Customer Reviews for

Life after Life: The Investigation of a Phenomenon--Survival of Bodily Death

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Something out there

After reading this book I now have faith that there is something out there. If you want to call it God then fine. I still don't beleive in heaven and hell or religion for that matter because it's all man made but now I don't fear death as much as I use to.

posted by Anonymous on October 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dr. Moody's philosophical background makes his work more credible...

I think it is awesome that someone has actually researched and documented dying experiences.
A professor of the philosophy of medicine, Dr. Raymond A. Moody published more than one hundred case studies of the phenomena of survival of bodily death. In search of ¿wh...
I think it is awesome that someone has actually researched and documented dying experiences.
A professor of the philosophy of medicine, Dr. Raymond A. Moody published more than one hundred case studies of the phenomena of survival of bodily death. In search of ¿what it is like to die,¿ Dr. Moody shows his readers from a lay point of view, what happens at the point of death and the journey one takes immediately afterward. He answers his own question through exhaustive comparisons of each case study.

Each of the cases had remarkable similarities. There were several factors consistently recurring in the study. He noted these factors or elements and discovered that though no two cases were identical, each case study experienced some of these elements. Some of the more common elements are experiences such as traveling though a dark tunnel; seeing a being of light; or being out-of body.

Dr. Moody¿s philosophical background makes his work more credible to critics of this sort of research. Though he is of the Christian faith, Moody objectively discusses supernatural, scientific, and psychological explanations for his findings. He clearly points out that his intention is to ¿find some middle way of interpreting them [near-death experiences] - a way which neither rejects these experiences on the basis that they do not constitute scientific nor logical proof nor sensationalizes them by resorting to vague emotional claims that they `prove¿ that there is life after death.¿

Life After Life is clear and concise and most importantly `reader- friendly.¿ Moody systematically takes the reader from the phenomenon of death; to the experience of dying, to the parallels, the questions, explanations; and finally, his impressions.

It has been quite a while since I first read this book. In re-reading it, I found that I am still as much in awe as the first time. I find Moody to be very convincing in that the experiences of each case study were indeed `real¿ ones. He doesn¿t attempt to provide scientific proof, as such an attempt would be impossible. That would be as futile as trying to prove the existence of an all powerful, all loving, all-knowing God. Man from his first recorded existence has yet to provide such proof. Rather, Moody provides evidence that neither man nor science can disprove. My mother had a similar experience a few years ago. She will never be able to prove it, yet for her it was real. I was the first person she told immediately after her experience. I believed her then and always will.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    Something out there

    After reading this book I now have faith that there is something out there. If you want to call it God then fine. I still don't beleive in heaven and hell or religion for that matter because it's all man made but now I don't fear death as much as I use to.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent! Pleasurable, important read!

    A must read - actually critical reading for everyone: you should not continue to go thru life without knowing these things. Very easy to read. Very very interesting interviews with those who've experienced NDEs - this influenced me almost as much as Proof of Heaven by Dr. Eben Alexander. The NDEs of a big variety of people were all amazingly consistent with each other and made total sense. I now really believe I know what happens after we die, and it is something to look forward to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LIFE AFTER LIFE... The book every atheist should read

    Life After Life, the original publication about the near death experience, is a compelling and persuading read. If you are racked with doubts or know others that are, I urge you to read or give them this book. I know it waylaid some of my doubts after my wife's death. It's a great book for those in grief who are seeking some sort of comfort in troubling times... The consistency of the near death experience across age, cultural, and religious lines is wonderful, and persuades faith in a way that no apology (defense of God) can.

    Look up Bosch's, "The Blessed and the Damned--Wings of a Last Judgment" from the Doges' palace, Venice to see a 16th century depiction of the 'tunnel of light"...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    inner peace

    I had just lost my mother Nov. 30th, 2003. I was able to watch the tape/movie of 'life after life', and it left me feeling very much at peace knowing that she was in such a better place, a more loving place....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Book

    The book "Life After Life" by Raymond Moody is a wonderful book because it is all about what people believe will come after death and their feeling. It tell you all the experience that people had before while their spirit was out of their body or near death.It's a true story because most of them had the same experience and same feeling. Dr.Moody is a person that work in a hospital a smart person that is trying to figure out or find the puzzle of people being out of their body and near to death for few minute. He wonder what they see what their feeling, this book is great for people who wonder how the other side of the world feel like or if there going to be a life after life. GREAT TO HAVE IN THE LIBRARY!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book - Good Place to Start

    Raymond Moody is a scientist and a skeptic, and that's good. He presents his findings in an organized way, and then he reports what he's heard: that so many people have experiences outside our "agreed upon" reality. If you've lost someone recently, and are in full on mourning, then this is a good book to begin to expand your own awareness about death and dying. Life After Liffe will lead you to many others. It's a journey of healing...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Great Read

    This book was a real eye opening to me. I learned how to deal with death and accept that there is a wonderful eternity waiting for us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Oustanding

    Excellent book.I was very pleased by the way the author takes you into his investigation it is a masterpiece and a must read to someone that has lost a loved one. Thank you for your book Dr. Moody.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Life After Life reveiw

    Hi im Shawna and i read this book for a book report not looking forward to it. I'm not a huge fan of reading and i don't really like book reports...who does? I'm only 13 and I started reading it and i actually got into the book. I found it SoOoOo interesting, someone dies, then they come back to life...I could never even begin to immagine this happening to me and to read about it was so fascinating. I never knew this has happened to so many people, and some of the stories were really touching. It tells you all about what dying is like, altough no two cases where alike, i actually got an idea of what its like to die, and my biggest fear in life is dying..but not any more. Some people that died and came back said that it was very loving and comforting and that they liked it there and some of them didnt want to go back to reality. I dont know about you but i find that so comforting that dying doesnt hurt!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Fascinating accounts and research; this is a must read.

    Fascinating accounts and research; this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    I was afread of dieing

    Hi I am Nicole, I am 11 years old, befor I read this book I was tearified of dieing. But after reading this book I dont fell tearified any more! I recamean this book to everyone because it makes you fell better about a lose or yourselif.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Hope Filled

    Raymond Moody shares how inside each of us is an eternal nature/life that will never die. I have heard him speak at a conference on this subject, as well as, become familiar with Raymond Moody's writing. He is sincere, in that, he believes what he shares. This ability to live out what one believes makes his faith journey one to read about and share with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1