Customer Reviews for

Life Strategies for Teens

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Outstanding

    This is by far the best book I've ever read on teenage 'life-management'. Every book I've read before was pretty much so what?? Life Strategies for Teens was written with great examples that everyone can relate to and understand. Jay uses exceptional analogies to make teens understand his father's life lessons.It totally made me think about myself and feelings, and how I could control my life and get what I want along the way. I recommend this book for EVERY teen or adult, because it's written so that people without PhD's can understand it. Change your life, achieve your goals, and be happy with Life Strategies for Teens.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Awsome

    I just have to say that being a teen myself(18) that what Jay is saying in this book is very empowering in a way that he shows us that pretty much life is what you make it....Keep up the good work Jay

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Neice saved!

    Our neices have been spending weekends with us nearly all their life, however the day the oldest turned 12 we couldn't figure out who this 'stranger' was appearing at our doorstep on Friday evenings. Her uncle, was tearing his hair out because his princess was no longer in sight. He picked up this book at the bookstore and was going to wrap it up and give it too her saying 'please read this so my princess might be returned.' However he forgot the book on the table near the couch. In the middle of our hectic yard sale my neice asked 'Auntie whose book is this? It's great!' I told her that her Uncle bought it for her. Life as we knew it has been restored! And Uncle a hero! She and her girlfriend spent the weekend taking turns reading it one chapter at the time. As of today it's still in her backpack and she just told us she doesn't let it out of her sight. It couldn't have worked out any better for us. What a testimonial! I've recommended it to my friends to have children around this age and will continue to do so.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    Awsome book the best i ever read!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    self-realization and true self-confidence!

    ¿Life Strategies for teens¿ is an inspiring and enlightening book recognizing the true strength within a person to live life to the fullest. The theme and tone succeeded in fulfilling its purpose of life management evoking self-confidence and focus. The author truly addresses and presents many life lessons and stories for an easier perspective of its purpose. It creates a new feeling of motivation and confidence for achieving goals as well as keeping in balance. The anecdote examples and humorous illustrations also provided deeper understanding and self-realization. It easily guides you through the road of balance and true independence and prepares you for the development and adventure to adulthood and responsibility.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Good so far

    Was getting good before it said end of sample

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    MAXINE

    Thats mygirlfriends name. Its Maxine. I love that name and when i kiss her soft pink lips i pull away and whisper it into her ear.
    Maxine is 5'4.
    Lightskinned,with a muscular build, and small hands and feet. She has wide pink lips and a fleshy nose.
    The biggest brown eyes that remind you of Bambi.
    A small trim waist and a 6 pack.
    Muscular legs and great muscular calfs.
    She has braces.
    And the teeniest chin.
    Small eyebrows.
    Shoulder length hair that she wears in a low ponytail parted down the middle.
    When shes embarrassed her nose and cheekbones turn pink.
    When shes pissed her whole face turns a dep red.
    I like it.
    Shes sexy and strong. But shes sensitive also. And smart.
    Shes kept me from killing myself on more than one occasion.
    Like today. I was close to it.
    Home alone and desperate for an escape from this life.
    I love her.
    Maxine...my Maxxy.
    I love her.
    She is bisexual.
    And i am the girl that fell for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    At person who said sample sucks

    Ofcourse the samples suck. Buying the book gives you MOAR. I know how you feel tho i cant buy books either. Unless its under 99 cents and appropriate. Idk if the book is good or not soo. I guess five stars from everyone elses review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    A Must Read for Any Age

    I read this before giving this to my 18 year old son and I wish I would have read a book like this when I was in middle school/jr high. It's still not to late for him to learn valuable lessons once he actually reads. This book would be great in a home economic class - being taught how to sew a button and make French toast is nice but this book would really help kids. Even high school, as a mandatory freshman course would reach so many children and as it has been said our children are our future. There are some kids that just don't get what their parents are saying and are stuck in the mind frame of their parents being control and they want to do what they want to do.....like the book says some get it and some don't....I wish I would have discovered this book when my son was younger and I could still reach him - but as his mother I'll never stop and so it has taken 2 weeks for him to read Chapter One. We discussed what he learned and there has been a change in the decisions he has been making. Will it continue? Only he can make that decision. I had planned to have my 15 year old daughter read this after my son, but I might end buying her a copy of her own at this rate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Sample sucks

    Sample is not helpful

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    I did not find this book useful at all. I purchased it because I

    I did not find this book useful at all. I purchased it because I had seen some good recommendations but it seems that this was over rated. He had just done the same book for teens as he had for adults. same method. not worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I also recommend Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    One day these two crusaders will meet and sparks will fly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2003

    Good Book But...

