Customer Reviews for

Life in the Fat Lane

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

"axell-crowne syndrome"

The book was fabulous. I would definitly reccommend it to some of my friends because it makes you realize how much being fit and being fat can hurt somebody. Now here's a girl who came from being a beauty pageant to weighing over 200 pounds in less than a year. She was ...
The book was fabulous. I would definitly reccommend it to some of my friends because it makes you realize how much being fit and being fat can hurt somebody. Now here's a girl who came from being a beauty pageant to weighing over 200 pounds in less than a year. She was ridiculed and even the people who were the same size as her made fun of her ): Such a lesson-teacher

posted by keep_the_peace_pink on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

not for anyone over the age of 14

this book was, in my opinion, silly and unrealistic.

posted by glitter_turtle on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Amazing...

    Wow, this book had so much meaning. I loved it sio much! Definitely five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Best book ever!

    I randomly picked up this book and bought it, not bothering to read the back cover. I'm so glad I did buy this book, because it's amazing. The author creates a (unlikely) situation but I think it's very creative. I recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    wow!

    this book was the best book that i have ever read :] i could NEVER put the book down! it might seem a little boring at some times but i loved itt! :]]]]]

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Great book

    This book is hard at frist but gets better by the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    People who were once skinny and now is fat may get shunned because most popular people only like skinny people and if your friends are popular and are your friends because your pretty and skinny it is not over dramatic this stuff happens in real life

    People who were once skinny and are now fat may get shunned because most popular people only like skinny people and if your friends are popular and are your friends because your skinny and pretty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I liked it

    Umm im overweight to but im not shunned by people a lil over dramatic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Read!

    This book was a real eye opener. Im skinny myself but i feel fat sometimes. This book taught me about friendship, love, family, and apperence. Good book!!! Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Hi

    This book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Amazing

    I read this book a while ago but do recomend it for anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Great book to begin 2008 with!!

    Life in the Fat Lane by Cherie Bennett is an excellent book for young adults ¿all shapes and sizes.¿ This book touches the topics of anorexics and bulimics. The main character, Lara Ardeche is a pageant girl who never quits. Lara is the quiet girl who likes to help her friend, Molly with weight issues. As the book moves on Lara has her own weight problems to deal with. With sudden allergy problems the doctor puts her on allergy medication that one of its sideffects is weight gain. Since the weight gain her mom has been trying her on a different diet and exercise plan to get her back to her regular weight. She has also been going to diet specialists when her weight reached a whopping 208. Lara was comfortable in her new body. Her family and schoolmates were the ones who were shocked about her new body. Lara¿s Boyfriend Jett was comfortable with her weight because in his eyes she was always beautiful. Life in the Fat Lane teaches young adult to accept yourself for who you are. Will Lara ever get back to her old body? You will have to read this book full of valuable lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had to read this book for school and I loved LOVED it! Amazingly good stroy line with some twists. Is the main charecter Lara perfect? Find out if her life ends up happy! Great read, a book you cant put down :]]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    Wonderful!

    I have nothing but GREAT things to say about this book! I couldn't put it down. It was addicting. What first attracted me to this book was the cover. It looked really interesting. Lara was a good character but I think that she got a little too much into her weight at times in the book. The book teaches MANY valuable lessons & advice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    The Mysterious Lady

    Hello public. I enjoyed this book with a passion. I do think that Lara obsessed with her weight a few times, but Bennett is an excellent author. Each time I read I wanted to read more and more, but I always had to pick up my kids. I always looked forward to going to bed so I could read a few more passages before snoozing off. I would recommend this lovely novel to anyone who is interested in a good dose of fiction, sorrowful and desperate times, as well as laughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    amazing!

    this book was amazing!i read it in just a couple of days! i loved this book so much! 4 of my friends also read it and loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    Wonderful book

    This book just flies through the pages. I couldn't stop reading it. It goes to show what will happen to an ever perfect girl when she becomes not so perfect. It teaches you that you don't have to be perfect to be okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Mucho amor

    this book is awesome, it really has everything within the pages. I loved the character sure she was a bit self-consumed, but i liked that. A really good guilty pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    Life in the Fat Lane

    This was a great book! Yes, Lara was shallow and wallowing in her own misery, but at the end everything's all right. It gives people a perspective of how hard it is for overweight people in society today. AWESOME BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    This book was Awesome!!

    I had to read this book for school and it was great. Once I started reading it i couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    one of the best books i've ever read!

    The one word to describe this book is amazing. I've read it over and over and it still hasn't gotten boring. Cherie Bennett is an awesome novelist. I loved every character in this book, from Lara's best friend Molly to her brother, Scott. This book was the most interesting one I've read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    AWESOME!!!!!

    OMG this is one of the best books i have ever read! i absolutly loved it to death! i read it in one night!! i couldnt put it down! i recommended it to my mom and she read it in 2 days!! i just love it! i recommend this book to anyone and everyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4