Customer Reviews for

Life Is So Good

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Philosophy

This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, ...
This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, definitely check out Elsa's Own Blue Zone. She is a fantastic role model for all ages. The book is very entertaining and full of surprises.
Both books have websites you can easily find with a quick search, too, for more information.

posted by Seeker-Pat on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

In praise of a life well lived

Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and mus...
Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and must be applauded for his accomplishments and ever present optimism. This was a book club selection and most of our members did not feel it was well written. I do not recommend it for adult book clubs.

posted by 1301062 on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Such an inspiration!

    This simple man...meaning uncomplicated, has so much wisdom to share. It warmed my heart and gave me lots to think about...like what is really important. Put this book on your reading list.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Educational and interesting

    Recommended

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    I just adore this book. It will make you smile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Awesom read

    This book is full of wisdom and knowledge! GET THIS!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Life is so good

    Loved this. Most interesting history lesson I have ever had.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book is beautiful! George Dawson is an inspiration to everyone. He tells the story of his life in an honest and simple way, which brought tears to my eyes. As an African American who has lived long enough to witness important changes in our country's history, his accounts are an important resource in teaching our children, and many adults, another side to the story that we don't read in our history books. Mr. Dawson told his story with no bitterness, in spite of the fact that he lived through very difficult times. It makes one stop to wonder what we are complaining about, when there are so many wonderful things we should be thankful for! Everyone should read this book. As a Social Studies teacher I think it should be used as a resource in the new national standards.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Life really is so good!!!

    This book is written by a teacher who goes and meets a man who, at the age of 98, learned to read and had been going strong all his life. This is the story of George Dawson and his life through the 20th century, and I must say it really makes you appreciate that it takes very little to make life so good. It's not how much stuff you have or if you have the latest clothes or electronics, it shows that family, self-respect, love, and faith really make for a truly happy life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Such an amazing book.

    This book was one of my favorites. This shows his journey through life and it is well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This was a selection for my book club and I absolutely loved it. I grew up in Texas and recognizing the towns in the book gave it a little extra. I commend George on the wonderful outlook he held on life throughout all of his struggles. After reading this, you will appreciate a whole lot more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    George Dawson A Life Instructor!

    As a 98 yr.old, or a 9 yr. old he showed tremendous courage,knowledge and common sence not seen in most adults, teenagers or politicians, even with their education. Learning to read at 98 and to continue for his G E D. . What a person!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    This book is so good

    I wish this book was longer! Its was soo good and i recomended it to all my friends with nooks! This is my favorite book i have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was very inspirational, and allowed me to do a self assessment on how I could better myself with everyday endeavors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    First Grade Teacher Responds

    Having taught reading to First graders for 38 years I was thrilled to know that we are never to old to learn. A beautiful story that every one should read and especially those people who need a little more encouragement to keep the chin up and to keep trying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Life really is good

    I couldn't put this book down. This man's life is amazing. I loved hearing about all of the different events and situations that he had to go through. This man has a lot to teach to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    A Great Inspirational Life Story

    George Dawson was a fascinating man with so much knowledge to share. Although he had no formal education he could learn by just watching and doing. He was able to travel all around the western hemisphere meeting many people that were just drawn to him. George could not read or write and was able to cross the border into Canada and Mexico and interact with the people. It seemed that most people treated him well, and those that didn¿t would soon be converted by his strength, positive attitude, pride, and just the way he carried himself. George is a gift to this world. He is filled with so much history, knowledge and experiences, which tugs at the human emotions. He is a walking, talking encyclopedia. Everything we read is a reality for him. He is a great source of U.S. history, and reminds the world of a time most would like to forget and wish never existed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Precious

    One of the best books I've ever read. Simple, yet so touching! I checked the book out from my library but enjoyed it so much that I bought the hardback book just to have. Wonderfully written.I also learned some things about life in the early 1900's. Please read this....you won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Absolutely Recommended!

    It is not only Mr. Dawson¿s ability to turn the other cheek and his being a really nice person under rigorously ascetic circumstances that makes this story remarkably inspiring. It is the wisdom that comes from Mr. Dawson¿s humility, and his humility that explains how to age gracefully by simply living simply. Also, Mr. Glaubman is to be commended for capturing Mr. Dawson¿s voice with astounding care. It felt like I had walked the journey with Mr. Dawson. To think that out of the bouquet of books I cradled in my arm that day, almost electing to hold off on `Life is So Good¿, that this book would turn out to be the best. A tremendous amount of resilience and electrifying character is associated with this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    A remarkable book for a remarkable man!

    Life is so Good was an excellent book that tells the life story of a 103 old man. George Dawson was a grandson of a former slave. From the way he talked his family was a little better off than others. Even though they were better off they still had to work hard. George was a very hard worker. George started working in the cotton fields at the age of four. When his family was given forty acres and a mule in Texas he was the first one up in the morning doing chores, and the last one to go to bed at night. He has many different jobs as a kid. While other kids went to school he was working on his farm, the town¿s lumber mill, and other people¿s farms. At the age of twelve his parents ran into hard times and need some extra money to get by on. George¿s parents sent him to live and work at a white family¿s farm for $1.50 a week. He worked there for two and a half years away from his family. At the age of eighteen his father told him he could keep all the money he earned for himself and that he could leave if he wanted to. George did just that and went to travel the railroads looking for work. This is where the book gets really interesting. I recommend this book to anyone fifteen and older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    When it comes to seeing the glass as half full George Dawson sees the cup as overflowing!

    I would have loved to have met Mr. Dawson. He was such an inspiration to me as I read his life story. At the dinner table I would read the best parts of his book to my entire family and then we'd discuss his never ending positive thinking. Mr. Dawson, I am so much more grateful for life after reading your book! Thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    Excellent, Makes you think about your own life!

    Very inspirational. No matter what this man has been through he always saw the good in things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6