BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life Of Death (Blood Of My World Novella Three)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    markierichardson@aol.com

    Can someone please nook friend me so i can borrow this book or any others in this series. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Yolo right

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL JEENBX

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Vampires in "ParaRom" done right

    BLOOD OF MY WORLD TRILOGY

    I enjoyed the pace of this trilogy of 3 novellas. One of the things I especially liked was the opening of each novella, which features cool, lyrical poetry that sets the tone for each installment!

    The content focuses on the love story between the characters (which isn't necessarily the same as trashy romance and/or romantic fluff, that's often heavily influenced by the aspect of lust and "how hot/desirable" the two guys involved in the formulaic love triangle are). I GREATLY appreciated that the vampires here did not sparkle, and were not "emo caricatures." The POV (point of view) is third-person, allowing us to view the characters' thoughts and motivations in an unbiased manner.

    The balanced combination of contemporary romance with a more traditional take (depiction of the vampires, the hint of old-school dramatic romantic elements) is maintained throughout all 3 novellas. The end was beautifully written (emotive without being sappy). It's vampires in the "paranormal romance" genre done right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    recommended

    BLOOD OF MY WORLD TRILOGY
    By A.P. Fuchs

    I'm not the biggest fan of paranormal romance, especially with the release of books such as THE VAMPIRE DIARIES and the TWILIGHT series (which I do not consider horror). However I was intrigued by a YA novella trilogy by A.P. Fuchs who is perhaps best known for writing about zombies.
    BLOOD OF MY WORLD consists of three novellas-DISCOVERY OF DEATH, MEMORIES OF DEATH, and LIFE OF DEATH-that tell the story of high school sweethearts Zach and Rose. Zach has unexpectedly disappeared, leaving Rose in a state of confusion and worry. Zach has become a vampire and has no memory of his former life, including Rose. One fateful night Zach is taken out to feed by his vampire mother Mira and kills Rose's mother. Experiencing his victim's memories, Zach is confused by the people he sees and what his connection to them may be. In the meantime, in the wake of her mother's death, Rose discovers that she comes from a long line of vampire slayers.
    While dealing with the funeral and her training Rose sees Zach and knows what he has become. Rose's father Marcus also knows what Zach has become and instructs his daughter to stay away from the cemetery. Marcus explains that vampires have no feelings or emotions for anyone in their former lives, which is what makes them such effective killers. Zach tries to understand what is happening to him and what Rose meant to him. Zach's vampire family seems ready to accept Rose, even though she's a human. Ultimately Zach will be forced to choose between his vampire family and Rose, and truths will come out that help Zach determine where his loyalties lie.
    Fuchs has written a very good story in BLOOD OF MY WORLD. The characters are well-developed and his vampires' characteristics are quite interesting. I enjoyed the Shakespeare-esque story of the young lovers from different and clashing worlds-vampire and slayer. What I also liked about this trilogy is that it doesn't have the creepiness that most other vampire romances targeting young girls have. Zach is only a vampire for a few weeks when he and Rose meet again, he's not a hundred-plus year old vampire "in love" with a teen girl. In other words, Zach isn't a dirty old man, he's still just a kid. The horror elements are really good, too. The vampires have ulterior motives that ultimately drive the story-they aren't an afterthought. The romance aspect is a bit intense at times, so if paranormal romance isn't your thing, then this is not the trilogy for you. Overall BLOOD OF MY WORLD is a really good read for its target audience.
    Colleen Wanglund

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Quick Read

    I will have to say that I enjoyed Blood of My World novella trilogy. It had enough differences to make it stand out as a paranormal romance read but also infused with some of the vampire traditions that we know already.

    In Discovery of Death, Zach Mohansen wakes up as a vampire and is engulfed in love from his "family" which includes his mom Mira (Morticia description), dad Rain, brother Wil and a sister named Cassandra aka Cassie. Because he is newly transformed he doesn't remember his human life right away. We are also introduced to Rose Jordan, Zach's love, who is the daughter of vampire slayers. Rose is emotionally torn with the disappearance of her love (think Twilight) but knows life must go one. At this time she doesn't know about the secret world of vampires and slayers.

    Memories of Death continues Zach's journey as he starts to remember all that he has lost. He remembers Rose and seeks her out. Rose has been introduced to the slayers life and now must take up the tradition. When the two meet again there is no denying what they had. Now they are torn between their two families. We also learn that Mira has a more sinister reason for turning Zach.

    Life of Death is the conclusion to this roller coaster of emotions. Zach has been betrayed by the family he thought loved him and Rose has lost everyone that she has loved except for Zach. Will their love see them through?

    Blood of My World compiles lots of aspects that I love in paranormal romance. It has the bloody fight scenes, the mushy love scenes and the shocking betrayals that we have grown to love of this genre. Fun quick read. I was able to finish all three stories in an afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1