Customer Reviews for

Life of Pi (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2493 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1376)

4 Star

(604)

3 Star

(238)

2 Star

(119)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

136 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

great

Very well written. I enjoyed this story. would recommend.

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

91 out of 347 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these p...
Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these ppl. Most of them even brag about how they got the book for free for their 'honest and unbiased' opinion. Bn, you are losing all the way around!!!!

posted by 8888649 on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    There needs to be a max word count on reviews

    After looking over these reviews I have decided not to read this book. If you like a book, say so. You do not need to go on and on in detail about everything that happens in the story. B&N should prevent this kind of posting, or at least delete them.

    56 out of 164 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Boring so far...

    Too bad you have to rate at least one star. This book was chosen to be read ovwer the summer as an IB student and i am at like chapter seven and i dont understand a word of it this story jumps from situation to situation, such as one minute he is talking about the zoo and the next minute he is talking about how he is teased at school, its just very confusing to me. But one thing is that one would need an extensive vocabulary to flow through this book with no problems.

    18 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    This book was a complete waste in my opinion. The plot was WAAAA

    This book was a complete waste in my opinion. The plot was WAAAAY too confusing and sort of contradicted itself. Correction: there really wasn't a plot. It was just some kid rambling about a bunch of animals (which may or may not have actually been there) on a boat with him tearing each other apart. And then there were a bunch of things that are physical impossibilities that "supposedly happened"

    14 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    THIS BOOK SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#!###

    HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Not so good.

    Interesting is the word that descries life of Pi. This book had its up and downs. The story is basically about an Indian boy who is living a regular life until his family decides to move to Canada. When they are traveling on the ship to Canada it sinks. Pi has to learn how to survive on a life boat with the company of a Tiger. This book has religious beliefs in it, terror, anticipation, and hope.
    The boo k for me started off really slow. It did not really get into it until the very end. When Pi gets thrown overboard onto a lifeboat marks the middle of the story. For over half of the book Pi is stranded at sea. This book is fiction, and for a good reason to. Pi saves a zebra, Hyena, orangutan, and a tiger. There is no way a person could survive on a life boat for a long time stranded at sea. This was the part that I thought went really slow. His days at sea, so it says in the book were not very eventful. The only eventful days really were when the animals started eating each other. Finally after a while Pi goes blind at sea and he and the tiger are the only ones left on the boat. They slowly start dying. Another thing I thought was interesting was when Pi met another person lost at sea. When the person tried to climb aboard Pi¿s boat the tiger whose name was Richard Park killed the lost person. That was the turning point of the story for me, that is when it captured my attention.
    My favorite part of the book was when Pi landed on the Island. This Island was apparently in habited by meerkats. I thought that was quite odd, meerkats in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. It was on this Island that Pi and Richard Park restored their health. Pi ate algae and fish, and Richard Park ate meerkats. Every night Pi and Richard Park slept in the life boat. As Richard Park was returning to health Pi was afraid Richard Park would eat him. He started sleeping with the meerkats in the trees. One day when Pi was exploring the Island He found a whole set of human teeth. It was then he realized that the Island was carnivorous. The ground at night time burned his feet. He knew he had to leave the island. He stocked the life boat and when Richard Park returned he pushed the life boat out to sea.
    I will not tell you the ending of the book but it is excellent. This book was slowly progressing but has a good ending. I would definitely recommend this book from the age group from twelve to about 16. This is the age group I think would enjoy it the most. If you are a person who does like a book slowly getting better then this is the book for you. If you are not one of those people then you should pick another book. Happy Reading!

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Life of pi

    I hate to say, but this is the first time that a movie is better than a book. The author wrote way to many details. Don't get this book, unless you wsnt to die of boredum

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Do not buy

    This book is horrible you'll want pi to die the ending isn't worth sitting through the whole book just google it if you care that much this is the worst book i've ever read do not waste your money

    5 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Aargh

    I HATE THIS BOOK? IT IS SO STUPID AND BORING. THE MOVIE IS COMING OUT AND IM NOT GOING TO WATCH IT.

    THIS BOOK IS AWFUL

    5 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    awful book

    horrible bad language and graphic

    5 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Boring if you are a teen that just doesnt care.

    Okay, so this book I got to about page 20 and stopped. The whole first chapter is about 3-toes-sloths? The rest of the book, it seems, is about mamaji and his favorite swimming pools. As I read this my mind could not stay focased and I retained nothing. This is a truly boring book.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    HATED IT

    I WUS SO BORED DO NOT READ BORING

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    Annoying, dull, and not worth it.

    Life of Pi is not even deserving of one star. Starting off with random rubbish about sloths and then going on to talking about how he's a good student, I didn't follow any of the nonsense. I found myself drifting off, and wishing I could tear each page of out the book. The story will not stick with you, as it didn't with me, and will bore you to no end. Pi losing his family, being stuck on a boat with a tiger and just monotonous accounts of his days at sea is enough to bore anyone.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING THIS BOOK

    I'm almost done with this book and it has literally taken me six months. I love to read but this book is so boring that it¿s hard to start. After reading the reviews I thought this book was going to very interesting but I was completely wrong! I do NOT recommend it! Don't waste your money!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Malachi Plamann

    Sounds stupid and down goes the dues

    3 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    What's the point?!

    Did not like this book. It was pretty boring most of the time and I kept hoping I would learn something about India, but no such luck. It was very disturbing near the end, with no redeeming qualities to make up for it. I would never recommend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Say what?

    I was told by a friend that this is her life long favorite book so I gave it a read. I found it to be lacking in several ways. Also very gruesome to the point it gave me a sick feeling as I went to sleep at night. I also left the book not really understanding what was true and what was not. However it did tie in the name Pi eventually and also gave some good perspectives on other world religions. I was told this would restore my opinion of fiction books however I think I would have rated it higher if it would have been somewhat a spin off of a true life story with some embellishments.
    Sorry to say ,but I was disappointed.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    I read this book for school and.....

    I hated it. The writing style was weird, the book was boring and gory. I have read a LOT of books and this is one of the worst, I could barely finesh it. I will never read this book again. I give it a 1/5 stars.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Not for me

    I couldn't get into it at all. Writing an essay d#for it on my coursework was extremely difficult and i found motivation hard.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Really!

    Havent read, but before the movie came out, it was free! Now it is ten bucks! Really b and n?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    sucks

    sucks

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8