BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life Support

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

gripping to the very end

Robert Whitlow's Life Support is complete with the themes that make for a good and gripping courtroom drama and suspense. The characters are believably real, although not exactly well-rounded, per se. The court side of the story was incorporated well and is not at all a...
Robert Whitlow's Life Support is complete with the themes that make for a good and gripping courtroom drama and suspense. The characters are believably real, although not exactly well-rounded, per se. The court side of the story was incorporated well and is not at all a pain to understand for someone with just the basic knowledge of the law. The story also comes with a twist, and a cliffhanger ending that would make you want to rush out and get a hold of the second book to see what happens next.

The events are well placed, and are kept interested enough that it kept turning the pages through the wee hours of the night. Robert Whitlow sure knows how to catch the interest of the reader and hold it to the very last pages of the book.

The writing is okay. The religious context was laid well into the story and presented without sounding preachy everytime. The touch of romance is promising. I really enjoyed reading this book, and I am glad that Booksneeze has given me a chance to read and review it. I highly recommend to anyone who has a thing for the courtroom-thriller genre, and a strong belief in God.

posted by meowth2011 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow

I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow courtesy of BookSneeze. It's a novel about a lawyer who deals with work, spiritual and other matters. Alexia Lindale is a lawyer who specializes in divorce. She prides herself in connecting with women. Litt...
I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow courtesy of BookSneeze. It's a novel about a lawyer who deals with work, spiritual and other matters. Alexia Lindale is a lawyer who specializes in divorce. She prides herself in connecting with women. Little does she know that her latest client is trying to take advantage of her.

Baxter Richardson finds himself in critical circumstances. He is on life support. Rena Richardson, his wife, and his father, Eza, are at odds. Baxter signed a paper stating he didn't want to life by the support of machines. Rena and Eza can't come to an agreement on the matter of continuing life support.

Alexia Lindale acts as Rena's attorney to end life support. Eza hires Alexia's former boss as his attorney to keep life support going. Jeffery agrees with Rena that Baxter should be allowed a natural death. The doctors are also at a stalemate. With everyone at odds with each other, the only man who can bring some light to this situation is Alexia's new friend Ted. Ted tries music therapy and asks God to intervene in the matter.

It's similar to John Grisham. There's a lot of detail based on Alexia being a lawyer. There's also a spiritual twist. The books is set in the south.

I happen to be from Atlanta, and I like mystery/crime novels. The writing is good. The pace is great for a nearly 400 page novel. The characters are all interesting. There's many hidden agendas. There's also a bit of romance in the book to keep the tone light. It's a nicely balanced novel. The story will keep you on the edge of your seat until literally the last word.

posted by Melysah on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    gripping to the very end

    Robert Whitlow's Life Support is complete with the themes that make for a good and gripping courtroom drama and suspense. The characters are believably real, although not exactly well-rounded, per se. The court side of the story was incorporated well and is not at all a pain to understand for someone with just the basic knowledge of the law. The story also comes with a twist, and a cliffhanger ending that would make you want to rush out and get a hold of the second book to see what happens next.

    The events are well placed, and are kept interested enough that it kept turning the pages through the wee hours of the night. Robert Whitlow sure knows how to catch the interest of the reader and hold it to the very last pages of the book.

    The writing is okay. The religious context was laid well into the story and presented without sounding preachy everytime. The touch of romance is promising. I really enjoyed reading this book, and I am glad that Booksneeze has given me a chance to read and review it. I highly recommend to anyone who has a thing for the courtroom-thriller genre, and a strong belief in God.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow

    I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow courtesy of BookSneeze. It's a novel about a lawyer who deals with work, spiritual and other matters. Alexia Lindale is a lawyer who specializes in divorce. She prides herself in connecting with women. Little does she know that her latest client is trying to take advantage of her.

    Baxter Richardson finds himself in critical circumstances. He is on life support. Rena Richardson, his wife, and his father, Eza, are at odds. Baxter signed a paper stating he didn't want to life by the support of machines. Rena and Eza can't come to an agreement on the matter of continuing life support.

    Alexia Lindale acts as Rena's attorney to end life support. Eza hires Alexia's former boss as his attorney to keep life support going. Jeffery agrees with Rena that Baxter should be allowed a natural death. The doctors are also at a stalemate. With everyone at odds with each other, the only man who can bring some light to this situation is Alexia's new friend Ted. Ted tries music therapy and asks God to intervene in the matter.

