Customer Reviews for

The Life You Imagine: Life Lessons for Achieving Your Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    The Life You Imagine by Derek Jeter is a very inspirational book

    The Life You Imagine by Derek Jeter is a very inspirational book about achieving your goals. The all-star Yankee shortstop explains to you about how he made his dreams come true and how you too, can make your life everything you ever imagined. He tells how his parents were the reason he is where he is today and how encouraging words can change someone’s life. Sarcasm and hazing affected him, but he concurred them and became stronger. He is the founder of the Turn 2 foundation which helps prevent children and teens from drug use. Derek isn't only a major-leaguer; he is an inspiration to athletes and children everywhere

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    In the book The Life You Imagine:Life Lessons For Ac













    In the book The Life You Imagine:Life Lessons For Achieving Your Dreams baseball future-hall-of-famer Derek Jeter gives good advice for achieving your dreams. A couple things that I like is the fact that Derek Jeter is very optimistic about everything when he was little and had a very nice personality towards other people. I would recommend The Life You Imagine:Life Lessons For Achieving Your Dreams for people who need help achieving their dreams, and I give it 4 stars because the book gave me a lot of life lessons about school and in life in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    You don┬┐t need to be a New York Yankee fan to enjoy this book. A

    You don’t need to be a New York Yankee fan to enjoy this book. Any baseball fan would be kept guessing. The Life You Imagine is
     about Derek Jeter who has been a baseball fan since any close family member could remember. He is biracial since his mom is white,
     and his dad is black. Derek gives advice based on the advice that he was given by close family and friends. He has a list of ten main
     helpful tips that he explains in depth to help the reader comprehend what he is explaining. These tips contain a large amount of past
     experiences. Derek explains the beneficial advice he was given by caring people who wanted to help him in his dream of becoming a
     New York Yankee. I enjoyed this book because I learned new ways to help achieve my goals. I recommend this book for teenage boys
     because that is the audience that the author was aiming for. Adults have most of their life usually planned already. Many teenagers do
     not know what they’re going to do with their life yet, and getting advice from an athlete that they idolize can do nothing but help their
     chances of being successful. The Life You Imagine is enjoyable and helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Inspirational

    I found this book to be very insiprational and insightful on the like of Yankees short stop Derek Jeter. Not a yankees fan but i have respect for Derek Jeter after reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    great yankees hizstory

    This book is a great historic book that tells about jeter and how he got to were he is now i think this is worth 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Boo-Yah! This book was a homerun. October 27, 2011

    This book illuminates the life of a young Derek Jeter and the struggles and obstacles he had to overcome to get to where he is today. From the age of eight years old Derek Jeter has wanted to become a baseball superstar. The book illustrates a young Derek walking in to his parent's bedroom and announcing that he would be playing for the Yankees one day. Once I began reading this book, I realized how great of a man Derek Jeter truly is. To start off being raised in a poor neighborhood and working his way to the top, you begin to respect him in a whole new light, not just for his athletic ability. Jeter goes into detail about what it was like growing up in an interracial family and the book demonstrates how his parents "gave him the best of both worlds." We also get stories from Derek's student-athlete days in Kalamazoo. Jeter and Curry, the co-authors of the book, did an exceptional job illustrating the life that Jeter lived, with his use of old memories, and heart -felt reflections the reader connects with Jeter in a whole new way. Jack Curry one of the authors of this book is a columnist for the Yankees. So with him and Jeter himself covering the life of a Yankees player isn't good enough for you I don't know what is. If you didn't already understand that I like this book, you should know that I do and I recommend to basically anyone who likes a story of hard work, dedication and love not only for the game of baseball, but the game of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    great book if you are inspired to follow your dreams!

    Truly inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    The Life You Imagined

    The Life You Imagined, an autobiography by Derek Jeter, tells the story of his life, both personal, and in Major league baseball playing for the New York Yankees. His biography entails his childhood, overcoming racism, as well as all the steps towards success he had to take. Rather than simply being a biography encompassing his major league experiences, a good chunk is dedicated towards being a motivational piece.

    Essentially, the main point of the book is to further the cliche that no matter what one strives for, they can achieve it through hard work. The book's underlying message is pretty inspirational, and, though I personally don't fully believe this message, I think it's helpful for some to actually try and aspire to be something better than their current state.

    I enjoyed many of the small details about Derek Jeter's life embedded throughout The Life You Imagined including interesting tid-bits I was unaware of until reading the book - some of these include he had a black father and white mother, and was subject to racial slurs as a child, he was a solid basketball player in high school, and he only went to one semester of college before dropping out for major league baseball. Jeter is not at all modest about his entire life, saying nearly everything has worked out perfectly for him; and even his mistakes are greatly downplayed. This is my greatest pet peeve about the book. For example, he downplays the vast amount of errors he has, and his moderate-but-not-great defensive skills by telling himself other greats have been just as lackluster. It almost seems like at times he's living in his own world.

    Depending on the person, this has the possibility be a good read - for someone who understands that they're not capable of doing anything and everything, the book will be a good source of inspiration and motivation to climb up in the ranks. Though for those who are naive enough to believe the 2000's catch phrase of "you can be anything you want", this book will likely lead to a life full of failure and an inability to cope with that failure. Thankfully, Jeter does speak of the tough work and dedication that he put into sports, as well as succeeding in school, which offsets the message "you can be anything you want!" a bit. If you're looking for something to motivate you to get out and do something, definitely check out this book, as well as other sport autobiographies of those who overcame adversity and achieved their lifetime goal of becoming a professional athlete.

    I give this book a 4/5 simply because I was looking for more information about Derek Jeter's life, and that's what the book provided. The reason it's a 4 and not a 5 is the book was padded with exaggerated motivational speech material that, like I said, I don't fully believe in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    The most inspirationial book i have ever read.

    I beleive the book 'The life you imagine, Derek Jeter' is a very good book. This book is one of the most inspirational books i have ever read. The book talks about how Derek's life long dream was to play shorts stop for the New York Yankees, and all the the struggles and hardships he had to overcome. This book explains, to follow your bigest dream no matter how outragous it is. Rading this book inspires me to make a big dream, and work for it. This book also inspires you to work harder, and push you harder. This book also gets you ready and prepares you for life on and off the field. i like ths book alot, and i also repect derek jeter alot more after reading his book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Book Reviwe On Derek Jeter

    I would read this book if you like baseball. It's agood biography book because, Derek tells you how to keep your goals. He tells you info. about baseball and on how to stick with something you really like. I use that info. the most. Jeter also talks about his life while he was growing up. It's a great book! I rrecomend it to baseball lovers and to someone who wants to learn on how to keep his or here goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    Sal's reivew

    This book is about Derek Jeter. He was born in Michagan on June 26 , 1975. When he was 6 years old he walk to his parents room and told them that he was going to play shortstop for the New York Yankees. Since that day he worked hard to achieve his goal. This book taught me that no matter how unreachable your dream is you should work hard to achieve it. It worked for Derek Jeter. I recomend this book to people who think dreams are impossible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1