Customer Reviews for

Life Is Short but Wide

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Page Turner

This is an excellent book. Cooper remains my favorite author because of her unique storytelling style as well as the wisdom always woven through her stories. She tells the good, bad and ugly about life. Sometimes this means we lose characters that we're pulling for whi...
This is an excellent book. Cooper remains my favorite author because of her unique storytelling style as well as the wisdom always woven through her stories. She tells the good, bad and ugly about life. Sometimes this means we lose characters that we're pulling for while "watching" the not so nice characters win. Uuugh, but that's life. I sat down on a lazy Saturday intending to simply get started and wound up reading the entire book that day!

posted by 1249716 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book But NOT GREAT

This is a good book but in my opinion not Cooper's greatest work. Near the end of the book, I found the story being dragged on as if Cooper neeeded to achieve 336 pages. There were times that the book seemed disconnected (the whole section on Jehovah's Witness)...Coop...
This is a good book but in my opinion not Cooper's greatest work. Near the end of the book, I found the story being dragged on as if Cooper neeeded to achieve 336 pages. There were times that the book seemed disconnected (the whole section on Jehovah's Witness)...Cooper is a great writer and probably could have incorporated these comments in a more creative way.

With all this said, J. California Cooper can weave a story like no one else. She is creative, comforting and carefree. She still ranks among the best ficition writers in my book.

posted by bookloverTS on July 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Page Turner

    This is an excellent book. Cooper remains my favorite author because of her unique storytelling style as well as the wisdom always woven through her stories. She tells the good, bad and ugly about life. Sometimes this means we lose characters that we're pulling for while "watching" the not so nice characters win. Uuugh, but that's life. I sat down on a lazy Saturday intending to simply get started and wound up reading the entire book that day!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    I love all her work !!!

    Nice and refreshing book to read! Truly a real storyteller she makes you b'live in the human sprit and loving yourself and enjoying the little things life has to offer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book But NOT GREAT

    This is a good book but in my opinion not Cooper's greatest work. Near the end of the book, I found the story being dragged on as if Cooper neeeded to achieve 336 pages. There were times that the book seemed disconnected (the whole section on Jehovah's Witness)...Cooper is a great writer and probably could have incorporated these comments in a more creative way.

    With all this said, J. California Cooper can weave a story like no one else. She is creative, comforting and carefree. She still ranks among the best ficition writers in my book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    J. California Cooper is an original folk story teller that captivates the characters and pulls the reader into the story because often the events can so easily be incorporated in the readers own life. She has a natural act of weaving the story between the different characters with a deep spiritual meaning that becomes apparent by the time you each the ending, sometimes prior. I have admired her work and been very supportive of recommending her book and would love to see Barnes and Noble bring her to the New Jersey area because she is an outstanding writer.
    Simona

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    Pretty Good Book

    This writer is extremely creative. Nice light book to read. I love J California Cooper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    What else is new?

    Her stories are always the best!! Haven't read one that didn't make me lol and cry and wonder. I felt like I was with the characters watching everything unfold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I Love the story and the writer as well....J.C Copper you know h

    I Love the story and the writer as well....J.C Copper you know how to tell a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Good Read

    Slow start all and all turned out to be a great read God will reveal love to you and his time. He will always bring you back in full form to the person he brought into your life if it's meant to be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Like the postal carrier she continues to deliver...

    Great read. Wise and well woven timeless love story about ordinary folk. Speaks to her signature style that I adore so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Great story

    Thi is a great life story of love for 2 people that spans decades. this book was hard to put down. Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    You won't go wrong with this book

    Well written and tells how love transcends time--A wonderful love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite Author

    J Cali tells a story like no other!!!! Her style of writing and story telling gives hope to all women of all walks of life. She takes you through the depths of oppression and moves you right through to the highest peaks of liberation. Her characters have a strong voice that you cant help but to hear. Please experience her writing for your self. You wont be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    a must read

    this is a great book about life, love a great story beautifully written one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    I recommend this book.

    I enjoyed this book. A complex human intrust story of life's problems.
    Well written and reflective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Disappointing...

    Although, I found the narrator delightful, I could actually visualize her telling the story,the characters lacked substance. They were not completely fleshed out. I found that the religious inferences, at times, seemed forced and took away from the story. As a Witness, myself, Ms. Cooper should recognize that two masters cannot be served...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    life is short but wide. Is a really good book.

    Is a really good book. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Life's many surprises!

    Excellent reading! Good demonstration of what happens when one procrastinate and don't share feelings. Also lessons about pride. Sometimes you miss a lot because of pride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    great read

    I loved the story of Irene and Val and there since of commuinty. And After Val passed on she found love from the person she never thought to look at...great book would read it again....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Wonderful book.

    Couldn't put it down. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    J. California Cooper-style!

    One of the joys of her writing for me is being able to see myself and people I know in some character in her books. Most of her work grabs at me so much that I don't want to put the book down. This was an enjoyable read while relaxing on vacation, but not as much as some of her other work. I had trouble really connecting with the narrator.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4