Customer Reviews for

Life of Pi (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1374)

4 Star

(607)

3 Star

(239)

2 Star

(119)

1 Star

(155)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

136 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

great

Very well written. I enjoyed this story. would recommend.

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

91 out of 347 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these p...
Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these ppl. Most of them even brag about how they got the book for free for their 'honest and unbiased' opinion. Bn, you are losing all the way around!!!!

posted by 8888649 on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    Life Of Pi

    Life of Pi is the story of a boy and his amazing adventure in the religious world, the animal kingdom, and the human civilization. It is a very interesting story of survival in the most impossible conditions. He is from India but the story does not begin there, it begins with an authors note explaining how he, the author, came across this man who told him that he would tell him a story that ¿would make you believe in god¿. Piscine was from Pondicherry, India, but this book is written in an interview way so he first recalls what he studied and how he felt when he first moved to Canada. Afterward Pi talks about his family, how he got his name, and his love for animals. Pi later tells his journey of his religious search in Hinduism, Christianity, and Islam and how he practiced all three. His father decides to move to Canada with the animals and their family because of the political actions being taken in India. When the ship they were traveling in sinks, Pi is left in a lifeboat with a hyena, an orangutan, a wounded zebra, and a Bengal tiger. After time passes, only Pi and the tiger are left and they must endure many difficulties in order to survive.<BR/>One important event that happens in the story is when Pi talks with his biology teacher, Mr. Kumar. This is important because it is the first time Pi questions his religious beliefs, Mr. Kumar was an atheist. This makes him think about the different religions which lead him into learning two more besides Hinduism, Christianity and Islam. Another event that is important to the story is when he is thrown overboard by the Chinese when the boat was sinking. This part is important because, if it had not been for that act, Pi probably wouldn¿t have been able to survive the disaster. <BR/>This book is really detailed and graphic. It has many interesting facts and I liked the way the author wrote them in a humorous way. One example of that is when he is talking about how animals are territorial and how some people think that they are freeing them, when they really weren¿t. He gives the situation of someone going into your house and kicking you out the front door saying ¿Go! You are free! Free as a bird! Go! Go!¿ and how the people would respond to that. Life of Pi is an interesting book that anyone who wants to ¿believe in god¿ should read.

    15 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    LIFE OF PI NOVEL REVIEW

    The novel that I read entitled Life of Pi was a very interesting novel. The novel started with talking about his life at his father's zoo in India. The book talked a lot about his religious life and the conflicts he had with different beliefs. This is a reoccurring theme throughout the book. After a while spent on this subject, the family decides to travel to Canada to start a new life there. During the journey, the ship they are traveling on sinks, leaving Pi alone in a lifeboat with a male tiger from their zoo. The two of them end up being on the lifeboat for several months, with no help. They suffer thirst, hunger, and many other illnesses while out at sea. In one instance both of them become blind from some sort of an illness, but they recover. After being out at sea for a while, they come upon and island of grass and trees inhabited by meerkats and stay there for a while. After Pi realizes the island is dangerous, he leaves quickly. They stay at sea for a few more days before landing in Mexico where the book ends with Pi telling his story to two reporters who are trying to find out why the ship sunk. One important event in the book was at the very end when Pi was telling his story to the reporters. The reporters originally did not believe the story that Pi told to them. So Pi changed the story to include humans for the animals that were previously aboard the boat. The way Pi told his story this time very much grieved the reporters and they changed their minds about his story. This shows how Pi felt about this life changing event. Another significant event in the book was when the tiger was about to devour Pi. However Pi used his brains and wit to keep the tiger from attacking and eating him. He did this by reading an instruction manual aboard the boat that showed him how to keep the tiger from attacking him. This enabled him to keep alive during the entire trip showing the powers of his remarkable brain. Some of the content in this book was grueling, (for example when he ate some of the animals raw) but overall it was very interesting. This was an amazing story of human perseverance and survival. I am not sure when the time setting of the book was supposed to be, but it may have been back in the early 1900's or so. The book never did give a clear statement of what the time frame was. The language of the book was very straightforward and easy to understand. Whenever there was a language change, (which there was) the book would say what was said in English. Also there were some parts in the book that were hard to understand at the beginning, but you just have to keep reading to get the idea of what the book is about. Overall the book's value was very good. It taught a lot about perseverance; although I don't agree with the religious message the author was trying to get across.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Bbbfs

