar to my studies of Daniel Goleman's SOCIAL INTELLIGENCE and Marvin Fredman's THE NEED FOR LOVING ATTENTION, Dr. Phil gives exact guidance to overcome any obstacle, protect your child and protect your life. Mental Health in America was "cut" in the early 1990's when it was separated from Major Medical in order to cut costs. This has now cost our Nation dearly and created Community expense and jeopardized the "Safety of our Children's lives." Highly recommend this book at this time; it can and will "Protect Your Family."

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Highly recommend. 

    Highly recommend. 

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    For years, I have been a big fan of Dr. Phil's television progra

    For years, I have been a big fan of Dr. Phil's television program but I'm so sick of him plugging this book and his son and his son's publishing company that I could throw up.  I loved his "Family First" book so I ordered this one right away.  All I can say is that this is the perfect "how to" book for anyone who wants to be a "me first" person, with little concern for others and absolutely no humility.  There are a few good points but, overall, I would shudder to think what the world would be like if everyone followed the guidelines in this book.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Worst reading ever

    Except for a few big words thrown into the mix I felt like reading a kindergarten book with those constant repeatitions and hints as do "us dumb readers". I disagree with most of his views and hope to god this world has more humanity to offer than what Dr. PHIL discribes this world we live in to be. Not impressed at all. Rather the opposite. Don't waist your money on this book, there are better one's out there!

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    This was an okay book, easy to read, but it seemed like he repea

    This was an okay book, easy to read, but it seemed like he repeated so many things that you just wanted him to get to the point. I like Dr. Phil and his shows, but I guess I wouldn't recommend this book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So boring !

    For most part I like Dr. Phil, but oh my goodness NOT THIS BOOK!!! So very boring and dragging on and on, what could have been said in a few sentences, he goes round and round for a page and then some. Speaking of pompous? ..........full of himself several times. I have never put the book down without finishing, but I could not get even through the first half and donated it. Waist of money and total waist of time.......ridiculous

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    arrogant

    I liked it and also hated it. He went to far.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Seems like Doctor Phil is at it again with his trite contrived a

    Seems like Doctor Phil is at it again with his trite contrived advice.  I felt like his message was regurgitated pop psychology. Not a fan of this one. 

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I am more than half way through this book and I am finding it to be of real interest. I purchased it out of curiosity, as I watch Dr.Phil daily and he mentions it daily. I didn't expect to be captured by it but I am. Boy do I ever see a number of the people he mentions in my life. I am amazed by the "Easy Read" that it is, yet keeps you reading page by page instead of flipping through subjects like I tend to do with some "self help" type books. I would definitely recommend. A must read for Baiter's in your life or if you happen to be one yourself, perhaps you didn't even know it. You may find out here and perhaps it will change your life forever.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    I like Dr. Phil, but this book feels very trite and condescendin

    I like Dr. Phil, but this book feels very trite and condescending. Not my favorite of his books.  

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank you Dr. Phil!

    I purchased my copy of Life Code: The New Rules for Winning in the Real World because after reading the blurb, it seemed like a book I would benefit from reading. I'm also a fan of Dr. Phil's. I read his other self help book, Family First, and I was not only enlightened but impressed. I've put his parenting advice to good use since reading that book. I like the way Dr. Phil not only 'tells it like it is', but I like that he is a spiritual person and it shows in his work, without being overly preachy.

    In 'Life Code' Dr. Phil's main objective is to make you not only aware of the people who are out to exploit and take advantage of you, but to also make you focus on being more assertive and reaching your own goals in life.

    In this book Dr. Phil calls the people who use and abuse others 'Baiters' and he says that since society has changed so much, we need to adopt a new Life Code in order to avoid being taken advantage of. Baiters is an acronym for Backstabbers, Abusers, Imposters, Takers, Exploiters, Reckless. Each of these characteristics is broken down and explained in this book. Being that he is a psychiatrist, Dr. Phil goes a bit into personality disorders, which explains some of these behaviors.

    Dr. Phil says no more giving people the benefit of the doubt and no more being passive in life. One thing he says that resonated with me is that you need to view people neutrally until they prove themselves worthy of your trust. I think that's great advice.

    Dr. Phil differentiates between motivated, goal oriented individuals and those who are just plain nasty and will do anything in order to get what they want, including lying and cheating. An incident where Dr. Phil himself was scammed out of a large sum of money because he trusted the wrong person instead of following his gut instinct was the eye opener that prompted him to write this book.

    Another thing he does that I really like is he encourages the reader to do exercises while reading, like jotting down a list of personal strengths and weaknesses as well as writing down a set of goals and a time frame in which to achieve them. The purpose of this is to take a good look at oneself and to be honest. The thing I like about the way Dr. Phil writes his books is that I feel as though he is sitting there giving me advice as I read. I find myself nodding my head in agreement or discovering some eye opening revelations.
    Dr. Phil gives a set of sixteen important strategies and tactics to help you get what you want out of life.

    I love that Dr. Phil is family oriented and he ends the book with advice on how to share this knowledge and insight with ones own children so that they are not victimized or taken advantage of by Baiters.
    I don't like to rate self-help books, because I think these types of read either affect the reader in a good way, or not at all. It depends on each individual and their own circumstances. As for myself, I think Life Code: The New Rules for Winning in the Real World is a 5 star read. I was enlightened as I read and my eyes have been opened to certain behaviors and warning signs that I have been blind to in the past. I also discovered some tips and strategies that I will be applying to my everyday life. I found this book to be very inspiring and motivational.
    Thank you Dr. Phil!

    I purchased by copy of this book, this review is my honest opinion.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Another good book from Dr. Phil

    I just got done reading this book. It made me think of how the world is today. I watch Dr. phil alot and I always learn new things from him. I recommend reading this book I think you will enjoy it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Amazing book

    I don really know much but i do know that dr.phil highly recommends this book to all people who are trying to fin their way in this world.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6