    It's similar to John Grisham. There's a lot of detail based on Alexia being a lawyer. There's also a spiritual twist. The books is set in the south.

    I happen to be from Atlanta, and I like mystery/crime novels. The writing is good. The pace is great for a nearly 400 page novel. The characters are all interesting. There's many hidden agendas. There's also a bit of romance in the book to keep the tone light. It's a nicely balanced novel. The story will keep you on the edge of your seat until literally the last word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Good Read

    When does life actually ends? Baxter Richardson is in coma with a prognosis that if he wakes up, he will likely be a quadriplegic. Rena Richardson is his wife and she wants to stop life support. She considers it as suffering and would like to free Baxter from it. Ezra Richardson is the father, who considers terminating life support as murder. He wants to keep his son alive no matter what the cost. Jeffrey Richardson, the brother also wanted to stop life support. He considers the cost of spending so much money to keep his brother alive in a vegetative state, not a good idea. Alexia Lindale, a lawyer who is caught in the middle of it all.
    As a lawyer, she gets confidential information from everybody involved. But is all information shared with a lawyer always the truth? Everybody has their own motive for keeping Baxter alive and for wanting to stop life support.
    Robert Whitlow will keep you reading the book till the end which stops so abruptly. I thought my Nook did not download the book properly. Then I noticed that this is the first in a series. It includes mystery, romance and christian faith. I got this book free from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Life-Support Issues

    This book, Life Support, has all the tentacles of the Terri Sciavo case, only with differing medical conditions.

    The emotional upheavals and shenanigans of Baxter Richardson's father, Ezra; the inexplicable behaviors and comments of Baxter's wife, Rena; the calculating and mysterious behaviors of Baxter's brother, Jeffrey; the perplexing position of attorney Alexia Lindale working to remove Baxter's life support, mixed with the romantic tension between Alexia and Ted Morgan, all take you for the tailspin ride of your life. And wait until you meet the short, scarred-face Detective Giles Porter!

    The constant twists at every conceivable moment forces you to keep abreast of the situations unfolding. Yet, though there are constant twists and turns, I found the writing style to be relaxed and woven methodically throughout the book. I thoroughly enjoyed the flow of the story line.

    The characters are all believable in each episode of the circumstances. The emotions and tension are palpable. I was able to connect emotionally with each of the main characters revolving around Baxter's medical condition, some of which were good and some that weren't.

    You will become acquainted with musical worship and music therapy. I found this aspect so comforting, as I get into music much the same as Ted.

    This is my first book by Robert Whitlow, and I've already purchased the second in this series! Can't wait to read that it!

    This book was provided by BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Life Support

    The main reason for my wanting to read "Life Support" by Robert Whitlow is because I am myself a lawyer. I must say that the legal research by Robert is quite top notch.
    In short the story goes like this: Alexia Lindale is a young lawyer who represents divorce clients. Rena Richardson is a rich young woman who decides, in a strange twisted way, to kill her husband, Baxter Richardson, and then explain it away as an accident. Through some interesting turns of event, Alexia ends up representing Rena - not knowing that this crazed woman is a murderer. She has to make some tough decisions while trying to be a friend and someone who can be trusted with the truth - or what she's told is the truth. A twisting tale of tough decisions and of a mysterious, healing grace.
    Overall it is a good novel but the one aspect that I did not like is having to wait for the sequel. I like stories that end with the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Cliff Hanging Suspense!

    As soon as I began reading 'Life Support' I was completely immersed in the drama and lost hours of sleep as I promised to read 'just one more chapter'... Last night at 2 a.m. I finished 'Life Support' and picked up 'Life Everlasting' as if I was simply turning the page to the next chapter! I'm a new huge fan of Robert Whitlow and look forward to reading more of his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Provocative

    This is a departure from the norm for me. This is a legal drama sort of book with elements of mystery and romance.

    There are all sorts of questions. You wonder who really has the best interests of Baxter at heart, if he's a good person, and does that matter in the end. One of the biggest questions many readers may grapple with (if they haven't already) is how they feel about the question of extended life support and when or if it should be stopped.


    Robert Whitlow examines all of this in the context of one case and one group of people who all seem to have questionable motives. The lawyer at the heart of it all only knows part of the story and has to try and navigate through treacherous waters.


