BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life in the Fat Lane

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

"axell-crowne syndrome"

The book was fabulous. I would definitly reccommend it to some of my friends because it makes you realize how much being fit and being fat can hurt somebody. Now here's a girl who came from being a beauty pageant to weighing over 200 pounds in less than a year. She was ...
The book was fabulous. I would definitly reccommend it to some of my friends because it makes you realize how much being fit and being fat can hurt somebody. Now here's a girl who came from being a beauty pageant to weighing over 200 pounds in less than a year. She was ridiculed and even the people who were the same size as her made fun of her ): Such a lesson-teacher

posted by keep_the_peace_pink on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

not for anyone over the age of 14

this book was, in my opinion, silly and unrealistic.

posted by glitter_turtle on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "axell-crowne syndrome"

    The book was fabulous. I would definitly reccommend it to some of my friends because it makes you realize how much being fit and being fat can hurt somebody. Now here's a girl who came from being a beauty pageant to weighing over 200 pounds in less than a year. She was ridiculed and even the people who were the same size as her made fun of her ): Such a lesson-teacher

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Beauty book

    I read this book while in high school, at the time i was just reading it to read but i re-read it a few weeks ago&its helped be come to terms with my BDD against weight

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    best book ever

    you should really read this book its all about standing up for your friends and not judging people on the way they look

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    I think this book was great and I really enjoyed reading it. I go to a small High School and can relate to how kids act, but the reason why i couldnt put it down was because it was real that kids are mean and make fun of people. I recommend this book greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    Life in the Fat Lane

    i liked this book. but when i was reading other reviews, i didn't understand why some people hated it so much. it was well-written and some people just have to remember: IT'S JUST A BOOK!!! it's not real life, though i'm sure it could really happen. just remember that when you read this book, because, if you choose not to, you'll be missing out on a great piece of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    This Book Is Awesome!!!!!!

    This book is so good. It reminds me of something that I dealt with back in 8th grade. I am now in 10th grade1 I LOVED this book! It shows you that no matter how PERFECT someone seems, theyre not. Ive dealt with weight and 'disordered eating' for about two years now. Go buy this book! Its fantastic. If Whitney is reading this, I LOVE YOU!!!!! Have fun reading this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    great read

    I highly recommend this book. This book was funny but it really made me realize peoples preceptions of people. Even if your not fat you can relate to the skinny people in the story. And on the side theres friendship and love so its a real good book!! GET IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Life in the Fat Lane- Adolecent Novel Review

    Life in the Fat Lane is 260 pages long with 19 chapters and takes about 4 hours to read. The reading level is 5.2 and the interest level is for grades 9-12. I don't recommend this book for anyone who is below the 9th grade because of issues with body image, family relations and minor adult content. While this book's genre is coming of age, I would recommend it mostly for female readers. Life in the Fat Lane has a lot of dialog between characters and is extremely detailed. This novel could easily be made into a movie. The story is through the eyes of Lara Ardeche. The reader reads what she is cognitively thinking, what she says, and discovers all events as Lara encounters them. The overall theme for Life in the Fat Lane is that self acceptance is more important than if others accept you or do not accept you. I liked this book and enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    Story is realistic

    I was interested in reading this book because I had a similar experience. After high school I gained 90 pounds over a few years. Unfortunately, there was no medical reason in my case, just overeating. I found the story to be a realistic view of what someone goes through in a situation like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    Bitter-Sweet

    Well, she made an overweight teens normal day, a bit exagerated. But I would love a sequal. I'd also like to add that Lane Bryant rules!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    Good

    I can't stop reading this. It is just so REAL. It conveys everything I sometimes feel. It's not just about a fat girl, it's about a teenage girl, period. It radiates w/ its honesty. Awesome book. AWESOME. The ending was a tad bit too sad, but I guess, in some way, a cliffhanger does suit the novel. Awesome job, yo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1