BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Life of Pi (Movie Tie-In)

Average Rating 4
( 2525 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1385)

4 Star

(616)

3 Star

(245)

2 Star

(121)

1 Star

(158)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

136 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

great

Very well written. I enjoyed this story. would recommend.

posted by danja on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

91 out of 347 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these p...
Well, after every single reviee was a plot spoiler, once again, i find a book that i cannot buy. Who wants to pay money fir a book when these rude, selfish long winded posters ruin it by telling every single detail of the book? Bn, you are losing money thanks to these ppl. Most of them even brag about how they got the book for free for their 'honest and unbiased' opinion. Bn, you are losing all the way around!!!!

posted by 8888649 on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1385 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 70
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    Amazing

    Imagine being stuck on a life boat with a full grown Bengal tiger for two-thirds of a year. Does that bring some scary images into your mind? Well, this is what happened to a sixteen year old boy from Pondicherry, India in Yann Martel¿s book Life of Pi. Piscine Molitor Patel, also known as Pi, is stuck on a life boat with a full grown male Bengal tiger for 227 days and comes across a carnivorous island and another person stranded in the vast seas and much more in this excellent book.<BR/>In this fiction book Yann Martel makes it seem almost like book store has made a mistake when they say it is a fiction biography and not a biography. Making the perfect addition to add to its realism, Yann Martel added an author¿s note to open the plot of the story. With his meeting Pi and getting the story from him in the author¿s note, Yann Martel has written a book that will almost make you believe in God. I believe Yann Martel was trying to show human possibilities, and in this story he did an excellent job in showing this.<BR/>With Pi¿s ¿carnivorous man-eating island¿ encounter, Yann Martel does a very good job on showing the possibilities of things that are out there that have not be discovered. The seaweed that produces fresh water and the aquatic meerkats on the carnivorous island are the first parts of the book that you realize this is not an actual biography but a fictional one.<BR/>With Yann Martel¿s probability factors, anything can happen, and it does. At the time when Pi goes blind from lack of enough necessities, he meets another blind man stuck in a life boat with no necessities in the middle of the Atlantic or Indian Ocean. Martel somehow manages to still make this probability of zero believable.<BR/>In my opinion, Yann Martel did an amazing job on providing an adventurous story and showing the human possibilities when knowing nothing from fishing to taming tigers but still being able to survive in un-real odds. Yann Martel has done everything in this book from the most believable to seeming like the most un-realistic yet realistic when everything is made as though it was written by Piscine Molitor Patel himself.<BR/>Yann Martel¿s Life of Pi is a must read. From the author¿s note to the carnivorous island Life of Pi is one of the best books I have read.<BR/> Spaulding Basham

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    GREAT philosophical read!!!

    First i will say that this is truly one of the most original novels I have read in my lifetime. This has to be one of the best book club books ever and believe it should be discussed in high school and college philosophy/ theology classes. I am almost 50 yrs old and i have read thousands of books but this is the first one I ever started rereading as soon as I was finished. Martels writing style is subtle and funny. Pi is a teen with a restless searching soul born into a secular indian family. He feels a hunger for religion so he befriends holy men of many faiths including the pragmatic athiest. Pi finds beauty and wisdom in them all. One of the funniest parts of the story is when he is confronted with all of these religious wisemen and they bicker over his soul. As the boys oddysee unfolds he becomes a true survivor on his own terms and finds little practical use for all the theology he studied. The author makes no judgements and leaves the 'fable' open to ones own personal interpretation. THIS IS WHY I LOVE THIS BOOK...It makes you think...it challenges your beliefs, values whatever. I think the people who trashed the book just don't get it. The irony is so profoundly brilliant. Readers should not perceive this story so literally. Its packed with symbolic mysticism and skillfully imagined metaphore. I read this book 4 years ago twice and i think its time I read it again. Up there with Moby Dick and Old Man and the Sea.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Awesome

    I thought it was a good. It was a good spiritual book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Life of Pi

    I have not read it but I would like to know if it is a book I should by or not. I would like to read it but some reviews were horrible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Wow

    Interesting. Beautiful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Read

    Wait for movie

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Well writen

    I love this book!! Its very well writen and describes his life well. I found this very intresting!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    The Life of Pi is a brain baffling book.

