BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life of Pi (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1385)

4 Star

(616)

3 Star

(245)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(158)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

136 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

great

Very well written. I enjoyed this story. would recommend.

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

91 out of 347 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these p...
Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these ppl. Most of them even brag about how they got the book for free for their 'honest and unbiased' opinion. Bn, you are losing all the way around!!!!

posted by 8888649 on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2525 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 127
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was amazing! I could not put it down and, really nobody spoiled the plot from the book!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Not so good.

    Interesting is the word that descries life of Pi. This book had its up and downs. The story is basically about an Indian boy who is living a regular life until his family decides to move to Canada. When they are traveling on the ship to Canada it sinks. Pi has to learn how to survive on a life boat with the company of a Tiger. This book has religious beliefs in it, terror, anticipation, and hope.
    The boo k for me started off really slow. It did not really get into it until the very end. When Pi gets thrown overboard onto a lifeboat marks the middle of the story. For over half of the book Pi is stranded at sea. This book is fiction, and for a good reason to. Pi saves a zebra, Hyena, orangutan, and a tiger. There is no way a person could survive on a life boat for a long time stranded at sea. This was the part that I thought went really slow. His days at sea, so it says in the book were not very eventful. The only eventful days really were when the animals started eating each other. Finally after a while Pi goes blind at sea and he and the tiger are the only ones left on the boat. They slowly start dying. Another thing I thought was interesting was when Pi met another person lost at sea. When the person tried to climb aboard Pi¿s boat the tiger whose name was Richard Park killed the lost person. That was the turning point of the story for me, that is when it captured my attention.
    My favorite part of the book was when Pi landed on the Island. This Island was apparently in habited by meerkats. I thought that was quite odd, meerkats in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. It was on this Island that Pi and Richard Park restored their health. Pi ate algae and fish, and Richard Park ate meerkats. Every night Pi and Richard Park slept in the life boat. As Richard Park was returning to health Pi was afraid Richard Park would eat him. He started sleeping with the meerkats in the trees. One day when Pi was exploring the Island He found a whole set of human teeth. It was then he realized that the Island was carnivorous. The ground at night time burned his feet. He knew he had to leave the island. He stocked the life boat and when Richard Park returned he pushed the life boat out to sea.
    I will not tell you the ending of the book but it is excellent. This book was slowly progressing but has a good ending. I would definitely recommend this book from the age group from twelve to about 16. This is the age group I think would enjoy it the most. If you are a person who does like a book slowly getting better then this is the book for you. If you are not one of those people then you should pick another book. Happy Reading!

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    LIFE OF PI NOVEL REVIEW

    The novel that I read entitled Life of Pi was a very interesting novel. The novel started with talking about his life at his father's zoo in India. The book talked a lot about his religious life and the conflicts he had with different beliefs. This is a reoccurring theme throughout the book. After a while spent on this subject, the family decides to travel to Canada to start a new life there. During the journey, the ship they are traveling on sinks, leaving Pi alone in a lifeboat with a male tiger from their zoo. The two of them end up being on the lifeboat for several months, with no help. They suffer thirst, hunger, and many other illnesses while out at sea. In one instance both of them become blind from some sort of an illness, but they recover. After being out at sea for a while, they come upon and island of grass and trees inhabited by meerkats and stay there for a while. After Pi realizes the island is dangerous, he leaves quickly. They stay at sea for a few more days before landing in Mexico where the book ends with Pi telling his story to two reporters who are trying to find out why the ship sunk. One important event in the book was at the very end when Pi was telling his story to the reporters. The reporters originally did not believe the story that Pi told to them. So Pi changed the story to include humans for the animals that were previously aboard the boat. The way Pi told his story this time very much grieved the reporters and they changed their minds about his story. This shows how Pi felt about this life changing event. Another significant event in the book was when the tiger was about to devour Pi. However Pi used his brains and wit to keep the tiger from attacking and eating him. He did this by reading an instruction manual aboard the boat that showed him how to keep the tiger from attacking him. This enabled him to keep alive during the entire trip showing the powers of his remarkable brain. Some of the content in this book was grueling, (for example when he ate some of the animals raw) but overall it was very interesting. This was an amazing story of human perseverance and survival. I am not sure when the time setting of the book was supposed to be, but it may have been back in the early 1900's or so. The book never did give a clear statement of what the time frame was. The language of the book was very straightforward and easy to understand. Whenever there was a language change, (which there was) the book would say what was said in English. Also there were some parts in the book that were hard to understand at the beginning, but you just have to keep reading to get the idea of what the book is about. Overall the book's value was very good. It taught a lot about perseverance; although I don't agree with the religious message the author was trying to get across.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Life of Pi: A Masterful Story

