Customer Reviews for

Life Support (Alexia Lindale Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

gripping to the very end

Robert Whitlow's Life Support is complete with the themes that make for a good and gripping courtroom drama and suspense. The characters are believably real, although not exactly well-rounded, per se. The court side of the story was incorporated well and is not at all a...
Robert Whitlow's Life Support is complete with the themes that make for a good and gripping courtroom drama and suspense. The characters are believably real, although not exactly well-rounded, per se. The court side of the story was incorporated well and is not at all a pain to understand for someone with just the basic knowledge of the law. The story also comes with a twist, and a cliffhanger ending that would make you want to rush out and get a hold of the second book to see what happens next.

The events are well placed, and are kept interested enough that it kept turning the pages through the wee hours of the night. Robert Whitlow sure knows how to catch the interest of the reader and hold it to the very last pages of the book.

The writing is okay. The religious context was laid well into the story and presented without sounding preachy everytime. The touch of romance is promising. I really enjoyed reading this book, and I am glad that Booksneeze has given me a chance to read and review it. I highly recommend to anyone who has a thing for the courtroom-thriller genre, and a strong belief in God.

posted by meowth2011 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow

I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow courtesy of BookSneeze. It's a novel about a lawyer who deals with work, spiritual and other matters. Alexia Lindale is a lawyer who specializes in divorce. She prides herself in connecting with women. Litt...
I got to read Life Support (Alexi Lindale #1) by Robert Whitlow courtesy of BookSneeze. It's a novel about a lawyer who deals with work, spiritual and other matters. Alexia Lindale is a lawyer who specializes in divorce. She prides herself in connecting with women. Little does she know that her latest client is trying to take advantage of her.

Baxter Richardson finds himself in critical circumstances. He is on life support. Rena Richardson, his wife, and his father, Eza, are at odds. Baxter signed a paper stating he didn't want to life by the support of machines. Rena and Eza can't come to an agreement on the matter of continuing life support.

Alexia Lindale acts as Rena's attorney to end life support. Eza hires Alexia's former boss as his attorney to keep life support going. Jeffery agrees with Rena that Baxter should be allowed a natural death. The doctors are also at a stalemate. With everyone at odds with each other, the only man who can bring some light to this situation is Alexia's new friend Ted. Ted tries music therapy and asks God to intervene in the matter.

It's similar to John Grisham. There's a lot of detail based on Alexia being a lawyer. There's also a spiritual twist. The books is set in the south.

I happen to be from Atlanta, and I like mystery/crime novels. The writing is good. The pace is great for a nearly 400 page novel. The characters are all interesting. There's many hidden agendas. There's also a bit of romance in the book to keep the tone light. It's a nicely balanced novel. The story will keep you on the edge of your seat until literally the last word.

posted by Melysah on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    gripping to the very end

    Robert Whitlow's Life Support is complete with the themes that make for a good and gripping courtroom drama and suspense. The characters are believably real, although not exactly well-rounded, per se. The court side of the story was incorporated well and is not at all a pain to understand for someone with just the basic knowledge of the law. The story also comes with a twist, and a cliffhanger ending that would make you want to rush out and get a hold of the second book to see what happens next.

    The events are well placed, and are kept interested enough that it kept turning the pages through the wee hours of the night. Robert Whitlow sure knows how to catch the interest of the reader and hold it to the very last pages of the book.

    The writing is okay. The religious context was laid well into the story and presented without sounding preachy everytime. The touch of romance is promising. I really enjoyed reading this book, and I am glad that Booksneeze has given me a chance to read and review it. I highly recommend to anyone who has a thing for the courtroom-thriller genre, and a strong belief in God.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Life-Support Issues

    This book, Life Support, has all the tentacles of the Terri Sciavo case, only with differing medical conditions.

    The emotional upheavals and shenanigans of Baxter Richardson's father, Ezra; the inexplicable behaviors and comments of Baxter's wife, Rena; the calculating and mysterious behaviors of Baxter's brother, Jeffrey; the perplexing position of attorney Alexia Lindale working to remove Baxter's life support, mixed with the romantic tension between Alexia and Ted Morgan, all take you for the tailspin ride of your life. And wait until you meet the short, scarred-face Detective Giles Porter!

    The constant twists at every conceivable moment forces you to keep abreast of the situations unfolding. Yet, though there are constant twists and turns, I found the writing style to be relaxed and woven methodically throughout the book. I thoroughly enjoyed the flow of the story line.

    The characters are all believable in each episode of the circumstances. The emotions and tension are palpable. I was able to connect emotionally with each of the main characters revolving around Baxter's medical condition, some of which were good and some that weren't.

    You will become acquainted with musical worship and music therapy. I found this aspect so comforting, as I get into music much the same as Ted.

    This is my first book by Robert Whitlow, and I've already purchased the second in this series! Can't wait to read that it!

    This book was provided by BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Cliff Hanging Suspense!

    As soon as I began reading 'Life Support' I was completely immersed in the drama and lost hours of sleep as I promised to read 'just one more chapter'... Last night at 2 a.m. I finished 'Life Support' and picked up 'Life Everlasting' as if I was simply turning the page to the next chapter! I'm a new huge fan of Robert Whitlow and look forward to reading more of his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Don't miss this one!

    I can't recommend this author highly enough. I love listening to his books on cd in the car. The only problem is when I arrive at my destination, I don't want to stop listening and often spend extra time driving around or sitting in the car just to listen a little longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    'The Santee Series' ruined many nights' sleep!

    As I have learned after reading four Robert Whitlow books, it is difficult to begin reading them without becoming totally immersed, for hours, in the characters, legal drama, intrigue, spirituality, and sheer beauty inherent to Whitlow's writing and plots. It is also difficult to review Life Support and Life Everlasting separately, for one cannot be read without the other. Both books of 'The Santee Series' ruined many nights' sleep in the past week as I lay in bed incapable of putting them down, but for that, I am glad. 'The Santee Series' is the story of a young female attorney representing a tortured, mentally unstable, evil woman. It is the story of a man who miraculously survives a murder attempt when pushed off a cliff/waterfall and lies in a coma fighting for his very life. It is the story of a man of God, a musical minister with piano skills nothing short of heavenly, determined to use his gift, along with the help of a Christian native-American nurse and her singing, for healing purposes, against all odds. It is a story of faith, prayer, good, worship, and hope battling forces of evil, manipulation, greed, and deceit. Oh, yes, it is also the story of a long deceased elderly Ohion grandmother and her prayers on behalf of a beloved granddaughter, our heroine Alex Lindale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    A MUST READ!!!

    This is truly one of the best books I have ever read! A remarkable story -- wisely written and with beautiful style. You won't be able to put it down and then you will hate that it comes to an end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    Outstanding!

    I am so glad this fourth Whitlow book is going to have a sequel. I love the classical music, the lady lawyer, the intense drama with which the book begins - I loved it all, and can hardly wait for the next book! If you have not read them all, Whitlows books are just getting better, but The List is still my all time favorite novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1