Customer Reviews for

Life on the Other Side: A Psychic's Tour of the Afterlife

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Thank you.

Being given a gift that lasted only a few years, but provided such an intense insight into the afterlife - as well as the here and now... Reading this book was the first time I had clarification that I wasn't nuts, and wasn't alone in the belief that I found so hard to ...
Being given a gift that lasted only a few years, but provided such an intense insight into the afterlife - as well as the here and now... Reading this book was the first time I had clarification that I wasn't nuts, and wasn't alone in the belief that I found so hard to explain and share. I have since passed copies to my family, who now not only understand my beliefs so much more, but have in turn passed it to friends, and so forth. Thank you.

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I really enjoyed reading this book but found it a little hard to believe everything that she says in the book. In other words, her description of the afterlife just sounds too good to be true. I did find one " fact " in the book where she contradicts herself but it coul...
I really enjoyed reading this book but found it a little hard to believe everything that she says in the book. In other words, her description of the afterlife just sounds too good to be true. I did find one " fact " in the book where she contradicts herself but it could have been a typo or editing error. Overall, it was a very enjoyable book to read.

posted by 8960977 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Do You Believe In Life After Death? Whether you do or not this is a book that you should read.

    I like the title because that is exactly what the book is about. This is an extraordinary book about how a psychic reveals her past experiences, hypnosis sessions and research to tell the truth about The Other Side. Sylvia explains the process of leaving this world for the next and how we can resume our lives on Earth. It also tells stories about other peoples experiences with hyponosis or out of body experiences. I started reading this book after my best friend died and I found it to give me great comfort after reading it. It's also a very spiritual book which can also help you bring out your spiritual side. Whether or not you believe in psychics or The Other Side it is still a book that everyone should read because it can change your point of view on things even if you are a skeptic.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Very interesting-would recommend to a friend

    This is the first of Sylvia Brownes books that I have read. I have enjoyed it quite a lot and would recommend it to anyone interested in this subject.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Pretty wild

    To deal with my grief, I've been reading afterlife books for months, during my mother's illness and after her death in August 2011. I'm convinced, especially after watching her die and seeing her actions, even in a coma, that she was being taken "home". However, this book has some wild claims about life in the spirit world that I find hard to believe, and I'm currently looking for other mediums' accounts to verify if these details could be accurate. At a minimum, this book is entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    Very Comforting

    I believe Sylvia has touched on many things including God's mercy. She also warns us of our accountabilty to God. I was particularly interested in the drug user/suicide(excluding mental illness)accountabilties. Ergo left door occupants(if you will). I find her captivating and she has won my vote. I hope she can pray for us when we lose faith and hope. I am damned glad (as one critic put it)----she is a commedienne and NOT a psychic. I believe she herself in her own words doesnt like that term anyway! Keep me enlightened and closer to God Sylvia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Where do we go when we die?

    If you've ever wondered this, then read this book. Sylvia is great at discribing the after life and what goes on there. It's not harps and clouds, but a beautiful world where we all share ideas and experiences. This is the world we all long for and wish for. It is truly our 'home'. Thanks Sylvia for reminding me of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    Suspension of Disbeleif

    I was drawn to this book by Sylvia Browne following a personal experience in a seminar of James Van Praggh, and after finding John Edward and the people he reads to appear genuine. Ms. Browne's writing is clear and easily readable. She is headstrong and confident in her presentation and reassuring in her portrait of what she thinks (or of what 'Francine,' her 'spirit guide' says) about 'Life on the Other Side.' I had never heard of Ms. Browne before picking up her book. Having lost two parents in as many years (I also have a step-parent) I was willing to suspend my disbelief, which seemed to be possible for most of what this book has to say. The main sticking point is the cliched almost reflexive kind of claims that seem to have been characteristic of 'early' New Age practitioners and have not gone away but raise for me at least the flag that signals the return of my disbelief; and that is the insistence on the 'reality' of 'Atlantis' and 'Muria' -- and why must the spirit guide seemingly always be some great royal being from long ago Egypt? It is this sort of pap that turns a valuable confirmation for open-minded believers into questionable fantasy that undermines everything else Ms. Browne is conveying. This added to the intense confusion of reality as experienced in this incarnation with the transcendental leaves this work philosophically empty and spiritually vacant. Ms. Browne may admittedly be trying to reach the lowest common denominator of her readers, but she and Lindsay Harrison fail to allow the reader to keep up the desired and uncritical willing suspension of disbelief. Nevertheless, if you are drawn to this book, I would say, read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1