    The Life of Pi, an amazing, award winning story by author Yann Martel. It is rich with details about the main character's life, his adventures, and his trials. What an immaculate fictional read. <BR/> The main Character is Pi Patel, a man from India, now living in Canada. He has different views on beliefs like, Christianity, Hinduism, and Islam. Though quoted, he just want's to, "Love God." He tried every single one, but was really affected by all in the end. The first part of the story is told from Pi Patel as an older man, no older than 40. It is from the view of his early life. Where he discovered his beliefs, and he talks about the environment he was raised and taught in. This part of the book is probably one of the most sensitive parts in any book, what he thinks about religion, and the ways of life are really something. It really makes you think about youself, and what you are like. As well as being very sensitive, Life of Pi also has many funny references and also many freaky references, like experiencing cannibalism! He looks at animals to compare them to life as well, the sloth is one of them. He quotes that the reason they survive so well is because of the fact that they move so slow that they are not seen. They have mosses that grow on their backs to camoflouge them. I think that he is reffering to the fact that some people move through life so slowly, and so quitely, that they are basically invisble to others. Yet to break that serious mold he talks about how they need to find branches to grab on to, and that they can sniff out the decaying branches...yet, there are many sloths found on the ground clinging to decayed branches! As seen it is a smart and serious paragraph, meant to make you think and then once you have thought, you either get it or not, and you move on! <BR/> The second part of the, Life of Pi, is another well-written part of the book, basically talking about what you see on the cover, a young, Indian boy lost at sea with a Tiger. The points that really grab you are the points that are somewhat false, yet true. For example, the whole premise of surviving with a Tiger that does not have any food is insane, yet it is a zoo Tiger, but once it is out of it's pampered cage, and in the big blue ocean with a little boy, as well as a couple of other animals in the boat, what happens after it "takes care of" the other animals. In this book, the Tiger's actions are mightily false. Yet, it does show you that we can live in harmony with our wildlife. One point to bring across is that, no matter a viscious wild tiger, or human being, show them that you have some guts, and will only use them if need be, and they will humble themselves to youm as shown by the bond between the Tiger and Pi.<BR/> The, Life of Pi is a tale of lessons, survival, and trials, and I have not covered all of the topics, but if you want to find out about the others, and find out more about this amazing book...get it yourself, and enjoy.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Life of pi

    I hate to say, but this is the first time that a movie is better than a book. The author wrote way to many details. Don't get this book, unless you wsnt to die of boredum

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    LOVED IT

    I loved it! Although it didn't catch my attention in the beginning, it was well written and witty. Book of the year for me.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Nope, I'm sorry, but I don't agree that this is a very good book

    Nope, I'm sorry, but I don't agree that this is a very good book. Both the tale and the telling are uneven. In order to accept Richard Parker's reality, the story has to maintain a level of overall reality. Instead it veers almost shockingly into parody and slapstick, then again into a fantasy world that belongs in another genre altogether. The pacing of the story, with its long side trips, robbed it of its drama. I wanted to like it, but closed the book with a sense of relief and emptiness. Nothing came alive for me.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Do not buy

    This book is horrible you'll want pi to die the ending isn't worth sitting through the whole book just google it if you care that much this is the worst book i've ever read do not waste your money

    5 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Aargh

    I HATE THIS BOOK? IT IS SO STUPID AND BORING. THE MOVIE IS COMING OUT AND IM NOT GOING TO WATCH IT.

    THIS BOOK IS AWFUL

    5 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Not to be missed

    A beautiful story of survival using incredible imagery

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    awful book

    horrible bad language and graphic

    5 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Boring if you are a teen that just doesnt care.

    Okay, so this book I got to about page 20 and stopped. The whole first chapter is about 3-toes-sloths? The rest of the book, it seems, is about mamaji and his favorite swimming pools. As I read this my mind could not stay focased and I retained nothing. This is a truly boring book.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Love

    Loved this book. Can't wait to watch the movie.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    HATED IT

    I WUS SO BORED DO NOT READ BORING

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good read - abrupt ending

    Recommended

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Almost but not quite.

    Great idea for a story but just not that well written.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    I am a member of three book clubs and so I read roughly 900 page

    I am a member of three book clubs and so I read roughly 900 pages a month, and &quot;Life of Pi&quot; is one of the BEST books I've read in quite some time! I was hooked just by reading the &quot;Author's Note&quot; and couldn't wait to delve into the book. Once I started reading it, I didn't want the story to end! I can't wait to see the movie tomorrow with my book club and to discuss them both afterwards! I highly recommend this story and I can't wait to make someone's day by giving them my copy to enjoy.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Wtf

    So... they said exactly what happened in the description!...... kinda ruins it. Dont know if i wanna buy it now...

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    Annoying, dull, and not worth it.

    Life of Pi is not even deserving of one star. Starting off with random rubbish about sloths and then going on to talking about how he's a good student, I didn't follow any of the nonsense. I found myself drifting off, and wishing I could tear each page of out the book. The story will not stick with you, as it didn't with me, and will bore you to no end. Pi losing his family, being stuck on a boat with a tiger and just monotonous accounts of his days at sea is enough to bore anyone.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING THIS BOOK

    I'm almost done with this book and it has literally taken me six months. I love to read but this book is so boring that it¿s hard to start. After reading the reviews I thought this book was going to very interesting but I was completely wrong! I do NOT recommend it! Don't waste your money!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2525 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 127