Customer Reviews for

The Life You Imagine: Life Lessons for Achieving Your Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    The Life You Imagine by Derek Jeter is a very inspirational book

    The Life You Imagine by Derek Jeter is a very inspirational book about achieving your goals. The all-star Yankee shortstop explains to you about how he made his dreams come true and how you too, can make your life everything you ever imagined. He tells how his parents were the reason he is where he is today and how encouraging words can change someone’s life. Sarcasm and hazing affected him, but he concurred them and became stronger. He is the founder of the Turn 2 foundation which helps prevent children and teens from drug use. Derek isn't only a major-leaguer; he is an inspiration to athletes and children everywhere

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    In the book The Life You Imagine:Life Lessons For Ac













    In the book The Life You Imagine:Life Lessons For Achieving Your Dreams baseball future-hall-of-famer Derek Jeter gives good advice for achieving your dreams. A couple things that I like is the fact that Derek Jeter is very optimistic about everything when he was little and had a very nice personality towards other people. I would recommend The Life You Imagine:Life Lessons For Achieving Your Dreams for people who need help achieving their dreams, and I give it 4 stars because the book gave me a lot of life lessons about school and in life in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Tigers are netter

    The tigets are 5-2 lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Yankees score for first 3 games in2014

    2-8 loose 2-3 loose 2-3 DEREK JETER yey win

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    I Love DERECK JETER!

    I never read this book but i love Dereck Jeter as a player.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Derek Jeter

    I have informed the publisher of this book tha is co-title is incorrect, for they published it with the inside cover saying the book is a biography. Though they have not contacted me, I am sure they will take care of the problem and will talk to Derek Jeter.

    - Adrianna Lawson, School Newspaper writer and Editor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    You don┬┐t need to be a New York Yankee fan to enjoy this book. A

    You don’t need to be a New York Yankee fan to enjoy this book. Any baseball fan would be kept guessing. The Life You Imagine is
     about Derek Jeter who has been a baseball fan since any close family member could remember. He is biracial since his mom is white,
     and his dad is black. Derek gives advice based on the advice that he was given by close family and friends. He has a list of ten main
     helpful tips that he explains in depth to help the reader comprehend what he is explaining. These tips contain a large amount of past
     experiences. Derek explains the beneficial advice he was given by caring people who wanted to help him in his dream of becoming a
     New York Yankee. I enjoyed this book because I learned new ways to help achieve my goals. I recommend this book for teenage boys
     because that is the audience that the author was aiming for. Adults have most of their life usually planned already. Many teenagers do
     not know what they’re going to do with their life yet, and getting advice from an athlete that they idolize can do nothing but help their
     chances of being successful. The Life You Imagine is enjoyable and helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good

    YANKEES ARE THE BEST!!!!!!!! Im There #1 FAN


    IF U DONT WANT ALEX RODRIGUEZ TO GO TO THE MIAMI MARLINS PUSH NOOOOOOO BELOW

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Inspirational

    I found this book to be very insiprational and insightful on the like of Yankees short stop Derek Jeter. Not a yankees fan but i have respect for Derek Jeter after reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Yankees are BOSS

    Notice how i capitolized boss.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Yankees are the best!!

    The red sux... oops i mean sox are not nearly as good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Yankeeeeeeeeeeeeeees

    THE YANKS ARE CHEATERS FOR EVER SO IF YOU LIKE THEM STOP

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Go Yankees

    This is the best story to be ever told. Derek jeter tell his sucsess at the plate and on the feild it takes hard work and detumanation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    I <3 Derek Jeter

    As long as i can remember ive wanted to marry Derek!!! He is by far the best baseball player EVER

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    great yankees hizstory

    This book is a great historic book that tells about jeter and how he got to were he is now i think this is worth 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Boo-Yah! This book was a homerun. October 27, 2011

