Customer Reviews for

Life of Pi (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1384)

4 Star

(615)

3 Star

(243)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(157)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

136 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

great

Very well written. I enjoyed this story. would recommend.

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

91 out of 347 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these p...
Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these ppl. Most of them even brag about how they got the book for free for their 'honest and unbiased' opinion. Bn, you are losing all the way around!!!!

posted by 8888649 on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2520 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 126
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Very well written. I enjoyed this story. would recommend.

    136 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    One of my favorites

    Originally had no interest in reading this but i could not put it down and it quickly became a favorite

    104 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Nothing to say but fabulous. If you plan of going to college, th

    Nothing to say but fabulous. If you plan of going to college, this is a must. The plot is intricate and woven skillfully, and the final resolution is wonderfully Inception-esque and satisfying for the intelligent mind.

    Overall: Just go buy it already.

    86 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book to Make You Believe in God?

    Life of Pi is proclaimed to be a "book to make you believe in God". And for the discerning mind, it certainly can be. Yann Martel created something special in this book-- something greater than the simple plot (boy lost at sea with tiger on lifeboat), and more far-reaching than its main characters (the boy. the tiger.). Through the well-formed frame narrative, Martel forces us to decide, along with the characters, if fiction is worth believing.

    Beyond that, his writing is witty and poetic. I found myself laughing all through the book!

    60 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    There needs to be a max word count on reviews

    After looking over these reviews I have decided not to read this book. If you like a book, say so. You do not need to go on and on in detail about everything that happens in the story. B&N should prevent this kind of posting, or at least delete them.

    56 out of 169 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    One of the most wonderful books ever.

    This remains one of my favorite books. It's one of the most moving books I have ever read and completely original. The author is amazing, combining certain aspects of himself with the character and keeping the book moving at a lighthearted but serious pace. It's dramatic and moving and it teaches you a lot about faith (you'll probably find yourself quoting this book several times a day). It is so touching- his style is earnest, wholesome and truly gets you to think about things.

    You'll love the character, you'll love the plot, and you'll love the powerfully simple insights made. It's beautiful and you will fall in love with the main character and be depressed when the book is over. Fear not, though, it's always there to return to on rainy days. :)

    53 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Clever, original, and a definite re-read

    I picked up Life of Pi after a good friend recommended I read the book. This book is one of the few books that I nearly read through in one sitting, and then later re-read at a slower, more leisurely pace.

    Yann Martel immerses his readers in an exotic, yet familiar setting of a zoo in India, and then takes you on a wild journey across the world.

    The key question that my friend asked to me to consider after I finished reading, and which I have posed to other friends that I encouraged to read this book, is which story do you believe - fantasy or 'reality'?

    37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Sweet Lord!

    One of the best books I've read in a long time! I highly recommend it. Martel's writing style is wonderful, and I firmly agree with the quote on the front of the book: "Life of Pi is a real adventure...It's difficult to stop reading when the pages run out.." I didn't want this book to end. I wanted to know more about Pi. LOVE THIS BOOK!

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Life of Pi

    I am in 8th grade and I absolutely loved this book. I thought Pi was a great role model, such a strong character. Anyone 13 and up must read this book, it gives you a new appreciation for life (and possibly a fear of boats!).

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting read.

    I picked up this book on a whim before a vacation. Never hearing of Yann Martel I didn't have huge expectations for Life of Pi. I was dumb to think that way. Right from the begining Life of Pi blew me away. It is so original. The main thing I liked about it was how much you feel for the characters. You are gripped into the plot. Yann Martel is a great auther. All of his books make you think. Life of Pi examines life in a very unique way. I would reccomend this to readers the ages of 16+ because a couple scenes are pretty graphic and the way it makes you think can be pretty heavy.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Boring so far...

    Too bad you have to rate at least one star. This book was chosen to be read ovwer the summer as an IB student and i am at like chapter seven and i dont understand a word of it this story jumps from situation to situation, such as one minute he is talking about the zoo and the next minute he is talking about how he is teased at school, its just very confusing to me. But one thing is that one would need an extensive vocabulary to flow through this book with no problems.

    18 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    will have you thinking long after reading

    This book has changed me. This is a powerful story.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    Life Of Pi

    Life of Pi is the story of a boy and his amazing adventure in the religious world, the animal kingdom, and the human civilization. It is a very interesting story of survival in the most impossible conditions. He is from India but the story does not begin there, it begins with an authors note explaining how he, the author, came across this man who told him that he would tell him a story that ¿would make you believe in god¿. Piscine was from Pondicherry, India, but this book is written in an interview way so he first recalls what he studied and how he felt when he first moved to Canada. Afterward Pi talks about his family, how he got his name, and his love for animals. Pi later tells his journey of his religious search in Hinduism, Christianity, and Islam and how he practiced all three. His father decides to move to Canada with the animals and their family because of the political actions being taken in India. When the ship they were traveling in sinks, Pi is left in a lifeboat with a hyena, an orangutan, a wounded zebra, and a Bengal tiger. After time passes, only Pi and the tiger are left and they must endure many difficulties in order to survive.<BR/>One important event that happens in the story is when Pi talks with his biology teacher, Mr. Kumar. This is important because it is the first time Pi questions his religious beliefs, Mr. Kumar was an atheist. This makes him think about the different religions which lead him into learning two more besides Hinduism, Christianity and Islam. Another event that is important to the story is when he is thrown overboard by the Chinese when the boat was sinking. This part is important because, if it had not been for that act, Pi probably wouldn¿t have been able to survive the disaster. <BR/>This book is really detailed and graphic. It has many interesting facts and I liked the way the author wrote them in a humorous way. One example of that is when he is talking about how animals are territorial and how some people think that they are freeing them, when they really weren¿t. He gives the situation of someone going into your house and kicking you out the front door saying ¿Go! You are free! Free as a bird! Go! Go!¿ and how the people would respond to that. Life of Pi is an interesting book that anyone who wants to ¿believe in god¿ should read.

    15 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    One of those books you'll be thinking about for days/weeks/months after. I still can't decide what my thoughts are about the ending - I keep changing my mind when I think back on the story. Can't wait to see the movie

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    This book was a complete waste in my opinion. The plot was WAAAA

    This book was a complete waste in my opinion. The plot was WAAAAY too confusing and sort of contradicted itself. Correction: there really wasn't a plot. It was just some kid rambling about a bunch of animals (which may or may not have actually been there) on a boat with him tearing each other apart. And then there were a bunch of things that are physical impossibilities that &quot;supposedly happened&quot;

    14 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    TOUCHING & DISTURBING. Nature in a nutshell, including huma

    TOUCHING &amp; DISTURBING. Nature in a nutshell, including human
    nature. Beautifully written. I can't say that I have ever been more
    involved with a character and an animal with equal care and empathy. I
    hope the movie does the book justice, if it does, it will be an instant classic.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    Fun read

    People either seem to love this book or not care at all. I liked it a great deal and found it to be entertaining and thought provoking. I think that the degree to which you believe Pi's second story of his events is the degree to which you are a pessimist.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    I Was Riveted From the Beginning

    I listened to this book on CD while driving alone from Phoenix to San Diego to spend a weekend by the sea with friends. But the whole time all I was there, all I was thinking about is how I couldn't wait for the drive home so I could get back to this book! It's a great story and it's told very beautifully.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Did not really get it...

    I know the reviews were mixed on this book, and I really wanted to be one of the people who loved this book, but I just wasn't. I did not get the ending at all. I found many areas of the book dragging. Didn't like it at all

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    THIS BOOK SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#!###

    HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2520 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 126