    The book was well done and I was surprised by some of the plot developments. It read like a stand alone novel and I kept waiting for the big pay off and then there was this sort of sudden ending. That's when I went back and saw this is the first book in a series. It's not a cliffhanger - and almost everything is resolved so you don't feel frustrated or anything. It just feels like you've been walking on a fast escalator and suddenly stepped off onto the sidewalk. It's startling - which may have been exactly what the author was after.


    I want to thank Thomas Nelson for providing my electronic copy for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Life Support

    'Life Support' by Robert Whitlow is an incredibly amazing thriller and i find that the book is hard to put down. I couldn't really grasps on the storyline in the beginning as it was rather confusing, but I began to enjoy the book after chapter two.

    It's been some time since I read a thriller with unexpected twist, and I'm glad that I've been given a chance to review 'Life Support' by Robert Whitlow. The book is definitely a keeper.

    I highly recommend this book to all mystery and thriller lovers. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars, I received an ARC of this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher and I was not compensated in any ways for writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    A Christian Suspense?

    This is the first book of Alexia Lindale Series by Robert Whitlow. Alexia is a young and prominent lawyer who specialise in divorce cases.

    One day, she was approached by Rena to help her with her case. Rena does not want and divorce. Instead she want her husband to be taken off the Life Support system. She told Alexia that is what her husband Baxter Richardson would have wanted. Standing in her way was her father in law.

    At first I thought this book is something like John Grisham or Sue Grafton sort of book. However, it's not. I guess each author will have their own style of writing.

    It was interesting to know that who pushed Baxter over the cliff in the beginning. However, I wished I know what's the motive.

    It's very frustrating to see Alexia being duped into helping the murderous Rena. And I understand how Baxter's father must have been feeling.

    Along the way, Alexia encountered the Lord. It was interesting to see how the plot changes from then.

    Overall, this has been quite a good read. There are still room for improvement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    For Christians Only

    I was disappointed with this book. It had an interesting plot and workmanlike writing. But, about halfway through it began discussing the protagonist's conversion to Christianity, which occurred as part of the overall plot. If you are Christian, this will resonate with you, and you will probably enjoy reading passages about her being filled with God's spirit. You will be pleased that contemporary fiction has this element in it. If you are an Atheist as I am, you will roll your eyes and skim these pages, resenting having paid your money for yet another failed attempt at proselytization. I will definitely NOT be buying any more books in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Don't miss this one!

    I can't recommend this author highly enough. I love listening to his books on cd in the car. The only problem is when I arrive at my destination, I don't want to stop listening and often spend extra time driving around or sitting in the car just to listen a little longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    'The Santee Series' ruined many nights' sleep!

    As I have learned after reading four Robert Whitlow books, it is difficult to begin reading them without becoming totally immersed, for hours, in the characters, legal drama, intrigue, spirituality, and sheer beauty inherent to Whitlow's writing and plots. It is also difficult to review Life Support and Life Everlasting separately, for one cannot be read without the other. Both books of 'The Santee Series' ruined many nights' sleep in the past week as I lay in bed incapable of putting them down, but for that, I am glad. 'The Santee Series' is the story of a young female attorney representing a tortured, mentally unstable, evil woman. It is the story of a man who miraculously survives a murder attempt when pushed off a cliff/waterfall and lies in a coma fighting for his very life. It is the story of a man of God, a musical minister with piano skills nothing short of heavenly, determined to use his gift, along with the help of a Christian native-American nurse and her singing, for healing purposes, against all odds. It is a story of faith, prayer, good, worship, and hope battling forces of evil, manipulation, greed, and deceit. Oh, yes, it is also the story of a long deceased elderly Ohion grandmother and her prayers on behalf of a beloved granddaughter, our heroine Alex Lindale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    A MUST READ!!!

    This is truly one of the best books I have ever read! A remarkable story -- wisely written and with beautiful style. You won't be able to put it down and then you will hate that it comes to an end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    Outstanding!

    I am so glad this fourth Whitlow book is going to have a sequel. I love the classical music, the lady lawyer, the intense drama with which the book begins - I loved it all, and can hardly wait for the next book! If you have not read them all, Whitlows books are just getting better, but The List is still my all time favorite novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2