Customer Reviews for

Lifeguard

Average Rating 3.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I love Patterson. Even when his books aren’t his usual na

    I love Patterson. Even when his books aren’t his usual nail-biting, edge of my seat, have no food in the house or clean underwear because I’m ignoring my domestic chores books. Sadly, Lifeguard is one of those books. It was just OK for me. Ned Kelly is a likeable character and I felt a lot of empathy for him and what he goes through in this story. Unfortunately, Ned doesn’t seem capable of making smart choices. Not when he falls in love, not when he agrees to help his cousin with a burglary, not when he goes on the run, not when he kidnaps an FBI agent, and not when he nearly gets himself killed on more than one occasion.

    I was very disappointed with the FBI agent, Ellie. She came across as a little flaky at times, though she could be quite tenacious at times. Her area of expertise is stolen and forged artwork but she jumps into a murder investigation with both feet, despite repeated admonitions from her supervisor to stay out of it. What I didn’t find believable is how she willingly went with Ned when he kidnaps her and then is helping him until he lets her go. OK, so she isn’t trained in violent crimes, but she is still an FBI agent, so why wasn’t she putting up a tiny bit of resistance?

    Thrown into this story are a lot of supporting characters that I had a very hard time keeping track of and how relevant they were to the story. So, instead of the heart-pumping suspense I have come to anticipate and expect when I pick up a Patterson book, I got a mostly mediocre story that is just OK.

    If you are looking for depth and substance when you pick up a book, give this one a pass. If you are looking for a fluff mystery to read on the beach or during your lunch break, this will fit the bill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Dumb

    If this was written by two authors, I don't think they proofed each other's writing. For an example; Ellie was described as having short hair and then she, "puts it up in a ponytail"? Hard to believe story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will the REAL Patterson, please stand up!

    As someone who was Patterson's biggest Alex Cross fan, it saddens me that Patterson's books are chart-toppers because of the Patterson brand. I still read the Cross series - I guess, considering the last Cross read was, Cat & Mouse.

    I just can't wait for the Patterson I was introduced to when I was in my teens, to stand up & take his place on the bestsellers list for quality not quantity. Sadly, I believe he may have been a 3 book wonder.

    Anyway, I pushed myself through it because I am a fan of the gifted Mr. Gross & it was painfully obvious (to me) which segments were penned by the fervent Mr. Gross. FYI: Gross is w/o a doubt HERE TO STAY!!!

    I am hoping Patterson will emerge again in this century, but I am not going to hold my breath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Standard Issue Patterson Beach Fare

    Perhaps I've read a few too many of these and they're getting a bit predictable, but I just wasn't impressed. The story breezed along at a brisk pace with a couple of surprising twists, but there was too little logic, not enough believability, and virtually no character development. LIFEGUARD is typical of recent Patterson collaborations. Lately, I find myself wanting a little more, even if it is just a beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I bought this book on summer clearance. I've read all of Patterson's 'Beach' books and the Women's Mystery Series books and have enjoyed them all. Somehow I missed this book when originally published. I should have listened to my original instincts. It's a fast read, but it's quite boring and pedictable. This book never really grabbed my attention. I thought maybe the end of the book would be better than the first, so I kept reading but I was ultimately disappointed. I'm glad I only paid 5 dollars for it. Not sure it's even worth that. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Searching for JP...

    Not a great effort by JP and Co. I liked his style and novels much better when he flew solo for his writing endeavors. The manufactured Patterson leaves me unsatisfied and hoping he comes back soon, closes down the plant and personally starts to type away...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    good beach book ---but not b/c of the title!

    Lots of new and surprising twists and turns in every chapter and situations that are almost unbelievable at times (like the motorcycle jump!??!) Maybe a good beach book to read in a day or two. A quik read, a page turner for sure and with a good ending! In my opinion? Good, but not one of JP's best books so far -just didn't seem his writing style from previous years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Skip the associates and get back to your own work!

    I have read everything Patterson has ever published, that I know of, and must say I am disappointed by his last two books (Honeymoon). Both of which were written with others, (although the Womens Murder Club series with A Gross were good in my opinion). Figured these last two out too early, both were too predictable and not up to your old standards James.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    mediocre book for James Patterson

    I was dissapointed in this recent book from Mr. Patterson. The characters were unbelieveable and the circumstances even more so. I am used to a different level of writing from him. Better book next time I hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    Ho Hum

    I love James Patterson novels, but his last few have really been awful and this one is no exception....He's managed to turn a 'Whodunit?' into a boring, tedious, 'Whocares???'....Don't waste your time with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Should have shelfed this one

    I have been a J.P. fan for along time but was truly disappointed that he put this out. Typical of his books you have the short chapters but you wont find alot of plot development in this book. The only decent part about the book was the hummer chasing the motorcycle scene. Dont expect to get a feel for the characters in the book. The plot moves to fast for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Not so good....

    This book never really grabbed my attention. I thought maybe the end of the book would be better than the first, so I kept reading but I was ultimately disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Cetainly not Patterson's best!

    As with most James Patterson books it was a quick read, but the plot was thin and the story ridiculous. It was about as bad as the book where the kids have wings! I expect more from James Patterson and was disappointed. I'm glad I got this one from the Library. I am looking forward to Mary, Mary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Not his best

    This is a beach read. Corny, but fast reading. Not his usual type of book - is that because Andrew Gross wrote it and Mr. Patterson edited?? I have read all of James Patterson's books. The lame guy on the run and the silly things that go on make this not a serious mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1