Customer Reviews for

Life Is So Good

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Philosophy

This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, ...
This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, definitely check out Elsa's Own Blue Zone. She is a fantastic role model for all ages. The book is very entertaining and full of surprises.
Both books have websites you can easily find with a quick search, too, for more information.

posted by Seeker-Pat on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

In praise of a life well lived

Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and mus...
Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and must be applauded for his accomplishments and ever present optimism. This was a book club selection and most of our members did not feel it was well written. I do not recommend it for adult book clubs.

posted by 1301062 on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Life really is good

    I couldn't put this book down. This man's life is amazing. I loved hearing about all of the different events and situations that he had to go through. This man has a lot to teach to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    A Great Inspirational Life Story

    George Dawson was a fascinating man with so much knowledge to share. Although he had no formal education he could learn by just watching and doing. He was able to travel all around the western hemisphere meeting many people that were just drawn to him. George could not read or write and was able to cross the border into Canada and Mexico and interact with the people. It seemed that most people treated him well, and those that didn¿t would soon be converted by his strength, positive attitude, pride, and just the way he carried himself. George is a gift to this world. He is filled with so much history, knowledge and experiences, which tugs at the human emotions. He is a walking, talking encyclopedia. Everything we read is a reality for him. He is a great source of U.S. history, and reminds the world of a time most would like to forget and wish never existed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Decent Man

    I definitely enjoyed traveling through words with Mr. Dawson to each and everyone of his physical and emotional locations. He reminded me over and over that simple is good thing when living the human experience. Nice read about a very decent man !!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Precious

    One of the best books I've ever read. Simple, yet so touching! I checked the book out from my library but enjoyed it so much that I bought the hardback book just to have. Wonderfully written.I also learned some things about life in the early 1900's. Please read this....you won't be sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Absolutely Recommended!

    It is not only Mr. Dawson¿s ability to turn the other cheek and his being a really nice person under rigorously ascetic circumstances that makes this story remarkably inspiring. It is the wisdom that comes from Mr. Dawson¿s humility, and his humility that explains how to age gracefully by simply living simply. Also, Mr. Glaubman is to be commended for capturing Mr. Dawson¿s voice with astounding care. It felt like I had walked the journey with Mr. Dawson. To think that out of the bouquet of books I cradled in my arm that day, almost electing to hold off on `Life is So Good¿, that this book would turn out to be the best. A tremendous amount of resilience and electrifying character is associated with this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    A remarkable book for a remarkable man!

    Life is so Good was an excellent book that tells the life story of a 103 old man. George Dawson was a grandson of a former slave. From the way he talked his family was a little better off than others. Even though they were better off they still had to work hard. George was a very hard worker. George started working in the cotton fields at the age of four. When his family was given forty acres and a mule in Texas he was the first one up in the morning doing chores, and the last one to go to bed at night. He has many different jobs as a kid. While other kids went to school he was working on his farm, the town¿s lumber mill, and other people¿s farms. At the age of twelve his parents ran into hard times and need some extra money to get by on. George¿s parents sent him to live and work at a white family¿s farm for $1.50 a week. He worked there for two and a half years away from his family. At the age of eighteen his father told him he could keep all the money he earned for himself and that he could leave if he wanted to. George did just that and went to travel the railroads looking for work. This is where the book gets really interesting. I recommend this book to anyone fifteen and older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    When it comes to seeing the glass as half full George Dawson sees the cup as overflowing!

    I would have loved to have met Mr. Dawson. He was such an inspiration to me as I read his life story. At the dinner table I would read the best parts of his book to my entire family and then we'd discuss his never ending positive thinking. Mr. Dawson, I am so much more grateful for life after reading your book! Thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    Excellent, Makes you think about your own life!

    Very inspirational. No matter what this man has been through he always saw the good in things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Inspirational Read

    This is one of my all-time favorite books. I couldn't stop reading it for more than a day at a time, and it's a quick and easy read too. Co-authored by one of George Dawson's friends, Richard Glaubman, this book goes through Dawson's life and how he avoided WWI, travelled to Mexico, and learned to read at age 98.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Learn From The Master

    George Dawson teaches so many lessons that the book can be quoted every day. Richard Glaubman tells Mr. Dawson's story in a truthful, captivating style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2014

    I thought the book was really good. It shows the importance of l

    I thought the book was really good. It shows the importance of learning to read and shows you what is lost within you as a person when you're illiterate. The value of hardwork, traveling, and and enjoying life to the fullest is shared from one mans life. It's a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Kyle

    *kisses her head*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    TYLER TO EMILEE

    Ill message you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Emilee to below

    Hey who are you I am emilee wanna chat i am bored plz!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Aj

    At naplo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    To kyle

    Aj got locked out she says go to your book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    CONGRATULITIONS ON ENGAGEMENT!

    -Sabrina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Spike

    Im jk that was oretty sweet ^^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Jaz to both

    Congratz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    To everyone

    This thing isnt working you might as well go to an active clan or something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8