Customer Reviews for

Life of Pi (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2433 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1316)

4 Star

(604)

3 Star

(240)

2 Star

(119)

1 Star

(154)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

133 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

great

Very well written. I enjoyed this story. would recommend.

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

91 out of 347 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these p...
Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these ppl. Most of them even brag about how they got the book for free for their 'honest and unbiased' opinion. Bn, you are losing all the way around!!!!

posted by 8888649 on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Did not really get it...

    I know the reviews were mixed on this book, and I really wanted to be one of the people who loved this book, but I just wasn't. I did not get the ending at all. I found many areas of the book dragging. Didn't like it at all

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Nope, I'm sorry, but I don't agree that this is a very good book

    Nope, I'm sorry, but I don't agree that this is a very good book. Both the tale and the telling are uneven. In order to accept Richard Parker's reality, the story has to maintain a level of overall reality. Instead it veers almost shockingly into parody and slapstick, then again into a fantasy world that belongs in another genre altogether. The pacing of the story, with its long side trips, robbed it of its drama. I wanted to like it, but closed the book with a sense of relief and emptiness. Nothing came alive for me.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Almost but not quite.

    Great idea for a story but just not that well written.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Wtf

    So... they said exactly what happened in the description!...... kinda ruins it. Dont know if i wanna buy it now...

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Abc chicken iz for me

    ABC CHICKEN TENDERS R FOR ME!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Life of Pi

    I have to say that this book was very well written. In parts it was gory in others very disturbing. Piscine Patel also known as Pi is shipwrecked with an adult tiger. Through his adventure he learns how to survive using the resources provided for him on the lifeboat. While it was written very well and had a lot of interesting animal facts I was forcing myself to get through the story. It was very dry, repeated itself at times and especially in chapter 99 I did not see the point of why it was even there. In the beginning I was lost because it jumped from past to present to past again. With other chapters where I was not sure who the narrator was. Then the ending and beginning did not line up so im not sure if the author knew where he was going with the story. In all I would not recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Interesting...

    I was assigned this book for a summer reading project a few years ago. I had been told that it was a very good book, so I was almost excited to read it. I was dissapointed.
    It wasn't a bad book, per say. A lot of people outside of school seemed to enjoy it, so maybe the whole 'obligatory' thing is part of why I didn't like it. Upon my return to school, it the general consensus was hatrid with the fire of a thousand suns.
    First off, it is sickeningly slow. It felt like it took thrity pages just to get to the story. Granted, it was important information, but I did not appreciate it. Then, life on the boat. It was very repetitive, especially after Pi got used to living with Richard Parker. For the most part, I was bored to tears. There were, however, some parts that caught my attention. The floating island for one, and of course the reveal at the end. As a matter of fact, I found the end so shocking and interesting I took the time to re-evaluate the whole story and figure out exactly what happened on that boat. If I could rate the book soley on the "No way!" factor it would get a five. It's a shame I detested the rest of it with such vehemence.

    So, if you're looking for something to make you think, look no farther. It would make a wonderful book club pick too. But if you want to be entertained, I suggest you move on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Tee hee hee




    Trolling...........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

        

        

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Gabe open this

    Hello Gabe tell Jimmy that Olivia thinks he is hot because she told me that I wanna see if he will fall for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Just not my style of reading. Appears as if most people liked i

    Just not my style of reading. Appears as if most people liked it though. In this (extremely) rare case, I feel as if I would probably enjoy the movie better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    #7

    #7 WATCH YOUR LUANGUAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



    P.S.I totally want to read this book..........but it's SO expensive
    IS it a god read????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Not what I expected

    I had hoped for an enlightening story with an element of spirituality. To me the story was slow and excruciatingly gory. I kept reading hoping for the ah ha moment. It never came.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommdnd

    This is not what I thought it would be! I found it to be almost three books in one: Religious background, traits of wild animasl, and life on a lifeboat with a tiger. It made for a good read with some really thought provoking commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Boring

    I found it mostly boring. It was like reading a survival handbook. The decriptions of how animals and fish were killed was unnecessarily detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Sigh...

    The man simply cannot write prose. Much of thetime, i felt as if i was reading an essay, a memoir, or a biography, perhaps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Way too slow

    I had to read this in high school as assigned reading 11 years ago. The fact that it was assigned was not the problem, it was too slow and difficult to connect with. Don't really recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Pointless

    Remind me why this is a good book. I hate it. It has no purpose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Overrated

    This book has been out for a long time and the only reason people are freakin out over it is because of the movie. If you read the book start during the shipwreck section, everything bpast that is actually really cool. The entire first 100 pages is about sloths and religion. After reading the book i would not waste money seeing the movie. If you have a choice though, to see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Not sure what I missed in this book, but it was hard to get thro

    Not sure what I missed in this book, but it was hard to get through and I read the end feeling empty. I read a lot of books, and I never say this, but hopefully the movie is better??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6