Customer Reviews for

Life of Pi

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recommend reading the book before seeing the movie, as people who have been bored at the movie have certainly missed most of the point of the book. One of a kind book.

I was fascinated with this story, enough to have a debate with a friend as to it's authenticity. The concept was so unusual that it became a must-read, and even when parts seemed to drag, I was brought into the story from page one. The strengths and weaknesses, along ...
I was fascinated with this story, enough to have a debate with a friend as to it's authenticity. The concept was so unusual that it became a must-read, and even when parts seemed to drag, I was brought into the story from page one. The strengths and weaknesses, along with the fears and solutions drawn by the author about the young man who is the main character are real and very well expressed. The beautiful tiger, always called by his full name, is shown all the honor and respect that I hope all of us give to all animals in our lives. Yes, please read this book.

posted by KittenMaMH on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

interesting book

The book started VERY slow.... but then got really interesting.... Hard to believe someone actually lived through such an adventure.

posted by 16619470 on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Recommend reading the book before seeing the movie, as people who have been bored at the movie have certainly missed most of the point of the book. One of a kind book.

    I was fascinated with this story, enough to have a debate with a friend as to it's authenticity. The concept was so unusual that it became a must-read, and even when parts seemed to drag, I was brought into the story from page one. The strengths and weaknesses, along with the fears and solutions drawn by the author about the young man who is the main character are real and very well expressed. The beautiful tiger, always called by his full name, is shown all the honor and respect that I hope all of us give to all animals in our lives. Yes, please read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    Not being one that usually succumbs to hyperbole/embelished prai

    Not being one that usually succumbs to hyperbole/embelished praise.....but....this book is an exceptional read. Not just entertaining but informative and thought provoking. A must read regardless of your age and/or reading preferences.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Wow.

    Even at a somewhat young age I still found this book very interesting and it was very good- I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    awesomebookouts@yahoo.com

    Jeremy bookouts my name sooo add me now youll see the funniest book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Amazing

    I find it amazing how it appeals to all different ages. Me, at age 12, found it very interesting and lived the first part esspecially. My grandmother, age 84, loved the first part but loved the second even more. I watched the movie and cried. Horrificly emotional. If any one out there does not understand how hard it is to stop being a vegitarian, i am one and if you eat any meat, you throw up. There is a special digestive tool that man uses to digest meat. When u become a vegitarin, u lose that tool. That is the one place where i think it is factually incorrect, for pi should have thrown up multiple times before regaining his tool foe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Life of pi

    Amazing story! Really ennjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Excellent reading

    Author is very very detailed. Loved this. Which ending would you believe?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended! Must read!!

    I canNOT put this book down! Excited to finish it and then see the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    AR1

    My wife and I enjoyed every page of "Life of Pi". Once a sailor, I could relate somewhat to the elements involved, although "fictional". Each and every page held my interests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    What a story!

    I admit, I did not see the movie. But the book is wonderful. One can feel the despair, the thirst, the fear of Pi. The beginning of the book was most interesting to me. Pi's young struggle with religions and his desire to be all of them at once. Why can't we?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Exellent!

    An amazing story that will stay with me a long time. Weaves spirituality, adventure and the strength of the human spirit together in a tale that grabbed me from the very beginning. Also contains interesting bits about different kinds of animals, fish and zooilogical facts. Will be recommending to all my friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2