Customer Reviews for

Life, Love, and a Polar Bear Tattoo

Average Rating 4
( 3592 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1186)

4 Star

(1252)

3 Star

(671)

2 Star

(243)

1 Star

(240)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

112 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read on many levels

To be totally honest, I was drawn to this book by the odd title and the beautiful cover artwork. I was very pleased with the author's writing style (I laughed out loud AND got teary eyed in spots) and the overall story line. The main character struggles with the state o...
To be totally honest, I was drawn to this book by the odd title and the beautiful cover artwork. I was very pleased with the author's writing style (I laughed out loud AND got teary eyed in spots) and the overall story line. The main character struggles with the state of her marriage and uses an extended absence from her husband to learn about herself as a person, as a career woman, as a friend, and as a wife. She discovers physical and emotional strength she didn't know she had. She wrestles with some tough decisions and the reader is left in the dark about her choice until she reveals her decision to the other characters. The complete story was told by the time the book ended, but it would be great to have a sequel! I could relate to all of the characters in this book on many levels. A quick enjoyable read that I am recommending to all my friends.

posted by SeaKar on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Eh...kinda repetitive and elementary

I downloaded this book because it was free (full book) and partly because I love polar bears.
It started out decent enough, holding my interest...but then I felt like it just kept going on and on with the same dialogue and content from chapter to chapter.

It became ...
I downloaded this book because it was free (full book) and partly because I love polar bears.
It started out decent enough, holding my interest...but then I felt like it just kept going on and on with the same dialogue and content from chapter to chapter.

It became old quick, so the last 100 pages I literally skimmed just to get through it.

The premise has potential...but desperately needed more development and intrigue.

posted by berries674 on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 240 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Boring! Boring! Boring!

    248 pages of 'Should I have an affair after two years of marriage or not?' If the author had left out all the 'filler', like gossiping with the girls, shopping, running out of toilet paper, sitting in the hottub, going to the gym, and other extraneous trivia, it would still be 50 pages of BORING. Gave me a serious case of narcolepsy. Will be deleting it immediately. Wasted my time.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Drags on and on

    Since this was a freebie, I suppose I shouldn't complain. However, I do think potential readers should know that this book lacks any sort of interesting plot development and concentrates heavily on the mundane details of the main character's life (do we need to know about every trip to the gym?) I gave up halfway through and this book will probably not budge from my archive shelf.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    There's a reason it's free... don't waste your time.

    This is the first book to go on my new Nook and I only selected it because it was free and looked better than some of the other choices. It was awful. I continued reading because I don't like to leave a book unfinished, and I was hoping something would make it worthwhile. It didn't happen. It was a very shallow and lame story. The characters were not likeable and fake. I don't think there was a plot. Shallow was used by another reviewer and I agree. If you're looking for a good read, this isn't it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Too depressing

    Could not read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Hate

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Boring!

    Like a episode of friends!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    Not my favorite

    I found the main character to be too whiny, needy, predictable & boring for my taste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Just OK...

    This was one of those books that I kept on reading, waiting for it to get better and it never really did. I kept on reading because I just wanted to get finished with it. It is not terrible but not great either. The story itself is a good one but many of the characters just didn't appeal to me, especially the main character, Candice. If you have plenty of time to kill, then it's worth a shot. If you have limited reading time, however, pass this one over. It's not worth the effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    Did not care for this book

    Writing was very immature and story was shallow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Worth what I paid $0.00

    A few pages in, this book skips to something not in sequence, or if it is, I'm too ignorant to realize it. Very simple style, glad I didn't pay for it. Others might like it, but it's not my type of book and I wouldn't recc. it. Seems like a soap opera

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Yuck!

    This book is soooo smarmy! Don't waste your time!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Dont bother

    In my opinion this is a TERRIBLE book! It was very slow and predictable. Waste of time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Life

    Decent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Icywolf

    Hi icywolf here can i be in ur clanc please cand does aage matter cause im 11

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Honeyclaw

    Do u need anything Iceystar? How can i help? Honeyclaw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Hmmm

    Is there really a polar bear tattoo involved?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Wasnt interesting

    Wasnt interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Boring

    This book is long and very repetitive, which made it very boring. The main character is completely unlikeable. At first you feel sorry for her but then she is just too stupid for any compassion. There is too much time wasted on her chores and the gym and going for coffee. It was so annoying. I had to finally skip to the ending because I couldn't take it anymore.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Worst book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Kiran:

    Yea thats my email, and guess what! Im getting this sd card thing that will let my nook acsess the android market and from the android market i can get a texting app and i can text anyone for free...yeah i know its pretty cool :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 240 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12