Customer Reviews for

Lifeguard

Average Rating 3.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I love Patterson. Even when his books aren’t his usual na

    I love Patterson. Even when his books aren’t his usual nail-biting, edge of my seat, have no food in the house or clean underwear because I’m ignoring my domestic chores books. Sadly, Lifeguard is one of those books. It was just OK for me. Ned Kelly is a likeable character and I felt a lot of empathy for him and what he goes through in this story. Unfortunately, Ned doesn’t seem capable of making smart choices. Not when he falls in love, not when he agrees to help his cousin with a burglary, not when he goes on the run, not when he kidnaps an FBI agent, and not when he nearly gets himself killed on more than one occasion.

    I was very disappointed with the FBI agent, Ellie. She came across as a little flaky at times, though she could be quite tenacious at times. Her area of expertise is stolen and forged artwork but she jumps into a murder investigation with both feet, despite repeated admonitions from her supervisor to stay out of it. What I didn’t find believable is how she willingly went with Ned when he kidnaps her and then is helping him until he lets her go. OK, so she isn’t trained in violent crimes, but she is still an FBI agent, so why wasn’t she putting up a tiny bit of resistance?

    Thrown into this story are a lot of supporting characters that I had a very hard time keeping track of and how relevant they were to the story. So, instead of the heart-pumping suspense I have come to anticipate and expect when I pick up a Patterson book, I got a mostly mediocre story that is just OK.

    If you are looking for depth and substance when you pick up a book, give this one a pass. If you are looking for a fluff mystery to read on the beach or during your lunch break, this will fit the bill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    GOOD!

    This book was good! i would let people know about it, but i would not rave about it. I have in the past raved about patterson's books, because he is a great author and would tell anyone that likes suspense to read him. I did like this book, but did not love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Dumb

    If this was written by two authors, I don't think they proofed each other's writing. For an example; Ellie was described as having short hair and then she, "puts it up in a ponytail"? Hard to believe story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Love It

    Just finished this book and i love it to the exsremes.:) <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am a new fan of James Patterson and have read 5 books in 3 wee

    I am a new fan of James Patterson and have read 5 books in 3 weeks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    The book wasn't the best at the same wasn't the worst. The way James Patterson ad to explain all the sex was the worst part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will the REAL Patterson, please stand up!

    As someone who was Patterson's biggest Alex Cross fan, it saddens me that Patterson's books are chart-toppers because of the Patterson brand. I still read the Cross series - I guess, considering the last Cross read was, Cat & Mouse.

    I just can't wait for the Patterson I was introduced to when I was in my teens, to stand up & take his place on the bestsellers list for quality not quantity. Sadly, I believe he may have been a 3 book wonder.

    Anyway, I pushed myself through it because I am a fan of the gifted Mr. Gross & it was painfully obvious (to me) which segments were penned by the fervent Mr. Gross. FYI: Gross is w/o a doubt HERE TO STAY!!!

    I am hoping Patterson will emerge again in this century, but I am not going to hold my breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Standard Issue Patterson Beach Fare

    Perhaps I've read a few too many of these and they're getting a bit predictable, but I just wasn't impressed. The story breezed along at a brisk pace with a couple of surprising twists, but there was too little logic, not enough believability, and virtually no character development. LIFEGUARD is typical of recent Patterson collaborations. Lately, I find myself wanting a little more, even if it is just a beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    ...

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Excellent story!!

    A very fast-paced thriller, one of James Patterson's best! Couldn't put it down, read it in a matter of days. Thrilling all the way to the very end, highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not one of Patterson's best

    Lifeguard refers to the job that Ned Kelly used to have before he was set up for theft and murder.

    Patterson has the knack of creating a good story, but sometimes, on paper it falls apart. Everything just seemed to fall into place too easily.

    It's a good quick read with mystery, suspense, romance and some art history thrown in. Stock characters are somtimes good for a laugh...but I must admit--I've ready better. Try the Alex Cross Series instead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Almost a good book

    I was distracted by the main character "falling in love" with someone he just met and then when she is out of the picture, falling for the next woman. Other than that, it was a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LIFEGUARD By JAMES PATTERSON

    Kept my husband and I listening in the car for the next chapter. The ending was as good as the beginning. It was truly different.
    MD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LIFEGUARD - I recommend it!

    I read audio books in my car and with this book, I couldn't wait to get in my car to begin where I left off. Totally suspense filled, action packed, good story line, well worth the read time, as are all of Patterson's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Drawn Out

    I am a JP fan, but this is not a favorite book of mine. It started out really good, and interesting. But it was so drawn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    It's a good book

    I liked it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another one of Patterson's great reads

    I am a huge James Patterson fan so any of his books I love. This one was not my favorite one but one that you can read in a day. This is suspensfull and it kept me wondering what would happen next, as all his do anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    A little too sappy...

    Neddie'gag',the name fits, was way too soft to be involved in this crime. This book was too fluffy and unbelievable for me. The motorcyle chase reminded me of a bad movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Good read.

    This was a good book and an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Loved It ! Couldn't put it down.

    There were multiple murders, double crossings, love, and suspense. One of Patterson's best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7