Customer Reviews for

Life and Def: Sex, Drugs, Money, and God

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Watsky to Roxy

    Next res. And put this <_> in the middle of your cusses... like fu <_> ck with no spaces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Flex

    Is at naplo... ~DogKnapper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book gave insight into one of the most prolific marketing minds of my generation not only was his achievements celebrated but Russell gave an in depth look at his failures and how he was able to turn those failures into success stories. This book is a must read a great story of how maintaining focus and doing your homework equals success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    A must read for recording artist

    This book really broke down the origin of the market for hip hop. If your looking to venture off into doing buisness with a radical art form or just looking to be a productive person all around, Russell's attitude towards people that rips him off and his policies on grudes can help you to become more focused on getting ahead. A must read for recording artists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    How could Diddy think this was requisite hip-hop reading?

    I've been wanting to read this book ever since P Diddy made the 'Making the Band' kids read it outloud on a NYC street as part of their indoctriation into the hip-hop industry. I thought for sure that if P Diddy himself thought this book was important, than it must be great. Well, Diddy let me down; this book is horrible. The book is written at a fourth grade reading level, which can be quite frustrating if you are not a small child. Also, there are many parts in the book where Russell does not elaborate on things the reader would find interesting about his life & career. For instance, I was slightly disapointed that he mentioned alot of random hoes in the book, yet never elaborated on how he met his wife. In addition, for being one of the pioneers of hip-hop music, I was disappointed in his business advice. Actually, the best business advice provided in the book was from Donald Trump, and not the auhtor himself. I even found the pictures stuck in the middle of the book to be of low quality (the picture of Diddy is awful). If nothing else, the begining of the book is interesting when Simmons tells of the early days of hip-hop in NYC, but beyond that this book is painful & not worth your time. I can only now wait for Diddy to put out a book of his own & write the defintive tale on building a hip-hop empire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    Hip Hop

    This is a great book for lovers of the Hip Hop culture it gives you the insite needed to see what it takes to be a legendary Hip Hop mogul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    THIS BOOK IS LIKE THE SECOND BIBLE

    The book Life and Def is excellent. It explains the music business in full and gives you a full view of hip-hop. A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    R-E-S-P-E-C-T

    I thought this book was well written and a definate story that had to be told. I saw the movies and heard the music but knowing the WHOLE thing gave me a new found respect for Mr. Simmons. It was better then an E!True Hollywood story. Again he proves that regardless of race, religion or music preference "WE" as humans have alot in common, but he doesn't hide our differences. I think it is a good read for anyone. Including our younger generation who can learn from his lessons and goals that got him to where he is. The pictures were nice too. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Cool Book

    Russell Simons was in his right mind to write a book. He is a great business man who deserves his props. This book lets you all in to his world and the world arround him. Even if you are not into the hip hop thing it is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1