    Gjxdjidasruikiopodsyujjjujyjhfzz

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Decent book

    This is a good book. Worth the read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Movie Time

    I cant believe they are making a movie on this awesome book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    After reading the Life of Pi I had the expectations of having a

    After reading the Life of Pi I had the expectations of having a new outlook on life and after reading it I found it to be a disappointment.  I had read many reviews before actually diving into the book and found that many people had called it to be a life-changing book. So once I finished it I didn’t feel it to be life changing at all. This was also a very slow read, because there was rarely any dialogue because Pi was alone on a boat with a tiger.  This book was very drawn out and really too long for what the book consisted of. Since there was no dialogue Yann Martel described everything in excessive amounts of detail to the point where parts were dreadful to get through. Since the book is described in such detail it doesn’t allow the reader to have any sort of imagination while reading. Personally when I read, I like to imagine the setting or what something looks like, I don’t like for it to be drawn out for me. Relating to other reviews “the book’s given synopsis basically told the entire story.“
    This book, text wise, was a fairly decent read. Although, the text was fairly simple the concepts were slightly more of a challenging to comprehend. I feel that this book is more aimed for teenagers and adults because I don’t think that younger children would have much interest or appreciation for this book. This book also targets the audience that favors zoology, and religion. Yann Martel had created a very indifferent storyline out of a very common plot. This book I feel could have been more interesting if there was more dialogue or character interaction.  Through an ecosystem lense, the environment plays a big role into the story. Since they are trapped on a boat Pi is limited to what he can eat, drink, and the things he does.  Although this book did not reach the expectations I had, it is not a horrible book, but it’s definitely not a book that I am going to reread. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Not sure....

    Ive heard good things about it and bad things. Should i read it or should i not? Can someone please give me their opinion on it?

    Btw. I recommend the awesome tales of awesomness by s.miles.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    An interesting book, but not for everyone.

    For me there was way too much detail that went over and over the same story line in the first part of the book. I did enjoy the book after it started the story of Pi lost at sea with the tiger. Very exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Cute

    Not a book to make u believe in God, but cute

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Life of Pi. Good or bad?

    This book is about a young boy Pi, He goes through life trying to figure out who he is without the help of his family.
    I didn't enjoy the book it was to slow paced for me. Now i'm sure once I am older I will like it more but being 15 I like more fiction vampire or battle type books with drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Neither Liked nor Disliked

    Since ghere was so much hoopla about the book I read it through but found it rather tedious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Goldthunder to ALL

    If you RPed a cat in Wolfclan under the leadership of Darkstar, Wolfstar, Shadowstar, Jaystar, or Ghoststar, please reply to me. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Click me

    Hi some posted on the hunger games to comment here at lofe of pi so here i am XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Amber

    Ello people

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Life of pi

    Terrible book movie great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    The Life of Pi was a journey of a young man lost at sea with not

    The Life of Pi was a journey of a young man lost at sea with nothing but a few packets of food and a Royal Bengal Tiger. The believed truth is twisted, and turns into a fake reality. Intriguing, deceptive, and religious, Life of Pi brings together different concepts that make readers wonder about their own beliefs in life. However, the process of the book was slow and left little to the imagination. As said in another review, the provided summary of the book almost contained the entire story. Agreeing to this, I believe the book was very long and continuous, as the reader already knew what would happen. Also, Yann Martel is very descriptive when he writes about scenery and actions. Normally, this is enjoyable and interesting. In contrast, Martel drags description out for too long and leaves so little to the imagination, in which reading the story becomes boring. 
    Spending money on the Life of Pi is a preference. It may be a good buy for those who enjoy learning about religion, adventure, or even zoology.  That being said, the book seems to be aimed to more adult readers. The novel is not gender or social group specific. Surprisingly, the Lexile level is an 830. While the words may not be difficult to grasp, the concepts in the story would be a struggle for younger readers. The Marxist lens, shown through the power for struggle between a tiger and a man, was definitely prominent throughout the entire story. It was enticing to see how the power would divide, as a Bengal tiger is certainly a ferocious, strong competitor. All in all, the Life of Pi was not a horrible read, but it was certainly not the most exciting or page-turning novel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Ok....

    It was ok but it made feel sick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Enjoyable reading

    Enjoyed the book. Wonder if the movie will come up to scratch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Does the boy die or the tiger! Reply please

    I own the movie but my mom wont let us see it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    A unique story.

    Food for thought. Very unusual circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 239 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12