    I had to read this book over ther summer along with Crime and Punishment and A Doll's House for my AP Lit class. On the first day of school, I went straight to my best friend, who also took the class and we agreed this was our favorite book of the summer. For most of our class, it remained the favorite book of the entire school year. Pi's story was such a surprising one that I found myself doubting its reality till the end where he gives such a different version that you cannot help but believe his first tale. This book left me questioning the reality and truth of my whole world and existance. This year when we found out the movie was coming out, our class planned a trip to go seethe movie together. I highly recommend the book for any reader but especially for an avid reader looking for a change in their daily book diet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Great read

    Life of pi was inspirational and touching. Although the beginning isnt as exciting as the rest of the book, its still a very interesting read. Everything comes together in an amazing ending that puls you in.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Incredible

    The quality if storytelling and the richness of detail bring this book to life. A convincing, if fantastical story, that leaves you with a sense of triumph and a clear picture of the unfiltered spectrum of our humanity. I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Life of Pi

    The life of Pi looks like a very good book and I wouldnt have heard if it if is wasnt for the movie coming out soon, but i have one question is it as good as it looks?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Remarkable! - fascinating read!

    This book was well-written and thought-provoking far beyond the norm. I found myself unwilling to put it down and positively captivated - laughing out loud in places and agonizing in others - thoroughly bonding with the characters. I had to read the ending twice... and then sat there stunned. This is not any 'usual'fare!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Brillant

    One of the best books of the last decade. An exploration of spirtuality and religion, ecology and a young man's mastery of fear over death, the book is truly beautiful. Dont be turned off by the religious discussions but instead strive to understand them as Pi's struggle to find the beauty and meaning of life for his exploits on the ocean directly tie into the earlier discussions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Life of Pi

    Kudos to Yann for taking The out of the title and just starting with the word Life. It sounds a lot more engaging that way. And kudos to my wife for convincing me to read this. She bought it a good half a year before I even heard of it and she read it on her flight to Hawaii and came back raving about it and I gave her the `whatever, I am already reading really good stuff so nyah!¿ roll of the eye. And then, my pile of good stuff ran empty and I found myself scrounging my house for a read like a junkie needing a fix and all there was in the house was this book. So I picked it up and oh boy am I glad I did!<BR/><BR/>Imagine a young boy, a young East Indian boy who is so religious that not any single religion seems to be enough. Hinduism is not enough. So he adopts Christianity and Islam as well and he keeps up with all the rituals and all the prayers and everything that his pastor/mentor/priest/whatever expects of him while living with his family in a zoo, because zoo-keeping is the family business. Well then, one day due to hardships they decide to move to Canada and they pack all the animals and get on a big ship.<BR/><BR/>The ship sinks, everybody dies.<BR/><BR/>Everybody except for young Pi, who finds himself in a lifeboat with a few other crew mates, namely an aggressive hyena, a sea-sick orangutan, a zebra with a broken leg and an honest to goodness Bengal friggin¿ tiger. Needless to say, one by one lives are being lost in the raft and help is not on its way. Soon enough it is down to the boy and the tiger.<BR/><BR/>¿This raft¿is not big enough for the two of us.¿<BR/><BR/>That¿s not a quote from the book, I am just saying, it gets really interesting with some of the most cleverly written and amusing insight and heartfelt moments I have read on paper. This one, ladies and gents, is a buy, not just a run to your library so you can drop it back off later. Don¿t be stingy.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    Intriguing and Beautiful

    This book was an incredible journey of one man's life, however the ending scrambled my mind a bit. I feel that it should have explained a bit more, however it was a good way to allow the book to remain in the reader's minds. I read it in no more than 5 days, as it was first assigned as a class project. It gripped me to the point where as I got closer to the end I felt a bit of remose for Pi's adventure to be nearing an end. I love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful well-written allegory

    In Pondicherry, India, Piscine ¿Pi¿ Patel enjoys his childhood as the son of the local zookeeper means plenty of fun things to do. In that role, Pi learns a great deal about the wild beasts that his father keeps. Though a Hindu, Pi also finds pleasure in learning about Christianity and Islam and willingly practices the three belief systems over the objections of his family and religious leaders. <P>Now sixteen, Pi¿s father decides to relocate to Canada. His dad sells most of the animals, but takes a few with them on their sea voyage. However, disaster strikes with the ship sinking. Pi accompanied by a hyena, an orangutan, a zebra and Richard Parker the 450-pound Bengal share a raft. Richard eliminates the other animals leaving the raft to Pi and him. With water everywhere and no land in sight, Pi will have to use everything he knows about tigers to stay alive. If he makes it to land, Pi wonders whether to tell the truth about his harrowing adventure or make up something more comfortable for the authorities. <P>THE LIFE OF PI uses incredible images to provide readers with a powerful well-written allegory about life and religion. Pi is an intriguing lead protagonist, but must share top billing with his ocean traveling crony the fascinating Richard the tiger hearted. Yann Martel¿s story line is extremely deep yet quite simple as if Rudyard Kipling wrote The Old Man and the Sea. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    O Pi

    Greatest book ever i highly reccomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Good

    I really enjoyed this book. Very thought provoking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    FeatherFight

    "Hello!" Gtg. Bbt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Really good story

    This was a really good story kind of tough to get through but worth it for the ending when it all comes together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1385 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 70