Customer Reviews for

Life Is So Good

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Wonderful Philosophy

This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, ...
This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, definitely check out Elsa's Own Blue Zone. She is a fantastic role model for all ages. The book is very entertaining and full of surprises.
Both books have websites you can easily find with a quick search, too, for more information.

posted by Seeker-Pat on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

In praise of a life well lived

Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and mus...
Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and must be applauded for his accomplishments and ever present optimism. This was a book club selection and most of our members did not feel it was well written. I do not recommend it for adult book clubs.

posted by 1301062 on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Philosophy

    This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, definitely check out Elsa's Own Blue Zone. She is a fantastic role model for all ages. The book is very entertaining and full of surprises.
    Both books have websites you can easily find with a quick search, too, for more information.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Such an inspiration!

    This simple man...meaning uncomplicated, has so much wisdom to share. It warmed my heart and gave me lots to think about...like what is really important. Put this book on your reading list.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Educational and interesting

    Recommended

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    I just adore this book. It will make you smile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Awesom read

    This book is full of wisdom and knowledge! GET THIS!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    Life is So Good is an Inspiration

    Whether you're highly educated, beginning your schooling, or a returning student, Mr. Dawson is an inspiration. This should be mandatory reading for high-school students.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Really enjoyed this

    My grandmother will be turning 100 this year. Reading this book made me think alot about her and her wonderful life. Mr. Dawson offered some timeless lessons for humanity as told through his life experiences. Everyone who reads this will grow in some way and realize that life is good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Life is so good

    Loved this. Most interesting history lesson I have ever had.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book is beautiful! George Dawson is an inspiration to everyone. He tells the story of his life in an honest and simple way, which brought tears to my eyes. As an African American who has lived long enough to witness important changes in our country's history, his accounts are an important resource in teaching our children, and many adults, another side to the story that we don't read in our history books. Mr. Dawson told his story with no bitterness, in spite of the fact that he lived through very difficult times. It makes one stop to wonder what we are complaining about, when there are so many wonderful things we should be thankful for! Everyone should read this book. As a Social Studies teacher I think it should be used as a resource in the new national standards.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    In praise of a life well lived

    Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and must be applauded for his accomplishments and ever present optimism. This was a book club selection and most of our members did not feel it was well written. I do not recommend it for adult book clubs.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Life really is so good!!!

    This book is written by a teacher who goes and meets a man who, at the age of 98, learned to read and had been going strong all his life. This is the story of George Dawson and his life through the 20th century, and I must say it really makes you appreciate that it takes very little to make life so good. It's not how much stuff you have or if you have the latest clothes or electronics, it shows that family, self-respect, love, and faith really make for a truly happy life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Such an amazing book.

    This book was one of my favorites. This shows his journey through life and it is well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    This book is not only valuable as a biography of what a man must

    This book is not only valuable as a biography of what a man must do to survive, it is a history of ignorance and intolerance in this country. It also teaches us how wonderful it is to be literate, to be able to live a life with the power of the written word. Imagine what your life would be if you could not read. Would you be able to have the courage to live the life Mr. Dawson did? This book is vital to understanding how blessed anyone is who can read, and as Frederick Douglas said, once you learn to read, you will be forever free. Mr. Dawson is someone I admire, fo he understood, just like his father did, that this life is good, and things happen as they are meant to. It would be wonderful if most people had this level of wisdom in their minds and hearts. If you love to read, then read this book so you can begin to appreciate the skill you take for granted each day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This was a selection for my book club and I absolutely loved it. I grew up in Texas and recognizing the towns in the book gave it a little extra. I commend George on the wonderful outlook he held on life throughout all of his struggles. After reading this, you will appreciate a whole lot more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Life is so good

    This was one of the summer reading books for ninth grade. It was ok. You really won't find much inspiration or keys ti a good life or longevity here. Just a hard working man who never had much but worked hard to support his family. Toward the end there was something that hit home. Be g,happy with ehat you have. It's wanting more, and more often than not, more than you can afford thst causes worry. Smart man. Life seemed alot harder but also alot simplier back then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    George Dawson A Life Instructor!

    As a 98 yr.old, or a 9 yr. old he showed tremendous courage,knowledge and common sence not seen in most adults, teenagers or politicians, even with their education. Learning to read at 98 and to continue for his G E D. . What a person!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    This book is so good

    I wish this book was longer! Its was soo good and i recomended it to all my friends with nooks! This is my favorite book i have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was very inspirational, and allowed me to do a self assessment on how I could better myself with everyday endeavors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Amazing character

    Great read. Good life lessons for any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    First Grade Teacher Responds

    Having taught reading to First graders for 38 years I was thrilled to know that we are never to old to learn. A beautiful story that every one should read and especially those people who need a little more encouragement to keep the chin up and to keep trying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8