Customer Reviews for

Life, Love, and a Polar Bear Tattoo

Average Rating 4
( 3592 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1186)

4 Star

(1252)

3 Star

(671)

2 Star

(243)

1 Star

(240)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

113 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read on many levels

To be totally honest, I was drawn to this book by the odd title and the beautiful cover artwork. I was very pleased with the author's writing style (I laughed out loud AND got teary eyed in spots) and the overall story line. The main character struggles with the state o...
To be totally honest, I was drawn to this book by the odd title and the beautiful cover artwork. I was very pleased with the author's writing style (I laughed out loud AND got teary eyed in spots) and the overall story line. The main character struggles with the state of her marriage and uses an extended absence from her husband to learn about herself as a person, as a career woman, as a friend, and as a wife. She discovers physical and emotional strength she didn't know she had. She wrestles with some tough decisions and the reader is left in the dark about her choice until she reveals her decision to the other characters. The complete story was told by the time the book ended, but it would be great to have a sequel! I could relate to all of the characters in this book on many levels. A quick enjoyable read that I am recommending to all my friends.

posted by SeaKar on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Eh...kinda repetitive and elementary

I downloaded this book because it was free (full book) and partly because I love polar bears.
It started out decent enough, holding my interest...but then I felt like it just kept going on and on with the same dialogue and content from chapter to chapter.

It became ...
I downloaded this book because it was free (full book) and partly because I love polar bears.
It started out decent enough, holding my interest...but then I felt like it just kept going on and on with the same dialogue and content from chapter to chapter.

It became old quick, so the last 100 pages I literally skimmed just to get through it.

The premise has potential...but desperately needed more development and intrigue.

posted by berries674 on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Eh...kinda repetitive and elementary

    I downloaded this book because it was free (full book) and partly because I love polar bears.
    It started out decent enough, holding my interest...but then I felt like it just kept going on and on with the same dialogue and content from chapter to chapter.

    It became old quick, so the last 100 pages I literally skimmed just to get through it.

    The premise has potential...but desperately needed more development and intrigue.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Not my favorite by any means

    Reads like a glorified romnce novel. Very convenient ending for the lead character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    cute and sweet but rather juvenile

    Determined to read as many of the free eBooks that seemed even remotely interesting, I did finish this one but deleted it as soon as I was done...not much to save for a re-read or anything else. The characters "laughed until they cried" a few too many times, and I found them to be trite and shallow. But it was free, and every book has some redeeming quality simply because it was written by someone. In this case, its redeeming quality is the writer's sincerity and the moral value of decisions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    I found the story ok but not very entertaining. The main character, Candice, did way too much silly crying throughout the story. Thank goodness the book wasn't really long but I still took some time to finish it because itjust didn't hold my attention and I found myself reading(and finishing) a more interesting book before forcing myself to finish this one. What I did like was that the story was not filled with filthy language like so many others out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    great

    a must read for everywoman makes me realize i am not alone with my problems lifted my spirits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Love story

    A easy read, good story of hope and finding
    a way back to love that has been forgotten. Piggers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Started out good

    Terrible ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Kinda sucks

    Its too wordy and it isnt even that good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    just OK

    It was an OK book. In my opinion there was way too much filler text and it could have been a more interesting read if there was less of that and more effort put into a better ending. Glad it was a free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    It was free

    Thankfully free. the main character really aggravated me and acted to immature and flat for my liking. She needed more developing .... but i still read the whole thing, it was free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Blah! Blah!

    Boring! Waste of time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Teen lit with adult story line.

    This was an enjoyable enough book. It read a little more like teen literature. She had adult themes, but the character development did not support truly engaging with the story. The editing was not good as I found myself speed reading through much of the book. It was fairly predictable in its outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    somewhat recommended

    Overall this book was OK. It had some laughing, and tear filling moments. The ending of this book was horrible. This book was not good enough to have a sequel, but was left me with alot of questions. OK book, Great price.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Not great

    Found it rather hard going and boring in spots. For free it was okay, would not want to spend money on the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Not gripping.

    If you have time for a totally narcissistic and immature cast of characters you might enjoy this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    recommended

    Just finished reading. nice easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Easy read - but wouldn't recommend for depth or quality

    I believe I am one of the few people that did not like this book. I felt the main character was very shallow, and her relationships were inconsequential and fragmented at best. I did not feel what she was feeling, nor did I understand her. However, I did keep reading until the end, just to find out her "decision". If you want an easy, read-at-the-beach book that caters to young people, then this is it. If you want something more, then I suggest look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Deleted after a half hour

    The story line seemed interesting enough, but there was no flow. At one point in the story we are in an office with the boss and an old fling and in the next instant at a cafe with our friend??? No transition at all. The dialogue read just as that, dialogue... it was not easy to just melt into the book. I did not get too far into the book to provide a fair analysis, but read enough to know that I didn't want to at this point in time, perhaps later when I have more time and patience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    I could've written something like this at the age of 16

    And actually I have. I remember the notebooks from High school that were filled with love stories like this one, that now fill up some boxes & have been put away into my closet. Now I will give the author that - once you begin reading the book you can't put it down, because you want to find out what is going to happen in this ridiculously captivating situation. I wish the ending would've been different, but to a certain extent it was as good as it could get!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13