    When I bought the book, it was meant to be a present for my friend who was having some troubles. I thought it would be the best ever and I started to peek in the book and then I thought it wasnt such a GREAT book and everything. I could except these strategies, but some of my friend didn't. I am a 14 year old living in Canada, where many of my friends have problems dealing with depression and relationships. This book wouldn't be helpful to those people; I asked why it wouldnt work, and they said that the author wouldnt understand the pain that they were going through and that all the things he writes doesnt apply to them. Sure, it's a great book telling you how to life and giving you tips, but its not enough. Great writing though and there are some good related stories by Jay in there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    Awesome

    I have to say that Jay writes a great book. This book is packed with info and humor. Jay teaches some important life lessons so that they are easy to understand. This book really helped me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2002

    A GREAT BOOK FOR TEENS

    One day I forgot to take my library book to class, so I borrowed this book from one of my friends. I liked the part that I read so much that I went and bought the book for myself. This is the only book that I've ever chosen to read without it being an assignment. I am glad that I read this book because it has alot of things in it that no one has ever told me before, but I am really glad I know now. I'm only 13, but I know that the rest of my teenage years will be easier for me. The author of this book is also really hot!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    really great

    it is reall down to earth and not very technical and it is a great help for life skills and also good for teachers plus he talks as if he were a teenager again and he is easy to relate in certain subjects

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2001

    A Helpful Translation of Teen Perspectives for Parents

    'Dad, trust me, when it comes to teens, you don't get it!' Thus, Mr. Jay McGraw told his Dad, Dr. Phil McGraw, that Dr. Phil was violating his own first rule for Life Strategies, You Either Get It or You Don't. Mr. Jay had wanted to use Life Strategies to improve his own life, and found that it took him 6 years (from age 13 to age 19) to translate the lessons into a teen perspective that made sense to Mr. Jay. Mr. Jay was naturally appalled when he found that Dr. Phil had a book contract to do a book on Life Strategies for teens. The project was reborn in Mr. Jay's hands. By the time Mr. Jay was done, he was no longer a teen, having reached the ripe old age of 20. But his memory of teenage perspectives is strong and salty. Early in the book, he candidly points out that the teen did not buy this book. It was a gift from an adult, usually a parent. And that's a very good point -- one that I would like to comment on. I suggest that you read this book before giving it to anyone. That may be its greatest benefit. Mr. Jay does a good job of taking on the key psychological, social, and developmental challenges of the teenage years. As you visit these points of view, you can begin to see how your teenager might see you. For example, do you ever tell you teen stories about what it was like when you were your teen's age? I know I do. Mr. Jay points out that any self-respecting teen 'knows' that those old lessons don't apply now. Times are much different and tougher now. Dad or Mom is just being 'boring' again. Do you ever interrupt your teen? Mr. Jay indicates that that means 'that Mom or Dad doesn't ever listen to me.' That can cut off the possibility of communication. There's also a wonderful section on the roles that teenager's today choose to play (their social masks). All of a sudden it clicked. I saw each of our teenager's friends fitting neatly into one of these categories. I could suddenly predict how each would respond in any given situation. Wow! What a gift! Thank you, Mr. Jay!! What has happened is that a few new categories have been established since the Middle Ages when I was a teenager. I am very glad to get up-to-date. The book itself follows Dr. Phil's 10 laws. You can read my reviews of Life Strategies and the Life Strategies Workbook if you want to know more about them. Mr. Jay takes the perspective of what the payoff is from the teenage years. For example, he candidly points out that you can decide not to get good grades. But you have to understand that that means that you will get less respect from everyone, and have fewer choices after high school is over. Coming from a parent, that would have sounded preachy. Coming from Mr. Jay, it just sounds matter-of-fact. Many teenagers are into not reading anything they don't have to, so I don't know how many will read this book. From a psychological point of view, it probably should have been positioned as something like 'Have Great Teen Years Without Being Hassled by Your Parents and Friends.' The book needs more rebellion against the convention wisdom to be appealing. Regardless, it is great for us parents. Enjoy the examples, learn the role-playing, appreciate the angst, and avoid acting 'boring.' And by the time your teen is 24, you'll start to look pretty good in her or his eyes again. Be patient in the meantime. If you have a pretty good relationship with your teen, a possible approach is to start doing Life Strategies yourself. Ask your teen if he or she would help you with the exercises in that book. As you open up about your issues, hopes, and dreams, you may stimulate an interest in your teen. In the meantime, be sure you have a copy of this book around the house, and be perfectly open about reading it. Who knows what might develop next? You could possibly start a dialogue by asking your teen to tell you what the three things are that you do that most annoy your teen. Then, see if you can do better. Communication is th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    A Must-Read Book For Teens

    I got this book from my sister for my Christmas present. I read the book...I was sooo mesmerized by it! Plus, when I saw the pic of him, my heart started beating sooo fast, he is FINE! Read the book everyone, it will help you lots! Good helpful tips on getting along w/your parents to earning your way to freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    A book every teen and young adult should read.

    It was easy reading,and very helpful. It's a book that's sure to change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    This the THE 'how to' book for teens.

    I was lucky enough to hear this young man speak at his father's seminar in Orlando and purchase his book before release. This is the most straightforward key to happy, productive teen-agers that I have ever seen. It is written in a manner that the kids will WANT to read. My 16 year old son read it straight through (only stopping for food). I have already talked with some school officials about making this available to all of our teens - IT IS THAT GOOD. This beats any 'how to get through adolescence' book by a mile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2