Customer Reviews for

Life with Lily

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Beach girl

    This is the best book for all ages i finish in no time
    MUST READ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Review from an eight year olds perspective

    Today's review is brought to you by a guest blogger, Alina, who is eight years old and was the one who read Life With Lily.

    For a child, every day is a thing of wonder. And for six-year-old Lily Lapp, every day is a new opportunity for blessings, laughter, family, and a touch of mischief. As she explores her world, goes to school, spends time with her family, and gets into a bit of trouble with her friends, Lily learns what it means to be Amish and what it means to grow up. From getting a new teacher to welcoming a new sibling, Lily’s life is always full of adventure.

    I really liked the book. I like it because it looks like a grown up book, but it was really a kid book. Every chapter was about something different that was happening in Lily's life. The words weren't too big of words and there were a lot of describing words and that helped me picture what things looked like. I liked learning about how Amish people live and if Lily was a real person, I would like to be friends with her.

    I would recommend to read this book and I can't wait until the 2nd book comes out.

    Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Revell books sent this complimentary book for me to review. All opinions are from my brain.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    I was absolutely delighted with this book on all counts. I origi

    I was absolutely delighted with this book on all counts. I originally got this for my daughter to review, but her schedule did not permit it. So I decided to undertake the task. As I began the book, I was reminded more than once of "Little House on the Prairie," a book series that I absolutely loved as a child. I felt like I was reading a modern-day pioneer story! And the delightful illustrations only added to the charm of this book.

    This book cannot be easier to read, and it is the perfect introduction to this wonderful group of people known as the Amish. I wasn't sure my daughter would like the book as I read it with her in mind. But as I got into it, I discovered that this book is not just a "fairy tale Amish novel." I was most fascinated with how the Amish family dealt with the outside world. And it was little Lily who was always asking her parents about it. It was also nice to see the lifestyle of these wonderful people through the eyes of a child instead of an adult.

    There were a couple of interesting stories that still showed where the true heart of the Amish family in the book is. Both evolution and racism come up as well as "witchcraft," and all situations are dealt in light of God's Word as well as Amish tradition. When I got to those portions in the book, I knew that my daughter needed to read this book, and I have set aside time in the future for her to do so. But even so, I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and I know that if this book had been around when I was a child, I would have loved it even better!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Life with Lily is a great book for not only children but older p

    Life with Lily is a great book for not only children but older people as well. I really enjoyed reading about Lily and sharing the story with my daughter. I read a lot of Amish based books and my daughter always was interested as well. I'm happy that my 10 year old had a chance to read this and the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is a charmer. Each chapter tells funny, interesting, a

    This book is a charmer. Each chapter tells funny, interesting, and adventuresome stories, and the simple pen and ink illustrations are darling. I would recommend this book for third-fifth graders to read on their own, and for kindergarten-second graders for reading aloud - or on their own if they're advanced readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Life with Lily

    Lily Lapp is just starting school in the first grade. She really likes here new teacher and all the fun things she gets to do in school. She gets to sit beside her cousin Hannah. Her favorite thing to do is art and recess. She has to learn to not to let her peers influence her into doing things that always end up getting her in trouble.

    At home Lily is her mother's little helper while learning to to do what it takes to care for her families needs. A big part of her daily activities is watching over her two younger brothers. It is not all school and chores there is plenty of fun time.

    She has a new miniature horse she named chubby and he pulls a little cart she can ride by herself.

    This is a sweet book that is similar in many ways to the Little House on the Prairies series. It is about the everyday activities of a six year old little girl. Her and her family are Old Order Amish. Author Mary Ann Kinsinger takes memories from her childhood to build the story of Lily. Suzanne Woods Fisher pulls all of these memories together into this darling series.

    I plan on getting this series for my granddaughters. They will learn through Lily's series that life does not always go the way they might expect. It will teach them the importance of family, following the rules and having trust and faith in God. It is an all around fun read.

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure
    I received a free copy of this book from Revell/Baker Publishing/Litfuse for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1