Customer Reviews for

Life, Love, and a Polar Bear Tattoo

Average Rating 4
( 3601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1188)

4 Star

(1256)

3 Star

(673)

2 Star

(244)

1 Star

(240)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

114 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read on many levels

To be totally honest, I was drawn to this book by the odd title and the beautiful cover artwork. I was very pleased with the author's writing style (I laughed out loud AND got teary eyed in spots) and the overall story line. The main character struggles with the state o...
To be totally honest, I was drawn to this book by the odd title and the beautiful cover artwork. I was very pleased with the author's writing style (I laughed out loud AND got teary eyed in spots) and the overall story line. The main character struggles with the state of her marriage and uses an extended absence from her husband to learn about herself as a person, as a career woman, as a friend, and as a wife. She discovers physical and emotional strength she didn't know she had. She wrestles with some tough decisions and the reader is left in the dark about her choice until she reveals her decision to the other characters. The complete story was told by the time the book ended, but it would be great to have a sequel! I could relate to all of the characters in this book on many levels. A quick enjoyable read that I am recommending to all my friends.

posted by SeaKar on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Eh...kinda repetitive and elementary

I downloaded this book because it was free (full book) and partly because I love polar bears.
It started out decent enough, holding my interest...but then I felt like it just kept going on and on with the same dialogue and content from chapter to chapter.

It became ...
I downloaded this book because it was free (full book) and partly because I love polar bears.
It started out decent enough, holding my interest...but then I felt like it just kept going on and on with the same dialogue and content from chapter to chapter.

It became old quick, so the last 100 pages I literally skimmed just to get through it.

The premise has potential...but desperately needed more development and intrigue.

posted by berries674 on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1188 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 60
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Great read!

    I actually laughed out loud during this sweet and not-quite simple story. I have a feeling the author had to have experienced many of the events she writes about, as they are extremely accurate and believable and ellicited tons of compassion from me. I worried for Candice, laughed at (and with) her, hated and loved her friends, and waited eagerly to hear her resolution to a difficult decision. Great read!

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Great book!

    This is the first book I read from Heather Wardell, and I have since bought all of her books. I really enjoyed this book as a married 30-something. I was very happy with the way it ended, and I enjoyed the road the characters had to travel to arrive at that ending. A very good read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    highly recommended!

    i loved this book! i downloaded it because it was free at the time but it turned out to be one of the best books i have read! i loved the characters and the details.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    An excellent read!!

    My first read from my Nook, and what an excellent choice! Like others have said before, once I started it, I couldn't put it down! You become so engaged into the story, it seems as if you're reading the diary entries & emails of your best friend. The characters were very easy to relate to (everyone has a bit of Candy in us, we all know an ex like Keegan & have our supporting-to-an-extent best friend forever like Larissa). This is an absolute must read book, great for reading whenever you have time (just be prepared for it to be hard to put down!) and an excellent book to fall asleep to or read on a rainy day!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Touching & Identifiable.

    I could relate to the characters in this story which is what moved me so much about the choices that the main character had to make - does she stay with her husband or go back to her first love?

    Difficult decision to make for any woman and I often found myself wondering if she would choose her first love over her husband.

    I was totally satisfied with the choice she made and could no longer imagine her ending up elsewhere.

    Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    LOVED THE BOOK

    I loved the book. I don't really know if there is another but there deffentally should be another with just the way it ended. I started crying tears of joy at the end. I am so glad they worked things out. I wish the book never ended. I want to find out what the fresh start is like and if I could I would give you all the stars in the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I loved this book.

    Fantastic read and not many typos or improper grammer. I archived it for a reread at some point. Looking forward to reading more by this author. Most free books are not of this caliber.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Excellent Book!

    Super Read. Read in 2 days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Great read!

    This book kept me engaged and interested during its entirety

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Great book!

    I bought this book for free and am so glad that i did. It really hit home with me. You must read all of Heathers books! They are so worth it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    wasn't expecting much

    I was not expecting much from this book, but really enjoyed it. It was a nice, light read, and really kept my interest. I thought the characters were well done, and very 'real.' Cannot go wrong for the price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Great book!

    If you are looking for a fast read with a good story... this is for you! Wish there was more to the story because I really connected with the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    Excellent reading!

    I really liked this book. Being one of those folks who "would never do that, it's just not your style" I can see this completely. It shows the funny side of the frustration of marriage & what committment is

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Loved this story. Very entertaining.

    This book had everything that I like in a story. It was easy to read. It was full of love, lust, and friendship and I wanted to read it from start to finish without stopping! I loved watching our main character grow and evolve during the time that her husband was away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    Excellent Book

    Love, love this book. This is a book that you can not put down, and I finished it in one day. This book is definitely a keeper in my library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    First Ebook

    I was pleasantly surprised by how easy the story flowed. Plot was believable and realistic and the characters reminded me of people I actually know in my life. Great book and nice plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Wonderful story

    This story is heart-warming and wonderful. I have read it twice and both times I have fallen in love with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    LOVE!

    Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Fantastic

    Wonderful read. I wish I had half her courage. I definately felt how the heroine felt with my hubby. Short,but totally sweet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Recommend

    This is one of those books that are so true to life I got it for free and thetitle just sold it for me. And she is right about tatoos becomin addictive


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1188 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 60