    This book illuminates the life of a young Derek Jeter and the struggles and obstacles he had to overcome to get to where he is today. From the age of eight years old Derek Jeter has wanted to become a baseball superstar. The book illustrates a young Derek walking in to his parent's bedroom and announcing that he would be playing for the Yankees one day. Once I began reading this book, I realized how great of a man Derek Jeter truly is. To start off being raised in a poor neighborhood and working his way to the top, you begin to respect him in a whole new light, not just for his athletic ability. Jeter goes into detail about what it was like growing up in an interracial family and the book demonstrates how his parents "gave him the best of both worlds." We also get stories from Derek's student-athlete days in Kalamazoo. Jeter and Curry, the co-authors of the book, did an exceptional job illustrating the life that Jeter lived, with his use of old memories, and heart -felt reflections the reader connects with Jeter in a whole new way. Jack Curry one of the authors of this book is a columnist for the Yankees. So with him and Jeter himself covering the life of a Yankees player isn't good enough for you I don't know what is. If you didn't already understand that I like this book, you should know that I do and I recommend to basically anyone who likes a story of hard work, dedication and love not only for the game of baseball, but the game of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    great book

    listen to his advice its good advice go yankees

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    great book if you are inspired to follow your dreams!

    Truly inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    Hi

    Have you ever thought Derek Jeter had a perfect life all of the time? Well, think again. Derek Jeter's dream in life is to make it up to the Yankees and play short stop.
    He grew up in Massachusetts, and always worked hard in everything he did. Everything went down hill when he joined baseball. He put so much importance on baseball that he started getting detentions, getting into fights and his grades started slipping. His mom and dad especially, got firm, and slammed their foot down to immediately stop this. They promised him if he kept this behavior up, he want play baseball ever again. One month later Derek Jeter got straight A's and stuck with baseball.
    Derek has made huge accomplishments in life as far as baseball, school, and even contests he has entered. Later in his life he joined the Yankees as a stared rookie shortstop. That year they won the World Series. That's what he has always dreamed of.
    I can relate because I have had rough times before too. I also play shortstop in baseball.
    I recommended this book because it really shows how even famous people make mistakes. It also shows good life lessons that you have been through, or are going to go through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    The Life You Imagine

    The book called "The Life You Imagined," was written by Derek Jeter with Jack Curry. The main focus of the book is about achieving your dreams but it will take some hard work and determination and also to tell a little about Derek Jeter's life as he was growing up. The very first point I want to talk about, from the book, is achieving your dreams or goals that you set out to accomplish. What the book talks about is that it requires hard work in order to do that. It can't just put a little effort in to something that requires a lot more effort and expect to see good results; it is just not going to happen. You have to be willing to work at it and continue working at that certain dream or goal until you are satisfied with your result.
    In the book, Derek Jeter also talks about all the hard work and dedication he put into his sports as well as his schoolwork. Before you put all the hard work into things you have to have enough dedication to start the goal or dream and to keep at it. You have to be able to keep moving forward even if you hit a few roadblocks. And this also applies, very much, in school and all the hard work you have to do in school. Most people realize that you have a better chance to go farther in education than you do in sports, so it is good to keep your school grades up, whether playing sports or not, so that you have something to rely or fall back on just in case your career in sports doesn't work out.
    Overall I think this book is a very helpful and useful book. I say this because it really helps you to understand that accomplishing things in life takes hard work and determination, whether it's playing major league baseball, getting a dream job, or anything else. But it doesn't overwhelm you with this sort of information it has a good mixture of Derek Jeter's life and things that he has accomplished. Although, at times, people may get the impression that he might be bragging a little. In the end I think this is a great motivational book.
    Derek Jeter was born in Pequannock, New Jersey, and lived in West Milford, New Jersey, with his family until he was four and then they moved to Kalamazoo, Michigan. He grew up wanting to play for the New York Yankees major league baseball team but he also played other sports such as soccer, when he was younger, and basketball in high school. His dream came true when he was selected as the first round draft pick and signed with the Yankees, when he was eighteen. Derek Jeter still plays shortstop for the New York Yankees today, and is a well known player. He also has a foundation called the "Turn 2" foundation; it helps kids by teaching them the dangers of drugs and alcohol, they run different programs to help kids in different situations, and holds baseball clinics in New York.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4